We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 1,251
Fully refundable before Wed, 1 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
RM 1,372
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
RM 1,372
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Lee M
Carlton
Excellent stay.
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jan 2020
We stayed 3 nights at Massimo Plaza, and this was our second visit to Palermo. The location of this hotel can't be beaten, its terrific, right in the centre of everything. We took the bus from the airport and walked 10mins to the hotel, its well signed and easy to find, just opposite the theatre. It is up stairs, but the wonderful staff will help with your bags, although there may be issues if you have mobility issues. The staff are terrific here, helpful, generous and quick to respond. The breakfast (we opted to have it in our room) was right on time, fresh, warm and delicious. There is some street noise( we asked for a room at the front with a balcony) but this stops around 10pm and I must say the talent of the bands playing was really good, we enjoyed listening to them.
Date of stay: January 2020
Nearby Hotels
0.6 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.3 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
2.2 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
0.4 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
0.6 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.8 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
0.4 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Kemonia Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
0.7 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
0.4 km from Massimo Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
402
186
63
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
402
186
63
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opposite the opera house great location breakfast is served the hotel staff sound insulation each morning first floor lovely hotel busy street mac and cheese yogurt mondello beach massimo theatre balcony luggage piazza
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2019 via mobile

Located directly across the street from the lovely opera house, this hotel could not be better situated to see the sights of Palermo on foot. Christian could not have been more helpful at check-in, providing excellent advice on nearby restaurants and also general advice on sights in Palermo as well as other locations in Sicily. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2019
3  Thank gracecpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel and for taking the time for this kind review.
It is a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel, this is our mission and, for this reason, we work every day with passion, commitment and professionalism to let our guests have a memorable stay.

We really look forward to welcoming you again and as soon as possible!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2019 via mobile

Great location!!! Stayed only one night. At first I was going to give this hotel 5 stars ( which I don’t hand out often) but I decided on 4 . The location for the price point can not be beat!! The room was very clean! The balcony was awesome. The Ac worked well as I still did need to turn it on for a bit. It was super clean too!!
Some of the staff seemed pretentious but most were great. It is too bad I could not check in early when I arrived as I had informed them of my arrival. Some stairs to bring luggage up at entrance but they offered help which was great.
The only reason I took a star off is the bed was very hard with that one sheet. Unfortunately, this is like most properties in Italy but sometimes I get lucky and fine a good bed😀
The noise on a Saturday night is very loud ( bands play on square till midnight) but no fault of the hotel. That is what u get when u choose such a great location.
They arrange a taxi to airport for 40 euro ( 30 min ride) which was great. And also a wake up call I I had to put ear plugs in with the noise. I actually would of loved sitting on my balcony enjoying the music but I had early flight.
It is a very nice hotel for solo travellers with a safe feeling.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank BBcanada123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Palermo.
We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel, above for its location, cleanliness and the balcony overlooking the first Theater of Italy.
We are equally sorry for the "pretentious" addressed to some members of our staff, even if you had warned us of your early check in we had not guaranteed you the possibility of being able to have the room immediately upon your arrival as the check-out is until twelve o'clock.Therefore they only informed you about it.
We also thank you for the criticism of the hard bed, really we had never been told, we are carrying out the necessary checks.Although it does not appear to us as they are equipped with new-generation matarassi.


Thank you again for sharing your opinion about your experience here, we always treasure this.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

We had to flee from another hotel. We were not disappointed - actually we're VERY PLEASED with our stay at Massimo Plaza. It perfectly situated in Palermo just opposite to Theater Massimo. Nice serviceminded employees. We had breakfast served in our room at our convinience. It's complementary. Nice big rooms and (for Italy) relatively soft beds. We had a balcony to the back street. Windows and doors are sound insulated so close the dooor and your room is nice cool and quiet - open it feel the city living and breathing. A great place to stay in Palermo. Would definately live there next time. If you're in a rental car they have a private parkinglot at just 15 euros a day. Only downside is there's a lot of steps to the reception as it on the third floor (and no elevator). The only problem we had was that the minibar didn't cool at all. Even though it was fixed it never cooled. The steps and the minibar is the only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars. Go there and enjoy Palermo wgich is so unbelivably cheep.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank markbM5968IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Palermo, for having appreciated the location, the staff and your room.
We are sorry about the problem with the minibar, but we proceeded to have it checked and repaired the same day you told us and it started working again.
About the elevator, it is fair to know that the hotel is located in an antique noble palace where the elevator can not be located, but there are just 21 steps to get to the first floor where the whole hotel is located.This is indicated on all booking sites

We apologize again for the inconvenience with the minibar, we work hard to make pleasant the stay of all our guests.

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019 via mobile

Such a lovely welcoming hotel, one floor up from the Main Street so if you have mobility issues this is not for you. Opposite the Teatro Massimo. Great location, and very friendly helpful staff. We all had breakfast in our rooms, you told the receptionist the night before what time you wanted breakfast and what you would like. Coffee was very good, great choice of ham, cheese, fruit and yoghurt. The rooms were lovely comfortable and clean. No bath but good shower. I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly use again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Marettag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review and your positive thoughts following your recent stay at Massimo Plaza Hotel.
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2019

Older and smaller well located hotel near Massimo theatre. Saw a brilliant opera called “the Winter” on the refugee crisi. Terrific breakfasts and very helpful staff. Well located in easy walking distance of many attractions. We had a quieter back room

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank Maryveronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Dear Guest,

We're really satisfied about your appreciation of our hotel and its position, the breakfast and the staff.

Hoping to be chosen again for your next trip to Palermo,

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews