We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
archar
London, Canada

Great location, good value

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Dec 2019via mobile
Though rather utilitarian in appearance inside and out, the location of this hotel is excellent. It was about a 10 minute walk from The nearest airport bus stop. In less than five minute walk from the hotel you reach the Via Maqueda where you can enjoy the daily passagiata and choose from a wide variety of wonderful restaurants on the side alleys. The room itself was satisfactory for our needs and did offer a king bed which is sometimes hard to find in European hotels. The breakfast room was large and offered a good variety of items. I believe this is a good value option for central Palermo and would recommend it.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 626
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 626
0.1 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
SP NH palermo
RM 704
  • Booking.com
  • NH Hotels
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 301
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 301
0.7 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 1,485
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,479
0.2 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    RM 1,619
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,090
0.2 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 371
  • Expedia.com
    RM 471
0.8 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 817
  • Hotel Website
0.4 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Mercure
    RM 782
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 416
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 460
  • Expedia.com
    RM 501
0.3 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 386
  • Algotels
5.6 km from Hotel Mediterraneo
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
111
319
229
98
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
319
229
98
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenient location quiet room minute walk breakfast room sights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

Long story short..the hotel is 3* fine, but we asked for 2 separate beds, got 1 big, changed the room - the room was bigger, but with teeny tiny little windows looking out to pipes and windows of other guests. Fancy a midnight chat? Well then go for it. I don't. Yes closing the window would help if the AC would work properly. During check in we didnt get info about wifi or breakfast if we wouldnt ask we wouldnt know... We paid extra 60€ for better room, it was better but we paid for 3 nights 240€ which is a price for 4* hotel if you know where to look. I travel a lot and I haven't been this dissapointed in a really long time. So definitely won't be coming back or recommending.
Two positive things though - the breakfast was good and if I am not talking about the check in (I work in hospitality for a long time so I might be used to different service) the receptionists were helpful and ready to answer any question :)
So for 1 night stay I guess it's fine, for longer no. If I'll travel to Palermo again, I will rather pay more for a better hotel...

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank 812kristynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2019 via mobile

Except for the location there is nothing positive to say about the hotel. We booked in booking.com and what we saw as advertised was not what we got!. We thought we were booking a modern hotel room with all the necessary amenities expected of a hotel. Instead we were told we booked a studio apartment! There was nothing during booking to inform us that. The room in the apartment was old, unclean and dusty and there is not even the basic kettle which even a hotel room will provide. Shower and shampoo came in a tiny tiny pack!!! The switches and plugs did not work. There was no iron! We pointed these out and was told they will move us to a better room and we have to packed up once again. Why did they not check the room before we checked in! So we moved to the second room. The room was slightly better than the first but certainly not all that clean. Air condition was fine one day and next day did not work and all the staff could say was maintenance is only in the next morning. So we have to bear with the heat! Overall after 2 nights stay it wasn't at all up to expectations.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank ChristineL4066
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2019

Stayed there one night during our short trip to Sicily.
Nicely located in a pretty quiet street in the old town's centre some 300 m from the Teatro Massimo.
Nice air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds.Good and clean bathrooms with hairdryer,
Very tasty breakfast.
The only issue we had - the hotel's parking was full and we had to park at a public parking some 200 m meters from the hotel, which appeared to be much cheaper than the one in the hotel - we paid just 8 Euros for one night (4 p.m - 8 a.m.) - against the hotel parking price of 15 Euro.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank govorun72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2019

This hotel unfairly comes in for quite a bit of meanly-wielded stick on TripAdvisor. It is wonderfully located (near the more famous Wagner and (closed for now) Grand Hotel et des Palmes) in a salubrious neighborhood and provides a convenient base from which to see the many fine sights of this magnificent and facinating city. Important buses 101, 102 (both for the station) and 104 (to Palazzo dei Normani) run from a nearby stop. It is purpose built; the rooms are well-sized; it is clean; noise does not penetrate from room to room; the 24 hour desk is intelligently manned. It is a bargain at c. £50.00 a night. The decor might well benefit from some refreshment. But at c.£50.00 a night, what do you expect? If you want something from the bar, ask at reception. It is opposite a jolly good, new beershop with a middle-class, middle-aged Palermitan clientel. I like to visit Palermo every few years. I would definitely use this fine establishment again.

Date of stay: September 2019
2  Thank Filoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2019

We arrived at the hotel to check in. Rather than getting a room within the hotel, we were informed that we would be placed next door in an adjacent building. No security, no lobby, no reception area, no hotel amenities - this was literally an old, dusty apartment building under construction, with a local grandma yelling out to us as the innkeeper showed us the room (definitely didn't make us feel welcome). The building was NOT occupied by fellow hotel guests - but rather, irritated local tenants. The room was grimy, dark, dusty, and unsuitable. The check-in guy refused to move us. He said we should have known that we'd be staying in an adjacent building because of some fine print that said "monolocale." He kept on pointing this out to us, making it seem like it was our fault (keep in mind that I don't speak Italian, and we were on the Orbitz English-language website). If a hotel wants to place guests into an adjacent apartment building, they need to provide CLEAR warning so that guests can make an informed decision. I might add that the rudeness and hostility demonstrated by the innkeeper upon our arrival was unacceptable. We immediately departed as the room was not fit for our stay - not as promised, not as photographed, not as advertised. (And for those new to traveling to Europe, just be aware that "3 star" is not what it is in USA - which is fine... what is not okay is being told that you're staying in a hotel when they actually attempt to place you in a sketchy, non-secure apartment building)

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler101055711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews