We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Adele C
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom

Does exactly what it says on the tin. Good location, no frills and a bit soulless.

Review of Hotel Garibaldi
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2023via mobile
We stayed here in February and checking in was easy. The room was a bit bare, no soft edges and no view other than the wall of the back of another building.

The staff were polite and the food was ok. It felt a bit like a slightly upmarket hostel really.

The main rooms are below ground and it felt a bit claustrophobic. Our room was on the second floor, and it was clean and well serviced.

This was somewhere clean and functional but without any frills whatsoever. It didn’t feel whatever I expect 4 star feels like.
Date of stay: February 2023
Room Tip: If you want clean and safe in a good location, then this is ok.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 623
RM 586
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
RM 875
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 875
1.6 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
SP NH palermo
RM 642
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • NH Hotels
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 923
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 924
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
Room service
RM 323
RM 299
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,704
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    RM 1,066
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,173
0.2 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 798
  • Expedia.com
    RM 849
0.1 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 399
  • Expedia.com
    RM 472
1.1 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 465
  • Expedia.com
    RM 506
5.6 km from Hotel Garibaldi
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
408
651
338
105
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
408
651
338
105
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hop on hop sightseeing bus politeama theatre pastries rooms are large opera house street city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2023

This hotel was centrally located and you could walk everywhere. We had a room on a high floor which was a large outside area which was great for afternoon drinks or for drying a few clothes. Breakfast in the hotel was also worth having.

Room tip: Ask for a room with an outside area.
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MSTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2022

The location is perfect, opposite the Hop-on-hop-off sightseeing bus terminus and easy walking distance to the heart of the city. Apart from that, the room was pretty grim in grey/black/cream decor. Breakfast was awful and full of sweet cakes and tarts. The cereal and fruit juice were well hidden in a corridor and we only discovered them the second morning quite by chance. Most of the fruit was tinned! Not a great introduction to Sicily. Not sure why this is classed as a four star hotel. It was hard to sleep with such a small pillow.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maguern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Sozzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

Dear Maguern,

thank you for choosing Hotel Garibaldi for your stay in Palermo and for the time spent to share your experience.
We are glad to know that our central location was to your liking, this is, in fact, one of our strengths!
We are sorry to read instead that your stay wasn't up to your expectations and to your liking; breakfast another of our strengths for the freshness and variety of choises; we do really apologize for the inconvenience.
The cereal and juices are not hidden, they are placed in the corridor, next to the coffee machine; however, our staff is always available and would be happy to bring them to you.

We also apologize if you didn't enojoy our modern style, also in this case our staff is always available and would have been more than happy to find a solution best suited to your needs.

We hope to be able to receive you again in the future in order to regain your trust; meanwhile,
Best regards
Martina Mancuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2022

I was at the Hotel Garibaldi in early June 2022 and want to echo the comments made by many people already. (Wish I had read them in advance) Room was stifling hot - ac is controlled by the front desk and the thermostat always reads 22 degrees C even when the room is much hotter and even after they assured us they would lower the temperature. Couldn't open windows to get some air due to noisy parking lot on other side. Water got warm-ish but never hot. WiFi didn't work in our room; to get reliable WiFi you need to be close to the office area of the hotel. We changed rooms once; the people we traveled with stayed in a different room each night.
Breakfast was nice but poor air flow - bad in the days of covid. Coffee machine in breakfast room made good coffee.

Room tip: Check WiFi, temperature, and water before you unpack
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JLM382
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Sozzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

Dear Guest,

we are really sorry to read your review and to know that your experience at the Hotel wasn't good or up to your expetcations.
We always do our best to satisfy each request and need and we apologize if this time it wasn't enough.
After you feedback we've checked all the air conditionig system and know everything is solved! We apologize for the inconvenience happened.

We hope to receive you as our kind guest in the future in order to regain your trust; meanwhile,

Best regards,
Martina Mancuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2022 via mobile

On edge of dirty side of city, rude service at front desk, room was spacious but very dirty, filthy walls, light burned out, shower leaked, finish worn off the fixtures in bath. Felt very unsafe. 1 very small window for ventilation that opened to loud alley, ac not in May however fan would not function either. Stifling and loud noise all night of dogs barking, people arguing, babies crying if you opened the one window. Breakfast was empty containers, terrible coffee and poorest quality possible.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travelhunter2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Sozzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2022

Dear,

from your review it seems like you're describing other Hotel, not ours. We are in fact located in the heart of the city, one of the best areas of Palermo to stay, full city center in a pedestrian area, 2 steps from the 2 shopping streets and 5 minutes walk from the historic center.

We don't understand how it could have felt unsafe and also, there are other things that you describe that simpy do not represent the truth, so we are a little bit confused about your review; we apologize anyway if we weren't able to satisfy your expectations.


Hoping to receive you as our kind guest in the future,
Best regards,
Martina Mancuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2022

There is no pretense to the Garibaldi. It works for crews and tour groups. Location just off Ruggiero Settimo gives easy access to old town and the pedestrian thoroughfares. Room was not large; bed was comfortable. Bath a tub shower with no grab rail, small with little room for a couple's toiletries. Clean. Breakfast not included except for tour groups. No views.

An urban base for those focused on business or visiting the city outside.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FletchW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Sozzi, Altro at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2022

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Hotel Garibaldi for your stay in Palermo and for the time spent writing this review.

We would like to clarify for our readers that breakfast is included for all customers (not only those belonging to organized groups), simply, when you book online, you can choose beth rate with or without breakfast.
But that's not a problem, you can also add it on the spot. You could have asked, even if reported online, and our staff would have been happy to give you all the necessary information.

We apologize instead for the other inconveniences happened, also here you could have told us at reception and we would have provided all the help needed! We do our best in order to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible and we are sorry to know that this time something went wrong.

We hope to receive you again as our kind guest in order to regain your trust; meanwhile,

Best regrards,
Martina Mancuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews