We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 1,350
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
RM 1,480
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
RM 737
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Maryveronic
Palermo, Italy

Older, smaller and well located

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Oct 2019
Older and smaller well located hotel near Massimo theatre. Saw a brilliant opera called “the Winter” on the refugee crisi. Terrific breakfasts and very helpful staff. Well located in easy walking distance of many attractions. We had a quieter back room
Date of stay: October 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 22 Oct 2019
Dear Guest,

We're really satisfied about your appreciation of our hotel and its position, the breakfast and the staff.

Hoping to be chosen again for your next trip to Palermo,

Yours sincerely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 705
  • Expedia.com
    RM 695
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 662
  • Hotels.com
    RM 773
0.3 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 767
  • Expedia.com
    RM 807
  • Vio.com
    RM 648
  • Hotels.com
    RM 807
0.6 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 930
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,050
  • Lol.travel
    RM 810
  • Expedia.com
    RM 930
0.6 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 782
Fully refundable
  • Mercure
    RM 782
  • travelup.com
    RM 694
  • Hotels.com
    RM 782
0.4 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
RM 1,365
RM 1,120
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,365
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,279
  • Priceline
    RM 1,365
1.1 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Kemonia Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Booking.com
RM 671
  • Expedia.com
    RM 640
  • Priceline
    RM 591
  • Hotels.com
    RM 667
0.7 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
RM 633
  • ibis Styles
    RM 667
  • Vio.com
    RM 530
  • Expedia.com
    RM 666
0.5 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 409
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    RM 449
  • Expedia.com
    RM 372
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 409
5.6 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
RM 486
RM 274
  • Hotels.com
    RM 486
  • Expedia.com
    RM 356
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 433
0.5 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 2,186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 2,429
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,458
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,429
0.4 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
404
186
63
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
404
186
63
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opposite the opera house great location breakfast is served the hotel staff sound insulation each morning first floor lovely hotel busy street mac and cheese yogurt mondello beach massimo theatre balcony luggage piazza
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2019

This hotel is in a perfect location, clean and comfortable, and service is excellent. I was very happy with our choice to stay here in Palermo.
The hotel is one floor up from street level, accessed by stairs, so not suitable if you have mobility issues, but when we arrived, they came down to greet us and carried our suitcases up for us. The staff is very welcoming, made us feel at home and taken care of throughout our stay. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pedestrian street out front, with a glimpse of Teatro Massimo through the trees. It was very pleasant. We were directly above a café, and we did hear some noise in the mornings when they first opened up and played music, but street noise was not generally a problem. The room was spacious and clean, though not luxurious. The bathroom had a typically small shower, and I appreciated the makeup mirror. Be cautious of the room safe – it is an older style and jammed one night, which apparently is not uncommon as they have a code to use to unlock it. Unfortunately that did not work in our case, so we had to wait until a locksmith could be summoned in the morning (though another staff member ended up getting it open for us before the locksmith arrived.) Don’t wait til the last moment to retrieve your valuables prior to checkout.
The first night, they took our breakfast order and delivered it to our room promptly at the requested time. We were given a choice of sweet or savory, took one of each – bread, sliced meats & cheese, croissant, and a slice of fruit tart, plus juice and coffee/tea. It was good, and just enough to start the day without overeating. But the table in the room was very small, so we chose to eat in the living room the next day. There are only a few tables, so you need to schedule your breakfast time the night before. We also found that we could get a dish of fresh fruit or yogurt as well.
The hotel can arrange an airport transfer for you, which is nicer and cheaper than a taxi – it was 43 euro coming from the airport, and 40 euro for our return.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Service
3  Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you appreciated our location, our staff, the breakfast and above all the balcony of your room overlooking the first Theater of Italy:Teatro Massimo.
As regards the stairs, as indicated on all the booking sites, our hotel is located inside an ancient noble palace and therefore an elevator cannot be placed. There are only 21 steps to reach the first floor (where all the hotel is located) and there is always someone to help the guests with their luggage.
About the safe it can happen that it blocks and for this we have a code to unlock it (like all hotels in the world).

Thanks again, we hope to be chosen again for your next visit to Palermo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2019

Great location as it is at the beginning of the pedestrian streets with plenty of cafes and restaurants in the near vicinity . Most of the sights are within easy walking distance . Good sized rooms . Breakfast can be taken in the room or in the small breakfast area . It is a small hotel but very good for a short break . The staff were all very friendly and helpful . Would stay again .

Room tip: Room at the front overlooking the teatro massimo
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jardinarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to write your opinion of Massimo Plaza Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you have particularly appreciated our position, as well as your room, breakfast service and our staff.

It will be a real pleasure for all of us to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019

Great location, modern and clean room. Wonderful staff. A 12 pm check out was great. Great value, highly recommend staying here. Breakfast was served in our room and was adequate to get our day started.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time in recommending us. We are glad that you loved your stay at Massimo Plaza Hotel and we hope to host you soon again!

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019

Great hotel in downtown Palermo. Everything you need (shopping, restaurants, taxis) is right outside the door. The room and hotel was clean and cozy, with breakfast delivered to your room every morning. The most pleasant part of this hotel was the service. Specifically, the front desk associates, Christian and Francesca, were so friendly, kind and helpful. They went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay and help us plan and reserve excursions. Our luggage was lost at the airport, and they were extremely helpful with that as well--calling on our behalf to locate it and translating messages that we did not understand. I would def stay here again.

Room tip: It's nice to have a balcony room so you can see what's going on in the street just be prepared for noise :)
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Amberlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Dear Guest,

We are delighted by your compliments about the centrality and cleanliness of our hotel, the breakfast comfortably served in the room, and and your positive remarks about our staff.
Our daily effort is focused on making our Guests’ stay unique and positively memorable.
It is great to hear that we did right and that you would to return here.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time you come in Palermo, in order to make you experience again all the best that we proudly provide our Guests with.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019

After the hectic, cacophonous and exhilaration of touring the city, soundproofed rooms was the ticket that steered us here. Its in a fab position opposite the Teatro Massimo, sitting demurely resplendent in Art Deco . Its spacious, restrained and artfully decorated. The bed was heavenly as was the bathroom, especially the shower. Service is excellent.

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2019

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your review and we thank you for your beautiful words regarding our hotel, the room and the service provided by our staff.
When our guests have a good stay we feel satisfacted because we work everyday with passion and dedication to guarantee to all those who choose us a pleasant stay!


Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews