We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Baboo500
Cincinnati, Ohio

Very disappointed!

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Oct 2023via mobile
We were so disappointed in this hotel! The entry to the hotel is down a sketchy alley where a soldier sits at the entrance. Not a good first impression! The wi-fi was practically nonexistent and the worst part was the unpleasant staff. The evening we arrived the people at check in were short tempered with us and another guest who was waiting. Also we were ignored at the bar and when we asked for change for tipping at the main desk we were told they didn’t have any with no suggestions on where we could get some. The only good part was that our room was very large and pretty but the unpleasant atmosphere was enough for us to not recommend this hotel.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 571
RM 494
  • Expedia.com
    RM 571
  • Hotels.com
    RM 571
  • Priceline
    RM 529
0.3 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 677
  • Expedia.com
    RM 744
  • Hotels.com
    RM 616
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 674
1.0 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
RM 1,204
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 1,204
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,105
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,121
1.0 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Room service
SP NH palermo
RM 665
  • NH Hotels
    RM 732
  • Priceline
    RM 657
  • Expedia.com
    RM 730
0.9 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 454
Fully refundable
  • Mercure
    RM 351
  • Expedia.com
    RM 455
  • Priceline
    RM 454
0.9 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Room service
RM 536
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 476
  • Expedia.com
    RM 620
  • Hotels.com
    RM 548
1.2 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
RM 901
  • Expedia.com
    RM 993
  • Lol.travel
    RM 786
  • Hotels.com
    RM 993
1.3 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 367
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 367
  • Vio.com
    RM 367
  • Agoda.com
    RM 368
2.5 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
RM 367
RM 272
  • Expedia.com
    RM 367
  • Hotels.com
    RM 283
  • Vio.com
    RM 299
0.2 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
RM 351
  • Expedia.com
    RM 386
  • Vio.com
    RM 327
  • Hotels.com
    RM 347
6.1 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
438
389
104
35
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
438
389
104
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent location old world walking distance sitting area spacious rooms per day major attractions risotto the air conditioning cakes atrium cloisters piazza tub sites internet cappuccino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2023

We stayed here for 3 nights, arranged by our tour operator, Esplora Travel. I was unwell for some of the stay, and was grateful to be in the large comfortable room. The common areas with the huge semi-outdoor seating area in the centre, are magnificent and impressive, and the hotel is in a very convenient central location. Staff were pleasant and helpful, on the whole. My gripes would be about the bathroom and to a lesser extent the breakfast. Our bathroom was tiny and cramped with a leaking shower and nowhere to put our toiletries. This compared poorly to the spacious bedroom. The bathroom could easily be remodelled to include a larger shower cubicle (which doesn't leak). The breakfast was a bit limited and haphazard, and it was difficult to order hot drinks.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

I had an excellent stay at this hotel. I was surprised to read some of the negative comments because this did not reflect my experience. The hotel is very central and opposite the Bank of Sicily in a large car free square. The place was quiet and the central area of the hotel cool and relaxing.
Breakfast was fine, although not as extensive as other European hotels of this level.
My only negative comment is that you have to ask to be served coffee at breakfast and the waiting staff are not always making themselves available to be asked!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2023

This large characterful 4* hotel was converted from 3 historic buildings and is perfectly located a few steps from the central thoroughfare, Via Vittorio Emanuele, in the historic city centre. The hotel's main feature is the large central air-conditioned patio, ornamented with a fountain, in which drinks can be enjoyed from the adjacent bar and a pianist played in the evening during our stay.

Our standard room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped with a large TV, room-safe and a well-stocked mini-bar. The bathroom was also reasonably large, modern and adequately stocked with toiletries and 2 dressing gowns. As our 4-night stay coincided with a 40+c. heatwave, we were very glad that the air-conditioning was up to the task.

Hotel facilities included a "wellness centre" with fitness equipment (no pool) and a restaurant, although we ate out as the hotel is close to numerous restaurants and also the famous Vucciria street market.

We found that all the staff were pleasant, friendly and professional.

This was by far our favourite of the 4 hotels we used in Sicily and I would certainly recommend it.

Room tip: Ideal haven of tranquility after visiting the historic sights on Palermo.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2023

Beautiful hotel in appearance. But if you want to feel refreshed after touring the streets of Palermo, don’t come here. The mattresses are hard and The rooms are stifling hot even after asking for help with making the room cooler. The lobby and restaurant are coolest areas. So much so, I considered taking my pillow down there to sleep.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 351roc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2023

Do not stay at this hotel. Their staff is a bunch of theifs. We checked into the hotel for a 2 night stay a few weeks ago with no problem, they had our room ready, etc. We had a very early flight the next day and checked out at 430am at the reception. We paid the city tax and confirmed check out and we were off in our cab to the airport. Our cab driver gets a call from the hotel while we are almost at the airport that he must turn around and bring us back to the hotel as we "did not pay for our stay". We booked the stay and paid for it MONTHS prior with our travel agent, the payment was on our credit cards, etc. We get back to the hotel after explaining them we are about to miss our flight and they said "we have no record of your reservation, you didnt pay for your stay" HOW would they not have noticed this upon check in? We stayed there for 2 nights, checked in and checked out with no issue, and then they force us to come back to the hotel claiming we didnt pay which is completely false. In a rush to get back to the airport we paid and said we would figure it out later. Our travel agent did confirm that we did in fact pay and did not know what they were talking about. After going back and forth, they finally saw that yes, we paid ahead of time and would refund our card. It has been over a week now and they STILL have not refunded my credit card. It is absolutely ridiculous - we email and call and they flat out ignore the fact that they have not processed the refund yet when we paid double for the stay. Their staff is now unresponsive. Do not stay at this hotel - they will still your money.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews