We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 6,705
Fully refundable before Wed, 1 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
RM 6,709
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
travelup.com
RM 5,889
Breakfast included
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
taffysdelight
Ta' Xbiex, Malta
Incredibly disappointing !
Review of Villa Igiea
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Aug 2021via mobile
All I can say is what a disappointment, after looking forward to staying here, for some time, with the opening delayed because of the pandemic.

Firstly, the majority of the staff are great, very helpful and professional and there are certainly plenty of them. What is clear is the complete lack of leadership, certainly around the restaurants. The respective managers (again, there seems plenty of them) are AWOL.

Breakfast is an absolute car crash with any number of waiters running everywhere, significant delays in even the most basic dishes and errors that are too many to count. Again - helpful stuff, but no organization. Food at breakfast is really disappointing. Several dishes were unavailable, including local sausages!

The lack of quality in the food (except fresh fish) follows through into the evening in both the bar and restaurant, poor service standards, notwithstanding the sheer number of staff. After a couple of attempts, we ended up going out for lunch and dinner. There are any number of restaurants in Palermo at half the price, and far better quality.

Let’s look at some positives, and that was the pool area, very tranquil and very well staffed, with a great team looking after you. In addition the concierge and the car park attendant/greeting team were excellent. Really made us feel special, which surely this hotel is designed to do.

Rooms are good, well serviced during the day and evening.

One further issue was an early morning fire alarm - because one person had smoked in a room. This doesn’t feel right.

Hotel has only effectively reopened but this has a long way to go to meet expectations, as frankly, you are paying a heavy price for mediocrity.
Date of stay: August 2021
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 772
  • Expedia.com
    RM 768
  • Hotels.com
    RM 640
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Villa Igiea
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 3,258
  • Hotels.com
    RM 3,609
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 2,504
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Villa Igiea
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 793
  • Hotels.com
    RM 792
  • Lol.travel
    RM 739
  • Expedia.com
    RM 785
2.5 km from Villa Igiea
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 1,942
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,943
  • Official Site
    RM 1,852
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,932
2.5 km from Villa Igiea
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
RM 855
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    RM 686
  • Expedia.com
    RM 851
3.1 km from Villa Igiea
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 521
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 439
  • Trip.com
3.3 km from Villa Igiea
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 805
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 921
  • travelup.com
    RM 702
  • Hotels.com
    RM 921
2.4 km from Villa Igiea
Free Wifi
Room service
Kemonia Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Booking.com
RM 1,341
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,167
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,201
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Villa Igiea
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
RM 530
RM 470
  • ibis Styles
    RM 495
  • Expedia.com
    RM 495
  • Hotels.com
    RM 495
2.4 km from Villa Igiea
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 407
  • Expedia.com
    RM 373
  • Hotels.com
    RM 371
  • Priceline
7.4 km from Villa Igiea
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
174
11
8
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
11
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocco forte shuttle service to town head concierge beautiful property hotel experiences rooms are beautifully appointed turn down service historic town lovely pool luxury hotel upon check shuttle bus hotel is located excellent hotel two nights florio kamel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

A wonderful hotel, truly 5 star from the quality of the rooms, staffing and service to the overall property. A historic hotel fantastically renovated.

There is no beach or access to the sea for swimming (just for boats) but the pool is very nice with a great poolside restaurant.

We spent a week here and were very happy with our choice. We had dinner in the terraza/bar almost every night. It seems to be the new place to be and be seen in Palermo which made it great fun.

There's plenty to do in and around Palermo and the Villa Igiea is the perfect base.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank zurichgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vito Giglio, General Manager at Villa Igiea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Dear Zurichgrad,

Thank you for sharing such a beautiful feedback following your recent stay at Villa Igiea.

We are so glad that you found the Hotel as the perfect and most strategic place to start your holiday in the city of Palermo.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards

Vito Giglio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021

We stayed at the Villa Igiea for three nights in June 2021, i.e. shortly after the hotel reopened under the Rocco Forte brand. At the time of our stay, about 30 rooms were available, the Spa had not opened yet.
This being said, the hotel is already fabulous. The staff is superb, well trained and super friendly. While everybody was friendly and helpful, we would like to mention in particular Philipp, the concierge, and Danielo at the bar, who made our stay special.
We found the food at the Florio restaurant, the lunch restaurant at the pool and the drinks at the bar excellent and not overpriced. In particular, prices were much more reasonable than at the Verdura Resort (the other Rocco Forte hotel in Sicily), and the service was much better (really worlds apart).
The hotel is located north-east of the city center of Palermo, on the coast, has a nice garden and a small, but nice pool area.
We had booked a studio room and were upgraded to a junior suite. The room was nicely designed, in line with the usual Olga Polizzi style, the A/C worked well, there was a sufficient number of sockets, and the marble bathroom was quite nice. Important detail: the GHD hairdryer. The only downside was that the door was not soundproof, and the marble flooring in the hallway did not exactly absorb any sound. Besides, even with closed curtains, the room does not get properly dark because the curtains are too far away from the wall, and the sides are open.
However, when we go back to Palermo, we will gladly stay at the Villa Igiea again and are looking forward to our next stay.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank K_H_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Room tip: Movimentem-se de taxi
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Achille Di Carlo, Direttore generale at Villa Igiea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Isidoro Di Franco, Direttore generale at Villa Igiea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews