We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sandy S
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Comfortable and well located

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Oct 2023
Our accommodations in the Grand Hotel Piazza de Borsa were comfortable, but occasionally the smell of raw sewage wafted through our room. In all our hotels in Sicily, the beds were comfortable and the bed linens high quality. Because the hotel was cobbled together from four downtown buildings, finding our way to and from our room was initially mystifying, but the location was excellent -- walking distance from the city's main sights.
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: The corridors can be confusing, so take note of your room's location.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 743
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
SP NH palermo
RM 730
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • NH Hotels
0.9 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 386
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.1 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 532
  • Expedia.com
    RM 571
0.3 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    RM 1,147
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Mercure
    RM 351
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 493
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 786
  • Expedia.com
    RM 993
1.3 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 396
  • ibis Styles
    RM 491
1.0 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 328
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
438
389
104
35
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
438
389
104
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent location old world walking distance sitting area spacious rooms per day major attractions risotto the air conditioning cakes atrium cloisters piazza tub sites internet cappuccino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2023 via mobile

We were so disappointed in this hotel! The entry to the hotel is down a sketchy alley where a soldier sits at the entrance. Not a good first impression! The wi-fi was practically nonexistent and the worst part was the unpleasant staff. The evening we arrived the people at check in were short tempered with us and another guest who was waiting. Also we were ignored at the bar and when we asked for change for tipping at the main desk we were told they didn’t have any with no suggestions on where we could get some. The only good part was that our room was very large and pretty but the unpleasant atmosphere was enough for us to not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Baboo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023

We stayed here for 3 nights, arranged by our tour operator, Esplora Travel. I was unwell for some of the stay, and was grateful to be in the large comfortable room. The common areas with the huge semi-outdoor seating area in the centre, are magnificent and impressive, and the hotel is in a very convenient central location. Staff were pleasant and helpful, on the whole. My gripes would be about the bathroom and to a lesser extent the breakfast. Our bathroom was tiny and cramped with a leaking shower and nowhere to put our toiletries. This compared poorly to the spacious bedroom. The bathroom could easily be remodelled to include a larger shower cubicle (which doesn't leak). The breakfast was a bit limited and haphazard, and it was difficult to order hot drinks.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

I had an excellent stay at this hotel. I was surprised to read some of the negative comments because this did not reflect my experience. The hotel is very central and opposite the Bank of Sicily in a large car free square. The place was quiet and the central area of the hotel cool and relaxing.
Breakfast was fine, although not as extensive as other European hotels of this level.
My only negative comment is that you have to ask to be served coffee at breakfast and the waiting staff are not always making themselves available to be asked!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2023

This large characterful 4* hotel was converted from 3 historic buildings and is perfectly located a few steps from the central thoroughfare, Via Vittorio Emanuele, in the historic city centre. The hotel's main feature is the large central air-conditioned patio, ornamented with a fountain, in which drinks can be enjoyed from the adjacent bar and a pianist played in the evening during our stay.

Our standard room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped with a large TV, room-safe and a well-stocked mini-bar. The bathroom was also reasonably large, modern and adequately stocked with toiletries and 2 dressing gowns. As our 4-night stay coincided with a 40+c. heatwave, we were very glad that the air-conditioning was up to the task.

Hotel facilities included a "wellness centre" with fitness equipment (no pool) and a restaurant, although we ate out as the hotel is close to numerous restaurants and also the famous Vucciria street market.

We found that all the staff were pleasant, friendly and professional.

This was by far our favourite of the 4 hotels we used in Sicily and I would certainly recommend it.

Room tip: Ideal haven of tranquility after visiting the historic sights on Palermo.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2023

Beautiful hotel in appearance. But if you want to feel refreshed after touring the streets of Palermo, don’t come here. The mattresses are hard and The rooms are stifling hot even after asking for help with making the room cooler. The lobby and restaurant are coolest areas. So much so, I considered taking my pillow down there to sleep.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 351roc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews