We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$305
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gardenia(Verona)(Great Value!)
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$133
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Montresor Hotel Palace(Verona)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel San Luca(Verona)
US$216
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maxim Hotel(Verona)
US$103
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Fontana(Verona)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$308
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
118
332
187
38
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
332
187
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasant mealtrain stationshuttle servicenice hoteltown centrehotel martinimini fridgefree wifiafter midnightupon checkarena di veronaon footshort walkfirst floorair conditioningbreakfast roombeautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

It is ok for short stay. It's close to the main station. The room was small with standard equipment. Internet within the price. Standard breakfast was included in the price. Nothing to complain about but nothing special either. Language storage for free. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Atena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Being normal makes us special!
Believe me: in this world there so much weird people that is great when, if you are travelling, you can trust in a normal, affordable Hotel where you can rest without surprises!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We paid £85 of a small double. The room was very very small - no wardrobe or safe. The air conditioning is the brown box you can see in the room and barely worked. It is basic and had a 'funky smell'
The issue I have is that we have been to hotels in Florence, Rimini, Bologna and paid the same and got 4 star quality. Here it is more 2 star. The hotel itself had a depressed feel to it.
The staff were positive and really friendly and the free car parking was fine.
We were influenced by the look of the building unfortunately the inside didn't match.
Disappointed

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear friend,
our 'small double room', even if it is the cheapest room you can find in a 3 stars Hotel in the whole Verona, has wardrobe and even safe.
Our 'small double room', even if it is the cheapest room you can find in a 3 stars Hotel in the whole Verona, has the air conditioning too, and working very well moreover!
I remember we have told you the price was £85 for our 'small double room' that is the cheapest room you can find in a 3 stars Hotel in the whole Verona, and you agree with that.
I don't remember you have asked to change Hotel cause you didn't like our 'small double room'.
So, finally, I find you have nothing to complain about:
1) you have chosen the cheapest room in a 3 stars Hotel in the whole Verona;
2) you have agreed with the price we have asked;
3) you didn't ask to change Hotel or room.
We are here to give a service to our guests and caring about their welfare and satisfaction. Every needing of our guests can be easily adressed and resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I read a lot of fuss about the distance from the hotel to the town centre, here at tripadvisor. I can understand it coming from the older people. I found the stroll by the river, overlooking the Castelvecchio bridge, rather pleasant and not tedious at all. Furthermore, the hotel is located close to the Pizza San Zeno, where one can find a nice selection of restaurants and bars, offering good food at affordable prices.

The hotel is small and so are the rooms. However, they are clean and comfortable. We had a room at the side opposite the main street. It was quiet. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good, with wide selection of foods on offer. When I think about it, I never had a bad breakfast in Italy, nor a bad coffee for that matter. :-) Hotel offers a free parking outside (and a paid garage), which is great if you are with a car. Free WiFi worked like a charm.

I would definitely recommend this small hotel for a couple of days stay in Verona. It offers good value for many, is cheaper than the hotels in the proper city centre, and the walking distance is not an issue for a middle-age traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PSS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Many thanks for your review truly objective and honest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

This hotel is great value. £50 a night for two people with free parking outside is a bargain in any city. Add to that it's very clean, helpful bilingual staff and working aircon! Location is not central but that's a bonus when you're driving. Its a short walk into the city past some great, well priced restaurants. Underground car park now costs €8 a night which meant we had loads of room. There is free parking in the 'garden area' but we preferred the underground option.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Jesara123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thank you so much dear guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Despite being situated on quite a busy road, this is a quiet and cute hotel, perfect for visiting the city - even for just one night. Plenty of room for a couple of cars, so parking is free. Receptionist(s) very friendly, and some English is spoken. The city centre is only a 15/20 minute walk, so the supposed shuttle-bus isn't needed (we weren't offered anyway!)
The rooms could be described as small (the double bed amazing wedged into the room!) but the room had everything we needed, including wardrobe and small fridge.

Room Tip: Facing the river, not the main road
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamestaylor2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear guests, thanks for your beautiful review!
The Shuttle bus is a free service offered to the guests that dine at Trattoria Pizzeria ai Bastioni, that is located at the ground floor of the Hotel.
The Shuttle bus service isn't needed, you can easily walk to the Arena and Juliet's balcony, but, if it's raining or you want to go to the Opera, it is a very useful benefit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews