We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
RM 708
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
dragonphoe18
London, United Kingdom
Perfectly good stay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Sept 2020
We ended up staying in Palermo unexpectedly as the port was closed on the Sunday afternoon. We chose the Mecure Centro and would definitely go back. Staff were friendly and helpful, everything was super clean. The location was perfect - close to the port for us to get the ferry (less than 10 minute walk) and also close to everything the centre - 5 to 10 minutes walk to Teatro Massimo with all the bars and restaurants. The room was quiet, bright and spacious with a mini balcony and a lovely bathroom - the bed was huge! If we were back in Palermo, I would stay here for sure - ticks all the boxes and a very reasonable price. Breakfast is a bit more complicated with COVID and no longer self-service but the staff make it work.
Date of stay: September 2020
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 777
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Mercure Palermo Centro
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 3,171
RM 2,148
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Mercure Palermo Centro
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
RM 483
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 434
  • Expedia.com
    RM 558
0.3 km from Mercure Palermo Centro
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
ibis Styles
RM 529
RM 496
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 498
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Mercure Palermo Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 382
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.8 km from Mercure Palermo Centro
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 2,844
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Mercure Palermo Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 739
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Mercure Palermo Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 414
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Mercure Palermo Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,190
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Mercure Palermo Centro
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (2,494)
Filter reviews
2,494 results
Traveller rating
740
1,136
416
124
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
740
1,136
416
124
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel huge balcony cannoli good size walking distance side street central location spacious room breakfast was excellent yogurt by foot teatro massimo old town city cheese barbara sights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 2,494 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2020 via mobile

As most people read about 3 lines of reviews this is going to be a bit of a mission I am afraid. And in truth I imagine how good this hotel is depends on many factors.
Let's start with the overwhelming positive - the bed. It was big & comfy. It did only come with 1 pillow but that is easily corrected.
The rest of the room.... well not so good. It's a bit cramped, not small per se but far from roomy. The desk is over large, takes up more space than is needed. The balcony - a plus in itself - is underutilised, in that there is a balcony but no furniture there. Bit pointless but hey.
The bathroom is fine, big enough overall I guess but the shower is the wrong shape. I will explain.... the shower itself is placed on the back wall, meaning that it is very narrow. I had imagined this was an issue for me, I am tall & broad, but my wife had the same issue. It's not a fatal flaw but it is a pain, if you turn wrong the shower will burn you/freeze you/vanish. Shame as it is a damn good shower.
Moving on..... the staff.... aside from the last day were really good. For the most part they managed to speak English, a relief as we struggle with Italian. They were helpful when required.
On to the breakfast.... basically its poor. Accepting that Covid has impacted this some what there is still a lack of variety & quality. Que to order, come back for toast & hope your eggs aren't cold. Hope that you are severed individually if you come as a couple - we never were but plenty of other guests managed it. Hit drinks are ordered at the table, sometimes & if they remember. And it is all pretty average. As a tip don't get it, walk 10 mins to the theatre Massimo & go to cafe Dami. Cheaper & better.
As I said it is odd but I would stay again, the location is unbeatable - great resturants near by & it is easy to walk to the old town.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jamescS3136NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea Stancato, Owner at Mercure Palermo Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2020

Thank you very much for your comments – I was delighted to read your feedback about the bed in your room and our great location,

I was sorry though to learn of the delay you experienced during the breakfast. Your comments have been reviewed with the Food and Beverage Manager and corrective measures have been implemented to avoid a similar situation occurring in the future.
I would like also to apologise for any discomfort caused by the shower shape and the lack of forniture in the balcony: for your own comfort it is worth bearing in mind that hotel staff are available around the clock to assist you with any problems you may encounter. In this situation it may have been possible to offer you an alternative room to ensure you a more comfortable stay.

I am really glad to read that the staff was really good and you found it easy to communicate with them in English.

We welcome all feedback that we receive from our guests and will endeavour to use such feedback constructively. Feedback such as yours that highlights areas where we could be doing better is particularly useful and we are grateful for your time in sharing your experience with us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Best regards
Andrea Stancato
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

My Husband booked this hotel for us to rest up after our lovely wedding, as it was stressful during these times. I emailed the Mercure ahead to see if they could offer us an upgrade or something nice for when we arrived. The Mercure replied positively. They booked our taxi from the airport and we were looking forward to our stay.

When we arrived, we were offered a room on the 3rd floor. There was no mention of this was the upgrade I was asking for, not even a congratulations.

Our room was a nice size and the bed was comfortable. There was a large balcony with no furniture, and when we first arrived, there was a man on our balcony, we think he was cleaning, and wanted to cut through into our room to leave. The WiFi can be a bit hit and miss, but mostly ok. The air con is noisy but it can be left on all day and turned off a night if needed. The shower temperature seems to be in the wrong place. There is a danger of knocking the lever with your arm, making you scold or freeze before you have realised you have knocked it. The bathroom floor is very slippery when wet. The room was clean, although housekeeping did forget to clean our room on one occasion.

The hotel is in a great location and Palermo has excellent street food. So I would strongly advise to not pay extra for breakfast at this hotel. It is far cheaper to go elsewhere. Due to social distancing, the food is now served to you, and you have to queue up for it. If I wanted scrambled eggs of on toast, I would have to queue for the eggs and for the staff to put the bread in to cook. I would then have to queue again to collect the toast and my eggs would be cold. Hot drinks are supposed to be offered to you once seated but we were sometimes missed. We gave up on breakfast we had paid for on a couple of occasions and went straight for the street food.

Because of the location I would stay here again, but I would do a few things differently. I would not pay for the breakfast, there are plenty of places you can eat at a much cheaper price. I would also bring a travel kettle and milk for the empty fridge in the room. That way I can have a hot drink every morning.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sarah4539
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea Stancato, Owner at Mercure Palermo Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2020

Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Palermo Centro.
I was happy to read your comments about our room and our great location,

We genuinely regret those occasions when the service does not meet expectations and we are constantly monitoring our contractors and administration procedures to ensure that an efficient and reliable service is supplied. All contractors used by Accor are recognised for holding a reputation for superior service within their field.

This is why I would like to apologise for any discomfort caused by the shower and the lack of forniture in the balcony: As with any guest feedback, it is always hoped that a guest may bring any issues they may be experiencing to our attention at the time, as this gives us the opportunity to address them there and then to ensure a guest has a much more enjoyable stay with us. I am unsure if you did afford us this opportunity.

Given such a chance, I believe that the team, which as always been positively commented by our guests, as being friendly and helpful, would have done their utmost to make this happen..


Thank you once again for your feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to assess and continually improve upon the quality of our service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mercure Palermo Centro and better meeting your expectations in the future.

Sincerely
Andrea Stancato
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2020

We really enjoyed our massive corner room with comfy sofa and generous bathroom. The staff at the hotel were really attentive and friendly, both before and during our stay, and they were always a pleasure to deal with.

We were a bit disappointed by breakfast however. We paid extra when we booked but the offering was only coffee and a selection of half a dozen pastries. I understand everyone is approaching the current situation a bit differently but this was the most minimalist offering of any of the 3 Mercure properties we stayed with in Italy. Still a nice way to start the day but I wouldn’t recommend for big eaters

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ET8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

Perfect location. Very helpful and friendly staff, particularly the front desk. Good breakfast selection. Clean and nice room; the only fault we had with the shower was put right within minutes. I would recommend the hotel.

However, our room (209) was let down by the noise from the street. So much so that I thought the window was open! Although it was double glazed, it was much less effective than it should have been. I would still go to this hotel again though.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank malcolme792
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020

It was a nice stay in the hotel, but it was below our expectations as we were waiting more of a 4 star hotel.
the quality of the breakfast was poor.
the room was very nice but there was a lot of noise in the morning

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank jkalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AndreaStancato, Direttore generale at Mercure Palermo Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.t.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Andrea Stancato
Direttore/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews