We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
JaneLeaper
Bideford, United Kingdom

Friendly and convenient.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Oct 2019
We stayed for four nights in October '19. The B&B is small, charmingly furnished and decorated. The breakfast is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful with good English. I was delighted to be able to make tea in a teapot, such a rarity in Italy or France!

The name of the B&B is Vintage B&B, not Boutique B&B. This caused some confusion when we arrived and took a taxi from the ferry to the b&b. The b&b occupies the upper floors of the building and so there are steep stairs to climb.

Our room did not have tea or coffee making facilities, but it did have a fridge. It looked out on an inner courtyard, which meant it was quiet, but did not have a view. There were electrical sockets near the bed, convenient for recharging devices.
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sergio R, Proprietario at Boutique B&B Vintage, responded to this review
Responded 21 Oct 2019
Dear JaneLeaper,
thank you for the time spent in writing us a review. We appreciate your feedback.

We do our best to make the guests feel welcome in our place, that's why we always leave in the breakfast area some tea and buiscuits which are available the whole day.

We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 1,058
RM 970
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
RM 1,169
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,169
1.3 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 495
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis Styles
    RM 495
1.0 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 322
RM 277
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 277
0.3 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 734
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 845
  • Expedia.com
    RM 869
1.0 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    RM 2,082
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,869
1.0 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Free Wifi
Room service
Kemonia Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 644
  • Expedia.com
    RM 685
0.2 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 769
  • Mercure
    RM 805
0.9 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 339
  • Algotels
6.3 km from Boutique B&B Vintage
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
325
37
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
325
37
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town the owner excellent coffee perfect location place to stay vucciria market within walking distance the hotel is perfectly located restaurants and bars visiting palermo beautiful room comfortable bed home away from home long weekend friendly hosts large bathroom palermo airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2019

‘Perfect’ is not a term I have been tempted to use previously for any holiday accommodation, but it pretty much fits the bill for this remarkable and lovely place in the old city of Palermo.

It is the most elegant, friendly, efficient and pleasing establishment – with fresh, fragrant buttery croissants, excellent coffee, and home made preserves (and much more) for breakfast, on top of the rest of its great virtues.

Through an unobtrusive red door, up a narrow, marble staircase to the first-floor reception. On arrival, the most attentive, friendly and helpful welcome you can imagine. Not only domestic information (breakfast times, codes for doors, wi-fi and all that), but recommendations for the best restaurant in town (with a discount for house guests), the best ice cream on offer, as well suggestions for the main attractions for (very) short-term tourists. And the reception area is a picture of charm and aesthetic interest.

My single room on the second floor, was spacious and simple: pure white (even the wardrobe), with a small antique table (the centre section of which lifted up and became a mirror), a round-backed, rattan-seated cane chair, and two lovely old tables beside the bed. On one there was an extravagant bunch of red silk roses and greenery. The tall double windows opened onto a balcony with views along the street and down to the several restaurants below. The windows were heavy, triple-glazed, and opened either as full doors or as panels hinged at the bottom. They absolutely excluded the racket from night-time uproariousness on the street below.

The bathroom was light and airy. The wooden framed mirror over the washbasin was hand-painted with floral patterns; the shower cubicle was tiled in alterating yellow and white; there was a very good volume of hot water. Toilet and bidet completed the plumbing arrangements, while, in the corner, there was a lovely old table with a patterned inlay, on which various items, including and bunch of silk tulips in a vase and very superior dermatologically sensitive shampoo and shower gel, displayed in their little boxes. (One of the owners is a dermatologist, we gathered.)

There were enough electric plugs, all where they needed to be; strong, reliable wi-fi; and all the architectural furniture (door knobs, locks, handles and so on) were in fine, heavy brass. In every part of the establishment, there were interesting objects and eye-catching pictures.

There was a door code for the street entrance, and one for each of the floors, along with individual room keys (and there was a safe in the room); so, security seemed as good as it could possibly be.
The receptionist and the owner-couple were as lovely as it is possible to be (and the chambermaid was cheerful and pleasant too). Our cases were carried up and down, postcards were taken to the mail-box, breakfast was served early when we had to leave for the airport; it was all remarkable.

Any reservations? I didn’t like the pillows which I thought were a little dense and monastic. If I’d been staying for more than two nights, I’ve no doubt they would have been changed if I’d asked. As it was, I didn’t think about it.

The location is quite near the sea and the yachting harbour, but not near a beach, as far as I know. It is in the old city, with all the antiquities and great monuments and museums within walking distance. On a Saturday morning, it was 30 minutes from the airport, but might take an hour at busy times.

Perfect. There is simply nothing more one can ask of a bed and breakfast establishment; posh hotels could learn a thing or two about quality and service from this wonderful place.

Room tip: A street-side room with balcony would seem to be the best option, if you like that kind of thing
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sergio R, Proprietario at Boutique B&B Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Dear BPJH,
we truly have no words to express our gratitude for your amazing review.

You've perfectly depicted Boutique B&B Vintage and all the tiny details we believe make the difference.
It's been a great pleasure to get to know you and your friends and we hope there'll be another chance to cross our paths soon.

You now have a place to call "Home" here in Palermo. We'll look forward to your next trip.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019

Very disappointed with the duplicitous way this hotel allocated me to an inferior room on the first night. I booked (and had written confirmation for) a 'superior room with balcony and city views'. Checked in around 10pm late and just got a code to get into the property and the room (so I couldn't have raised an issue with the room even if I'd wanted to).

The next day when waking I realised the room had neither balcony or city views, just small window out on to a central dark courtyard.

On raising this with the manager, she immediately said "I've already had one argument about this." She said that some superior rooms didn't have balconies or city views, and it was the faulty of my agent for not clarifying this in my booking. She said she'd raised this with them and they hadn't corrected the booking.

When I asked her if she knew this was an issue why she didn't inform me in advance (on the email to tell me how to get into the hotel) she had no answer. I also showed her the confirmation that was pretty unambiguous about the balcony and city views.

At that point she grudgingly agreed to switch me to a superior room with balcony and city view - that also happened to have a renovated bathroom, a desk and adaptors in the plug sockets so you could plug your phone in without unplugging the bedside lamps.

I'm pretty sure this was an attempt to put me, as a late arriver, in an inferior room. My agent has since informed me that they have not received a content update from her and the description remains the same on their site.

And when they escalated the issue with her, she apparently said if I'd raised the issue with her on checking in, she would have moved me (even though she knew there was no-one there to raise the issue with at that time of night). And for this reason she refused any compensation.

All this leads me to believe that the owner will do this again with anyone arriving late. So.. if you book a superior room with a balcony and city view and you receive an email giving you instructions on how to check in once no one is there... beware and do get reassurance that this is in fact a room as booked.

On the place itself, yes it's charming etc, but I'm afraid this has been completely overshadowed by the way the hotel manager has acted in the instance - in putting me in an inferior room and then quite aggressively refusing to accept any responsibility for this (in fact making me feel like it was my fault). How boring and unnecessary when you're just trying to have a nice relaxing holiday!

Room tip: Beware of superior rooms 'with balcony and city views' as some don't have them!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ro66ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sergio R, Proprietario at Boutique B&B Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Dear Ro66ie,

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay.

We always respect our guests’ room preferences (in fact, we strive to assign an upgrade whenever possible) and apologise for any misunderstanding that may have happened between the agency, Expedia and us in terms of the Superior room with balcony whereas the room you were assigned was in fact a Superior room with a city view but no balcony.
The photos that are available on all booking sites correspond to the room categories; we are, however, investigating the accuracy of the descriptions to ensure a misunderstanding like this doesn’t happen again.

The self check-in solution that you pointed out is an option we give to our guests when they arrive late, but we remain reachable by phone or by a ring of the bell as we live upstairs from the B&B.
Once we learned of your expectations, we tried to remedy the situation and did in fact change your room as soon as you requested it.

Again, our apologies for your deep dissatisfaction that we discovered only when you tried to obtain a refund from Expedia where your room was booked and that we didn’t honor.

We do hope that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay in Palermo and will come to visit again.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2019

We stayed here as two couples so I am speaking for all of us when I say how perfect B&B Vintage is. Located in the old town minutes from the Marina & the wonderful narrow streets of Palermo, it is a perfect place to explore from & return to.
Giada & Sergio were lovely hosts welcoming & friendly. Giada kept in contact with us by text & email so any questions were promptly answered & she assured us that if we had any problems she would be there for us & she was. Thank you 😊.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable & clean with fabulous bathrooms. Lovely towels, toiletries & fresh water in the fridge. Air con quiet & efficient, very comfortable beds & tea, coffee & biscuits always available in the dining room.
Sergio’s eye for detail & the quirky touches around the B&B are a delight. Giada was on hand throughout breakfast, which was perfect to set us up for the day, and she helped us plan our visit. On her recommendation we added the Palazzo Conte Frederico to our list & wow you must visit. Sergio was pleased to show us the latest room being completed & the bathroom is sensational. Spoil yourself & stay in it when it’s finished.
Plenty of bars & restaurants to choose from, some right outside the door & although you are in the heart of it noise was never a problem in fact the general atmosphere is calm & relaxed. We all felt very safe in this amazing city.
Suffice to say we have all fallen in love with Palermo & this wonderful B&B.
Grazie mille per averci e ci rivedremo l’anno prossimo. Amore da Nigel & Lesley Paul & Carol x

Room tip: All the rooms we viewed were fabulous
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 144lesleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sergio R, Proprietario at Boutique B&B Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear Nigel & Lesley Paul & Carol,
we have no words to express our gratitude for such a lovely review!

You all have truly embraced the spirit of Boutique B&B Vintage, it is extremely rewarding when our guests pay attention to each detail that we've carefully studied and placed to create a 360° experience.

We do our best to make you feel welcome as you'd come to visit an old friend, giving you all our local tips to make the best of your stay in the city. At the same time we try to provide first quality products and comfort of great hotels.

Your feedback means so much, and shows us that we are going in the right direction.
We look forward to your next visit in Palermo!

All the best from the Vintage Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

This B&B is in a fantastic location to explore the old town and marina. The rooms are spacious, clean and the decor has that extra special attention to detail. Breakfast is wonderful and Giada was always on hand to offer any advise or suggestions for your days activities.
There are restaurants directly outside the front of the property if you do not feel like wandering to far after a long day. There is also free car parking spaces in the square, just a few hundred metres away.
Giada's customer service was outstanding and nothing was ever too much for her.
A great place to base yourself to explore a wonderful city.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gary5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sergio R, Proprietario at Boutique B&B Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Dear Gary5150,

thank you so much for your kind words. It is deeply rewarding when our guests appreciate our efforts to make them feel at home, surrounded by an inspiring yet relaxing space.

As you've noticed, our place is in a great location to explore the city artistic spots but also to try the best of its culinary tradition.

We look forward to your next visit!
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019 via mobile

For those who want to stay in the middle of Palermo this is perfect, clean, quiet and easy to walk round to see everything in Palermo
Sergio and his staff are so friendly and keen to help
Train station and buses are a short walk if you want to visit anywhere outside Palermo
Rooms are a good size too

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sergio R, Proprietario at Boutique B&B Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Dear ALEXABELMAN,

thank you so much for the time spent by leaving us a review. We truly appreciate it.
We're glad you've found our place suitable to your needs and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews