We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with very friendly staff -worth the price ”
Review of Hotel Porta Palio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta Palio
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The location is on a pretty busy street, but the room was quite.
It takes about a 10-15 walk to the city center.
The rooms are standard - nothing fancy, but ok.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

There is parking space in front of the hotel as well as an own hotel garage, which cost a small fee. Since we have been travel
ling with a brand new car, though we preferred the garage.
Internet is complimentary.

The breakfast is pretty good with a good selection.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Juergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thank you dear friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

It is ok for short stay. It's close to the main station. The room was small with standard equipment. Internet within the price. Standard breakfast was included in the price. Nothing to complain about but nothing special either. Language storage for free. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Atena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Being normal makes us special!
Believe me: in this world there so much weird people that is great when, if you are travelling, you can trust in a normal, affordable Hotel where you can rest without surprises!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We paid £85 of a small double. The room was very very small - no wardrobe or safe. The air conditioning is the brown box you can see in the room and barely worked. It is basic and had a 'funky smell'
The issue I have is that we have been to hotels in Florence, Rimini, Bologna and paid the same and got 4 star quality. Here it is more 2 star. The hotel itself had a depressed feel to it.
The staff were positive and really friendly and the free car parking was fine.
We were influenced by the look of the building unfortunately the inside didn't match.
Disappointed

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear friend,
our 'small double room', even if it is the cheapest room you can find in a 3 stars Hotel in the whole Verona, has wardrobe and even safe.
Our 'small double room', even if it is the cheapest room you can find in a 3 stars Hotel in the whole Verona, has the air conditioning too, and working very well moreover!
I remember we have told you the price was £85 for our 'small double room' that is the cheapest room you can find in a 3 stars Hotel in the whole Verona, and you agree with that.
I don't remember you have asked to change Hotel cause you didn't like our 'small double room'.
So, finally, I find you have nothing to complain about:
1) you have chosen the cheapest room in a 3 stars Hotel in the whole Verona;
2) you have agreed with the price we have asked;
3) you didn't ask to change Hotel or room.
We are here to give a service to our guests and caring about their welfare and satisfaction. Every needing of our guests can be easily adressed and resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I read a lot of fuss about the distance from the hotel to the town centre, here at tripadvisor. I can understand it coming from the older people. I found the stroll by the river, overlooking the Castelvecchio bridge, rather pleasant and not tedious at all. Furthermore, the hotel is located close to the Pizza San Zeno, where one can find a nice selection of restaurants and bars, offering good food at affordable prices.

The hotel is small and so are the rooms. However, they are clean and comfortable. We had a room at the side opposite the main street. It was quiet. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good, with wide selection of foods on offer. When I think about it, I never had a bad breakfast in Italy, nor a bad coffee for that matter. :-) Hotel offers a free parking outside (and a paid garage), which is great if you are with a car. Free WiFi worked like a charm.

I would definitely recommend this small hotel for a couple of days stay in Verona. It offers good value for many, is cheaper than the hotels in the proper city centre, and the walking distance is not an issue for a middle-age traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PSS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Many thanks for your review truly objective and honest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

This hotel is great value. £50 a night for two people with free parking outside is a bargain in any city. Add to that it's very clean, helpful bilingual staff and working aircon! Location is not central but that's a bonus when you're driving. Its a short walk into the city past some great, well priced restaurants. Underground car park now costs €8 a night which meant we had loads of room. There is free parking in the 'garden area' but we preferred the underground option.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Jesara123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thank you so much dear guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Piccolo
Hotel Piccolo
#29 of 77 in Verona
692 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#21 of 77 in Verona
653 reviews
4.2 km away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#45 of 77 in Verona
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
B&B Hotel Verona
B&B Hotel Verona
#47 of 77 in Verona
487 reviews
2.9 km away
Euromotel Croce Bianca
Euromotel Croce Bianca
#46 of 77 in Verona
413 reviews
6.6 km away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#18 of 77 in Verona
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Palio

Address: Viale Colonnello Galliano 21 | 37138 Verona, 37138, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: RM329 - RM772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta Palio 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Porta Palio is a modern 3 star hotel located close to the ancient walls of the city center of Verona. Its location makes it extremely easy to get to from the Airport Valerio Catullo (with the Aerobus service - runs every 40 minutes - cost 6.00 Euros), from Verona Porta Nuova railway station and the motorway (exit Verona Nord A22 Brenner ). Hotel Porta Palio is located only 15 minutes walk from the 'Arena di Verona', outside the restricted traffic zone and no parking problems for your car. Free internet Wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porta Palio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Palio Hotel
Porta Palio Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing