We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 930
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
RM 877
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
RM 678
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
gracecpa
Atlanta, Georgia

Perfect location in Palermo; great check in

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Nov 2019via mobile
Located directly across the street from the lovely opera house, this hotel could not be better situated to see the sights of Palermo on foot. Christian could not have been more helpful at check-in, providing excellent advice on nearby restaurants and also general advice on sights in Palermo as well as other locations in Sicily. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Date of stay: November 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 13 Nov 2019
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel and for taking the time for this kind review.
It is a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel, this is our mission and, for this reason, we work every day with passion, commitment and professionalism to let our guests have a memorable stay.

We really look forward to welcoming you again and as soon as possible!

Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 706
  • Expedia.com
    RM 696
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 690
  • Hotels.com
    RM 696
0.3 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 767
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 700
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 1,012
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,107
  • Lol.travel
    RM 883
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,015
0.6 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 783
Fully refundable
  • Mercure
    RM 783
  • travelup.com
    RM 695
  • Expedia.com
    RM 783
0.4 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
RM 1,122
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,230
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 1,109
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,123
1.1 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Kemonia Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Booking.com
RM 672
  • Expedia.com
    RM 612
  • Lol.travel
    RM 603
  • Hotels.com
    RM 668
0.7 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
RM 634
  • ibis Styles
    RM 667
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 535
  • Expedia.com
    RM 667
0.5 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 410
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 377
  • Hotels.com
    RM 449
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 377
5.6 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
RM 438
RM 275
  • Expedia.com
    RM 438
  • Hotels.com
    RM 438
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 433
0.5 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
403
186
63
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
403
186
63
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opposite the opera house great location breakfast is served the hotel staff sound insulation each morning first floor lovely hotel busy street mac and cheese yogurt mondello beach massimo theatre balcony luggage piazza
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2019 via mobile

Great location!!! Stayed only one night. At first I was going to give this hotel 5 stars ( which I don’t hand out often) but I decided on 4 . The location for the price point can not be beat!! The room was very clean! The balcony was awesome. The Ac worked well as I still did need to turn it on for a bit. It was super clean too!!
Some of the staff seemed pretentious but most were great. It is too bad I could not check in early when I arrived as I had informed them of my arrival. Some stairs to bring luggage up at entrance but they offered help which was great.
The only reason I took a star off is the bed was very hard with that one sheet. Unfortunately, this is like most properties in Italy but sometimes I get lucky and fine a good bed😀
The noise on a Saturday night is very loud ( bands play on square till midnight) but no fault of the hotel. That is what u get when u choose such a great location.
They arrange a taxi to airport for 40 euro ( 30 min ride) which was great. And also a wake up call I I had to put ear plugs in with the noise. I actually would of loved sitting on my balcony enjoying the music but I had early flight.
It is a very nice hotel for solo travellers with a safe feeling.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank BBcanada123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Palermo.
We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel, above for its location, cleanliness and the balcony overlooking the first Theater of Italy.
We are equally sorry for the "pretentious" addressed to some members of our staff, even if you had warned us of your early check in we had not guaranteed you the possibility of being able to have the room immediately upon your arrival as the check-out is until twelve o'clock.Therefore they only informed you about it.
We also thank you for the criticism of the hard bed, really we had never been told, we are carrying out the necessary checks.Although it does not appear to us as they are equipped with new-generation matarassi.


Thank you again for sharing your opinion about your experience here, we always treasure this.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

We had to flee from another hotel. We were not disappointed - actually we're VERY PLEASED with our stay at Massimo Plaza. It perfectly situated in Palermo just opposite to Theater Massimo. Nice serviceminded employees. We had breakfast served in our room at our convinience. It's complementary. Nice big rooms and (for Italy) relatively soft beds. We had a balcony to the back street. Windows and doors are sound insulated so close the dooor and your room is nice cool and quiet - open it feel the city living and breathing. A great place to stay in Palermo. Would definately live there next time. If you're in a rental car they have a private parkinglot at just 15 euros a day. Only downside is there's a lot of steps to the reception as it on the third floor (and no elevator). The only problem we had was that the minibar didn't cool at all. Even though it was fixed it never cooled. The steps and the minibar is the only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars. Go there and enjoy Palermo wgich is so unbelivably cheep.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank markbM5968IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Palermo, for having appreciated the location, the staff and your room.
We are sorry about the problem with the minibar, but we proceeded to have it checked and repaired the same day you told us and it started working again.
About the elevator, it is fair to know that the hotel is located in an antique noble palace where the elevator can not be located, but there are just 21 steps to get to the first floor where the whole hotel is located.This is indicated on all booking sites

We apologize again for the inconvenience with the minibar, we work hard to make pleasant the stay of all our guests.

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019 via mobile

Such a lovely welcoming hotel, one floor up from the Main Street so if you have mobility issues this is not for you. Opposite the Teatro Massimo. Great location, and very friendly helpful staff. We all had breakfast in our rooms, you told the receptionist the night before what time you wanted breakfast and what you would like. Coffee was very good, great choice of ham, cheese, fruit and yoghurt. The rooms were lovely comfortable and clean. No bath but good shower. I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly use again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Marettag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review and your positive thoughts following your recent stay at Massimo Plaza Hotel.
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2019

Older and smaller well located hotel near Massimo theatre. Saw a brilliant opera called “the Winter” on the refugee crisi. Terrific breakfasts and very helpful staff. Well located in easy walking distance of many attractions. We had a quieter back room

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank Maryveronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Dear Guest,

We're really satisfied about your appreciation of our hotel and its position, the breakfast and the staff.

Hoping to be chosen again for your next trip to Palermo,

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

This hotel is in a perfect location, clean and comfortable, and service is excellent. I was very happy with our choice to stay here in Palermo.
The hotel is one floor up from street level, accessed by stairs, so not suitable if you have mobility issues, but when we arrived, they came down to greet us and carried our suitcases up for us. The staff is very welcoming, made us feel at home and taken care of throughout our stay. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pedestrian street out front, with a glimpse of Teatro Massimo through the trees. It was very pleasant. We were directly above a café, and we did hear some noise in the mornings when they first opened up and played music, but street noise was not generally a problem. The room was spacious and clean, though not luxurious. The bathroom had a typically small shower, and I appreciated the makeup mirror. Be cautious of the room safe – it is an older style and jammed one night, which apparently is not uncommon as they have a code to use to unlock it. Unfortunately that did not work in our case, so we had to wait until a locksmith could be summoned in the morning (though another staff member ended up getting it open for us before the locksmith arrived.) Don’t wait til the last moment to retrieve your valuables prior to checkout.
The first night, they took our breakfast order and delivered it to our room promptly at the requested time. We were given a choice of sweet or savory, took one of each – bread, sliced meats & cheese, croissant, and a slice of fruit tart, plus juice and coffee/tea. It was good, and just enough to start the day without overeating. But the table in the room was very small, so we chose to eat in the living room the next day. There are only a few tables, so you need to schedule your breakfast time the night before. We also found that we could get a dish of fresh fruit or yogurt as well.
The hotel can arrange an airport transfer for you, which is nicer and cheaper than a taxi – it was 43 euro coming from the airport, and 40 euro for our return.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Service
3  Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you appreciated our location, our staff, the breakfast and above all the balcony of your room overlooking the first Theater of Italy:Teatro Massimo.
As regards the stairs, as indicated on all the booking sites, our hotel is located inside an ancient noble palace and therefore an elevator cannot be placed. There are only 21 steps to reach the first floor (where all the hotel is located) and there is always someone to help the guests with their luggage.
About the safe it can happen that it blocks and for this we have a code to unlock it (like all hotels in the world).

Thanks again, we hope to be chosen again for your next visit to Palermo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews