We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible service indeed!”
Review of Hotel Rubens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rubens
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed 9 September 2013

B&B Rubens is situated in the centre of Catania and in the busiest street, via Etnea. We arrived around 23.45, I had to ring the bell twice and call the B&B for the door to open; we were greeted by a man with a sad face (probably we woke him up); I do understand it was out of their time but I did give them a call twice from my country to confirm our arrival at that time of the night.
Breakfast is average... costs 3eur p.p. Just once there was fresh bread, the rest was stale and you had to toast it to eat it. There were various pastries, but just once I had a brioche it wasn't bad but not the best. There is also cereal and jam, coffees, pineapple and orange juice, milk and water.
Our room was comfortable enough, there was TV and AC. Unfortunately the mini bar was not equipped (despite having a price list) so after my arrival at night I couldn't drink a nice bottle of water, yet I had to sleep thirsty! The bathroom is quite small, not much room to move around. Unfortunately it was not meticulously clean such as the shower had some black stains and water did pour out on the floor after a shower. The cushion on the armchair also had stains. I do have pictures but I think my critic is already hard enough. For our last night at the B&B the towels where not changed so that was another thumb down!
Despite being sound proof I still could hear the sirens of the police and ambulance at night and our room was situated on the side street. There was supposed to be free wi-fi, but again no one told us the password since it was secured. There was also a small safe but no one told us how to use it.
The lady that was at the B&B in the morning was nice and helpful when I asked for advice but she never introduced herself. It is a pity that there is not enough effort from the owners, because this could be a real diamond since it is so centrally located you can walk anywhere in Catania to visit the most important attractions, shopping and dine in great restaurants. On the bright side this is not the only B&B centrally located as there is another one within the same block and others further up the street.
Finally the other man who neither introduced himself who greeted us upon our arrival did finally give us a smile in the last 2 days. They were kind enough in letting us keep our luggages at the B&B till 20.00 since we had to leave our room by 11.00 and had to depart late at night.

Room Tip: even though the doors are soundproof try and ask for a room at the back, to avoid hearing noises suc...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rubens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Hotel is directly on the main street on the second floor of an old style building. The hotel is a big appartment which has a couple of rooms. It is a mixture of old and new. The first impression was very good and everything looked clean. The room was big and had a bathroom and aircondition. What really shocked me was the bed. It had a dirty pillow and dried BLOOD drops on the bed sheet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! After check in the two people who checked us in were gone and availble again on the next morning. To our luck there was a small extra bed in the room where I could get from another pillow and a bed sheet that was big enough to cover the blood drops but not big enough for two persons. At the next day we showed the bed to one of the responsible persons. He showed it to the room maid and she said the bed was clean and it is my blood. A poor lie!!!! There was no excuse of the responsible person or anything... Just to sign the credit card authorisation as the card was already charged without asking us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1234Traveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Central location, very useful if you want to spend time in Catania, you can walk everywhere. Unfortunately, the central location makes it very noisy as well in the evenings and at night. I did not get any sleep. The room was clean, but equipped with old creaking furniture, bathroom clean and ok. Breakfast - 3 euros, very average, horrible coffee. Staff nice and friendly, but surprises can happen. We had to pay additionally for breakfast (which we decided to have after we arrived at the hotel). We were leaving on Sunday, only the cleaning lady was there. She did not know how to take a credit card payment, so we gave her cash, and she didn't have any change! She demanded the exact amount, which we did not have, so we had to let go of 1 euro. Very annoying.

Room Tip: Insist on getting a room without the view of Etna. These rooms are giving out to the main street, ho...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onnanohito184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The hotel was located in the main street of Catania, it had a nice balcony, but it was very noise during the night. Staff was really friendly and helpful, the room was clean, but the overall building and furniture was very very old. We did not have breakfast, because making quick maths, they charge you close to 10€ per person, and since we were 4, it was cheaper to go out.
It was not a bad experience, specially because staff was really nice, and probably without many options we would go back there again, but is not an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: Not towards Via Etnea, because it extremely noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hotel Rubens is more a B&B than a hotel, I would say. It is located on Via Etnea, the main shopping avenue in Catania, and it will take you about 30mn to walk to the main station for the hotel (or you can take the bus - bus stops are right next to the hotel). You can see Etan from the balcony, which is a nice touch.
Our room was large with very high ceilings but because it is so close to the main avenue, it gets EXTREMELY noisy with the windows open. Thankfully we had air-con so we did not need to keep the windows open at night.
Toiletries and towels were changed everyday and the owners were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was OK but nothing special, you get a selection of bread, pastries, cakes, cereals, yoghurt, but overall there is not too much choice and sometimes the bread looked stale (you can toast it so it's not too bad).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#45 of 49 in Catania
30 reviews
Centro Catania
Domus Hotel
Domus Hotel
#43 of 49 in Catania
143 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#28 of 49 in Catania
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stesicorea Palace
#27 of 49 in Catania
151 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#6 of 49 in Catania
552 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Catania Centro Rooms
Catania Centro Rooms
#22 of 49 in Catania
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubens

Address: Via Etnea 196, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Price Range: RM171 - RM622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rubens 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideal for businessmen or tourists right in the heart of the town on the busy main street Via Etnea. The rooms are luminous and equipped with TV – Mini fridge - Telephone - Air conditioning – and shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rubens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubens Hotel Catania
Hotel Rubens Catania, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing