We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Barbero(Catania)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ferrini Home(Catania)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$80
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eh13 B&B(Catania)
US$114
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
5 Balconi(Catania)
US$63
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
19
34
19
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
34
19
11
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Hotel is directly on the main street on the second floor of an old style building. The hotel is a big appartment which has a couple of rooms. It is a mixture of old and new. The first impression was very good and everything looked clean. The room was big and had a bathroom and aircondition. What really shocked me was the bed. It had a dirty pillow and dried BLOOD drops on the bed sheet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! After check in the two people who checked us in were gone and availble again on the next morning. To our luck there was a small extra bed in the room where I could get from another pillow and a bed sheet that was big enough to cover the blood drops but not big enough for two persons. At the next day we showed the bed to one of the responsible persons. He showed it to the room maid and she said the bed was clean and it is my blood. A poor lie!!!! There was no excuse of the responsible person or anything... Just to sign the credit card authorisation as the card was already charged without asking us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1234Traveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Central location, very useful if you want to spend time in Catania, you can walk everywhere. Unfortunately, the central location makes it very noisy as well in the evenings and at night. I did not get any sleep. The room was clean, but equipped with old creaking furniture, bathroom clean and ok. Breakfast - 3 euros, very average, horrible coffee. Staff nice and friendly, but surprises can happen. We had to pay additionally for breakfast (which we decided to have after we arrived at the hotel). We were leaving on Sunday, only the cleaning lady was there. She did not know how to take a credit card payment, so we gave her cash, and she didn't have any change! She demanded the exact amount, which we did not have, so we had to let go of 1 euro. Very annoying.

Room Tip: Insist on getting a room without the view of Etna. These rooms are giving out to the main street, horribly noisy. You can see Etna from almost every place in Catania.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onnanohito184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The hotel was located in the main street of Catania, it had a nice balcony, but it was very noise during the night. Staff was really friendly and helpful, the room was clean, but the overall building and furniture was very very old. We did not have breakfast, because making quick maths, they charge you close to 10€ per person, and since we were 4, it was cheaper to go out.
It was not a bad experience, specially because staff was really nice, and probably without many options we would go back there again, but is not an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: Not towards Via Etnea, because it extremely noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hotel Rubens is more a B&B than a hotel, I would say. It is located on Via Etnea, the main shopping avenue in Catania, and it will take you about 30mn to walk to the main station for the hotel (or you can take the bus - bus stops are right next to the hotel). You can see Etan from the balcony, which is a nice touch.
Our room was large with very high ceilings but because it is so close to the main avenue, it gets EXTREMELY noisy with the windows open. Thankfully we had air-con so we did not need to keep the windows open at night.
Toiletries and towels were changed everyday and the owners were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was OK but nothing special, you get a selection of bread, pastries, cakes, cereals, yoghurt, but overall there is not too much choice and sometimes the bread looked stale (you can toast it so it's not too bad).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We got to the hotel at 7 pm, front door was closed, nobody answered for the buzzer. We buzzed a different B&B in the same buliding. Finally 2 guys managed to reach the owner on the phone and told us that our room is not available yet! We were put in a room in that different hotel 1 floor above Rubens hotel but with no explanation.
No breakfast provided eventhough we paid for it...!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johanna98_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews