We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“really a little paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of piccolo paradiso

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Albert H
1 review
“really a little paradise”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Piccolo paradiso is a very nice and well equipped house with a stunning view. Salvatore ( the owner) is a very nice person who guided us from the airport to the house. He was very helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisnSte...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We certianly found our Chill Out Zone”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got back from a very relaxing and most wonderful week at Picolo Paradiso. Our host Salvatore kindly met us at the airport, and helped show us where the car rental place was. He then escorted us up to the villa, stopping for coffee and a cake in the charming local town Bel Passo.

Upon arrival he ran through everything showing us where things were etc. A few days later he came back to tend the garden, and kindly gave us some of his fresh salad which he grows in the grounds of the villa.

The villa itself is everything and more, it’s relaxing, peaceful, in very good order and you have everything you need for your holiday.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful, and you have a stunning view of Etna in all her glory.

We had lovely evenings sitting outside on the terrace, drinking local wine waiting for the stars to make an appearance

Car hire in essential to get around the island and local area.

Local shops and restaurants are nearby.

We cannot recommend this villa enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The whole experiance
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Sicilian getaway for two”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our stay at Picollo Paradiso, it was our first foreign holiday together and this house was the perfect choice, it is exactly as advertised. From it's position in the foothills of Mount Etna, the views both day and night across the Eastern side of the island were excellent and the pool and garden are stunning. The house itself is well presented, perfectly clean upon arrival and the owner Salvatore had kindly provided fruit, drinks and some essentials.

We are very grateful to him for all his help during our stay. I had never driven on the right before or hired a car, so Salvatore agreed to meet us at the airport and we followed him up to the house, stopping at a nice cafe on the way through Belpasso (the local town) for some lunch. He also stopped to point out where the supermarket was, which is just minutes away from the house by car.

As others have said, it is almost essential that you have a car here due to the fairly remote location and lack of public transport within walking distance of the property. However we found it relatively easy to drive around the island - the autostradas are excellent and the sat nav was useful for getting through some of the towns with narrow streets. Taormina, Catania, Syracusa and the Valley of the Temples at Agrigento are all within reach, and the cable car station for Etna is nearby.

Overall we can thoroughly recommend this property and it was a great experience to come to the beautiful island of Sicily, we would love to go back one day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamFi...
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
“An ideal place for a relaxing break in the sun, with spectacular views.”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a comfortable and very attractive property located nearly 3000 feet up Mount Etna. The views are spectacular from the terrace. There is a good size swimming pool and an attractive terrace for sun bathing. The owner and his wife are extremely friendly. We had an excellent time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetombie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing hideaway with everything you need.”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We normally do city breaks and stay at budget hotels. When we went to Sicily we wanted to stay somewhere nicer, away from the busy towns and in nice surroundings. Piccolo Paradiso was the perfect choice – a really nice house in a quiet, out-of-the-way location with its own private pool.

I was a bit nervous about driving here as I've not driven abroad before. Owner Salvatore met us at the airport then lead us to nearby Belpasso in his car while we followed behind. We stopped off at a hotel where he introduced us to his friend who could help us with any problems we might encounter and he stopped to point out where the local supermarket was. When we got to the house he had bought a load of snacks and fridge essentials for us to use. I would recommend learning some basic Italian before you go as sometimes we struggled a bit with communication – luckily my wife had done some Rosetta Stone lessons which was a great help.

The location is a bit out of the way. You definitely need a car, and I recommend taking a SatNav too. Even if you use public transport you need to drive to get to it as it's on a winding road with no pavement. The plus side to this is that it's quite quiet and private. There are some other houses nearby, but you don't really notice as there are lots of trees between them. It's easy to get to Mt Etna from here, and driving to other locations wasn't too bad either.

The house itself was great. It's fairly new and in great condition with nice decor and everything you need inside. There's a secure gate, a driveway with lighting and room to park. The kitchen was good and we cooked at home quite often – you can pick up really nice fresh fish and vegetables at the market in Catania, something you can't really do if you're staying in a hotel. Other bits and pieces can be bought at the nearby supermarket. There was no kettle, but I think we had everything else we needed.

The garden and pool were the best bit – we tended to go out in the morning, then get back in the early afternoon and just float about in the pool, enjoy the garden, drink wine and watch lizards and other wildlife. Again, much more relaxing and enjoyable than being stuck in a hotel room. As you can see from the photos, the garden is beautiful with a well in the middle and lots of plants and flowers. There's a barbecue too, which we used a few times, and a table and chairs on the patio.

Definitely the best place I've ever stayed on holiday, highly recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing