We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lucy F
Brighton, United Kingdom

Slightly disappointing

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Mar 2024via mobile
Classy 4* hotel in convenient location (traffic ghastly but they will park your car for €18/day). Mostly helpful staff, but significant niggles that you wouldn’t expect in a hotel of this calibre e.g. air con not working, bath plug broken, light bulb out, extension lead necessary… All small things willingly rectified but shows lack of attention to detail. However, decent linen, hot-water & WiFi. Plenty of local alternatives that may prove better value.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 545
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 744
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    RM 1,147
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Room service
SP NH palermo
RM 730
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • NH Hotels
0.9 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Mercure
    RM 351
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 533
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 836
  • Expedia.com
    RM 992
1.3 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • ibis Styles
    RM 491
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 399
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 382
  • Booking.com
6.1 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 327
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
438
389
104
35
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
438
389
104
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent location old world walking distance sitting area spacious rooms per day major attractions risotto the air conditioning cakes atrium cloisters piazza tub sites internet cappuccino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

We just chose this hotel at the last minute when our AirBnB wound up having five flights of very steep steps to reach the apartment. The hotel is very conveniently located and has the best breakfast buffet we have ever seen! They have many styles of rooms and they are very comfortable. I agree the tub and shower is extremely deep so be careful getting in!

Room tip: Ask if you don’t like your room. They all seem unique. Also make sure if you reserve multiple rooms to request they be together.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 625dianac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2023

Our accommodations in the Grand Hotel Piazza de Borsa were comfortable, but occasionally the smell of raw sewage wafted through our room. In all our hotels in Sicily, the beds were comfortable and the bed linens high quality. Because the hotel was cobbled together from four downtown buildings, finding our way to and from our room was initially mystifying, but the location was excellent -- walking distance from the city's main sights.

Room tip: The corridors can be confusing, so take note of your room's location.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2023 via mobile

We were so disappointed in this hotel! The entry to the hotel is down a sketchy alley where a soldier sits at the entrance. Not a good first impression! The wi-fi was practically nonexistent and the worst part was the unpleasant staff. The evening we arrived the people at check in were short tempered with us and another guest who was waiting. Also we were ignored at the bar and when we asked for change for tipping at the main desk we were told they didn’t have any with no suggestions on where we could get some. The only good part was that our room was very large and pretty but the unpleasant atmosphere was enough for us to not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Baboo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023

We stayed here for 3 nights, arranged by our tour operator, Esplora Travel. I was unwell for some of the stay, and was grateful to be in the large comfortable room. The common areas with the huge semi-outdoor seating area in the centre, are magnificent and impressive, and the hotel is in a very convenient central location. Staff were pleasant and helpful, on the whole. My gripes would be about the bathroom and to a lesser extent the breakfast. Our bathroom was tiny and cramped with a leaking shower and nowhere to put our toiletries. This compared poorly to the spacious bedroom. The bathroom could easily be remodelled to include a larger shower cubicle (which doesn't leak). The breakfast was a bit limited and haphazard, and it was difficult to order hot drinks.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

I had an excellent stay at this hotel. I was surprised to read some of the negative comments because this did not reflect my experience. The hotel is very central and opposite the Bank of Sicily in a large car free square. The place was quiet and the central area of the hotel cool and relaxing.
Breakfast was fine, although not as extensive as other European hotels of this level.
My only negative comment is that you have to ask to be served coffee at breakfast and the waiting staff are not always making themselves available to be asked!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews