We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rafaela D

Luxurious with excellent and warm service!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jun 2024
The best hotel in Palermo!
Great location, amazing breakfast, and the best drinks and cocktails!
All the staff are very professional, especially everyone at the front desk, security, bellman, and Neo Bistrot. PIETRO at Neo Bistrot always provides excellent service, attentive to every detail, making each guest feel special.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 634
  • Expedia.com
    RM 671
  • Hotels.com
    RM 575
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 609
0.1 km from Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Free Wifi
RM 1,012
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,070
  • Vio.com
    RM 934
  • Priceline
    RM 1,071
0.1 km from Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Free Wifi
Room service
RM 867
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    RM 985
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 812
  • Expedia.com
    RM 897
1.5 km from Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Free Wifi
RM 814
  • Expedia.com
    RM 846
  • Vio.com
    RM 729
  • Hotels.com
    RM 777
0.3 km from Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 922
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    RM 807
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 690
  • Expedia.com
    RM 921
0.1 km from Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Free Wifi
Room service
RM 502
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 502
  • Vio.com
    RM 487
  • Hotels.com
    RM 516
0.2 km from Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Free Wifi
SP NH palermo
RM 676
  • Booking.com
    RM 677
  • Priceline
    RM 610
  • Expedia.com
    RM 676
1.7 km from Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 371
RM 275
  • Expedia.com
    RM 371
  • Vio.com
    RM 301
  • Hotels.com
    RM 289
0.8 km from Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Free Wifi
RM 487
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 446
  • Vio.com
    RM 427
  • Hotels.com
    RM 454
5.7 km from Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
279
35
12
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
279
35
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art nouveau style real star hotel wonderful hotel food for breakfast great location the hotel staff the heart of the city short stay place to stay walking distance bed was comfortable rooms are large two nights front desk staff would definitely stay here again breakfast room central location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2024

This was, by far, one of the most lovely hotels we’ve ever visited. The service was excellent, the employees were friendly, the food was outstanding and the property and rooms were impeccably clean. Not just another hotel “rated” a five-star, this one IS a five-star!!!

Date of stay: June 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marina Grancagnolo, Other at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2024

Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Our team takes pride in providing excellent service and maintaining high standards of cleanliness. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2024

The hotel is very average to what you pay. Rooms are very spacious but feel quite empty - maybe more furniture or some other decorations would do a trick? Also basics missing in the room like kettle or coffee machine…
Staff was nice and polite but didn’t feel very special there. Location is great.
Another point to improve is in my opinion breakfast - the area is super grand and luxurious but the food doesn’t respond to these standards - very basic breakfast but mostly please get proper coffee machine - the coffee tasted like some Nescafé powdered machine made drink…
Hotel has a beautiful premises but it needs little bit more uplifting and small upgrades and it will be amazing!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flymousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2024

We stayed at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes for two nights during a 2+ month road trip across Italy, Malta, France, and Portugal (@wolfestreettravel on Instagram and wolfestreettravel.com). Very nice, classic-style hotel near the center of town. Definitely caters to tour groups, so expect the lobby to be crowded with a bus-load of suitcases in the mornings. Pretty good bar and restaurant, too. Would recommend.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfeStreetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2024 via mobile

Have to agree with sd122 and others about the service. We stayed for 3 nights. Reception staff were lovely, really friendly.
We had dinner the first night on the top floor restaurant as we had arrived too late to go out and explore. Food was fine but expensive for what it was.

The biggest issue was breakfast. We’ve stayed in 5 star hotels before and this was worst for service at breakfast. Unfortunately for us the breakfasts are a big part of the holiday when staying at a nice hotel and we look forward to them. So , It’s not unusual for staff to bring tea and coffee to your table as a standard practice in every other 5 star we’ve stayed at, but not here. Trying to get anyone’s attention was difficult. When we did, the waiters were generally unsmiling and we felt as if we shouldn’t be asking them for anything ! We just wanted tea, fairly simple , but there was a wait ( each day) while someone found the box of teabags behind the counter and brought one over …. (Not sure why they were kept there or why it seemed such a palaver. One waiter had to ask another where they were).
Then there would be a wait for the water , or the milk… every time. And we need multiple cups of tea to get going so this happened about 3 times each morning. The staff didn’t smile: except the greeter in the door, who did she was nice. This is 5 star hotel on paper and not in reality as far as breakfast experience For this level of service, save some money and stay at a 3 star.
Rest of hotel : the breakfast room is beautiful! Maybe a ballroom at one time so it’s very grand. The reception/foyer is also beautiful.
The location of hotel is also fine: it’s 5-10 minutes from the theatre. And then 20 minutes to cathedral . But that was fine as there’s so much to look at on the way.
Our room was small: asked to upgrade and had a disabled room which was fine. But neither rooms had bathroom space to put toiletry/makeup bags in the bathroom .

We had a great time in Palermo, but would stay at a different hotel another time. Shame . Vitto on reception was charming.

Room tip: Tuk tuk ride 80 euros for an hour for 2 of us. Was fun when feet were hurting too much to walk anymore and gets down side streets easily.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bellamog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Hotel Des Palmes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bellamog12,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We appreciate your compliments to the Reception Staff and to quality of our establishment but we are at the same time very sorry that your experience at breakfast was not up to our standards.
Our Management has already taken action to fix all the issues you mentioned in your review so that future guests may enjoy our lovely homemade breakfast.
Moreover we have already planned to implement the space in the bathroom by setting new pieces of furniture for toiletry and makeup.
I hope you will change your mind and come back to visit our Hotel in the near future so that you may verify the improvements that have been made.
I wish you wondeful day.

Best Regards

Bruno Calà
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024 via mobile

This hotel far surpassed my expectations. I felt like both a princess and that I had gone back in time in a good way. The hotel was located close to everywhere we needed to be. The room and bathroom were a good size. We slept very well all three nights.

The staff went above and beyond more than I have experienced in years. The men in black were quick to open the door and help us with our bags, car and whatever else we were carrying in. The bellhops were dressed in old fashioned green uniforms with caps and all and were always available to open the door for us as well.

We were there for my birthday and I was surprised with a beautiful birthday cake in my room. We couldn't finish it all, but it was probably one of the best cakes I've had in ages.

All of the staff were all professional and happy to help.

I hate breakfast buffets but this was beyond anything I've ever experienced. Tons of options for all cultures and I didn't have annoying kids and people getting in my way like in the US.

I was not expecting this kind of class and service for the price we paid because we did not break the bank.

Definitely a top-notch experience.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JerzeeeyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews