We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Lol.travel
RM 687
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Matthew W
Orpington, United Kingdom

Fine hotel in good location - Do not drive!!!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jun 2023via mobile
Stayed here for a few nights. Hotel is modern and clean and the staff were all very helpful. Breakfast on the rooftop is a nice way to start the day. The location is very central for main streets and some great eateries nearby if you avoid the busy tourist areas. Hotel does have reserved space in a car park nearby but ask for very clear instructions on arrival as we were directed to the street on arrival which is very difficult and plagued with “fake parking attendants”. We even got a ticket before discovering the parking garage. Furthermore driving in Palermo is like driving in New York city if they took away all the rules and traffic lights - in short chaos! Would suggest not driving in Palermo.
Date of stay: June 2023
Room Tip: Avoid driving - lots if good bars and restaurants within blocks of hotel
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review
Responded 3 Jul 2023
Dear Matthew W
thank you so much for sharing your recent stay experience at Hotel Plaza Opéra with the other readers of the Tripadvisor community!
We are delighted that you have enjoyed the comfort and location of the hotel, its amazing rooftop and the helpful attitude of our staff.
We thank you for highlighting always to make reference to our front desk staff for advice on where to park, we have a small internal parking and some external parking spaces we recommed, and will be delighted to share these information upon check-in!
As you mention, hotel is very centrally located so there is no need to use your car in the city, and our staff is happy to share useful indications on how to best reach every site of interest.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo and in the meanwhile would like to share our very kindest regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Plaza Opéra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 744
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 744
0.4 km from Hotel Plaza Opera
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
RM 647
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Hotel Plaza Opera
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 1,078
RM 1,015
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Hotel Plaza Opera
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
RM 433
RM 404
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Hotel Plaza Opera
Free Wifi
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,621
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Hotel Plaza Opera
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 806
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Hotel Plaza Opera
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Mercure
    RM 412
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 402
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Hotel Plaza Opera
Free Wifi
Room service
Kemonia Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 600
  • Expedia.com
    RM 666
1.3 km from Hotel Plaza Opera
Restaurant
Room service
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 400
  • Expedia.com
    RM 411
5.5 km from Hotel Plaza Opera
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Palermo
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
215
258
115
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
215
258
115
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english channels reception staff parking garage hotel is modern central location nearby restaurants pastries breakfast buffet min walk superior room visit palermo side street each morning rooftop terrace city cheese cappuccino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2023

I had a very upmarket modern room on 6th floor, not large but perfectly adequte with super bathroom. Only moan "arranging deckchairs on the Titanic syndrome" could be heard a lot of the time, I guess coming from the bar/restaurant on roof terrace. Maybe avoid that floor. The staff were just fine, polite, helpful and efficient, though charged twice for City Taxes, still waiting for a reimbursemen!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Jacques14x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2023

Dear Jean-Jacques14x,
we appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo and are delighted by this very good review.
We are happy you have enjoyed the comfort of your room and the friendly and professional attitude of our staff. We are sorry for the inconvenience pertaining to the City Tax and can ensure our administration is taking care of all due action! We also would like to ensure that we make sure the activity of our restaurant and bar does not hamper the quiet atmosphere of the hotel, at all floors, so we apologize if at some stage this was not the case!
With my very kindest regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Manager
Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2023

Just back from a stay in the plaza opera hotel this is my second visit this year, The hotel is fantastic went with my teenage sons, The room was spotless the beds were very comfortable the shower in the bathroom was outstanding, the staff is what makes the hotel especially Marco M from reception he was what made our stay extra special he went above and beyond to help us during our stay, He helped us book football game tickets, Nothing was too much trouble he made us feel so welcome he was always happy also Syliva was outstanding they both remembered us from our last stay, the rooftop bar was stunning the drinks are amazing like no other cocktails I've had before. We will definitely be back again very soon.

Room tip: Fantastic location
Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahdB9270EJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2023

We stayed for a vacation of 2 days in Palermo. The hotel is very well situated, with a pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff. You can find plenty of restaurants nearby and access to the city center is a 5 min walk.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2023

Dear Avi2011,
thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your vacation in Palermo. We are delighted your stay experience exceeded your expectations and you have shared this amazing 5 star review! We are happy you have enjoyed the hotel location, friendly atmosphere and excellent service! We will be looking forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of a new stay in Palermo!
With my very kindest regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2022 via mobile

The staff were perfectly nice. The hotel was clean and quiet. It would have been a good stay if not for the fact that there was no blanket duvet or other warm covering so I had to wear a hoody to bed and use towels as a blanket. It was cold.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2022

Dear Patricia M,
thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo and sharing this review.

We are truly sorry to read about the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay - particularly so because our Front Desk staff would have been glad to highlight that inside the bed blanked there is one duvet, and that should that not be enough you could have found an extra one in your wardrobe, or get another one delivered to your room by our staff.

We strongly encourage all guests to report any inconvenience to our staff immediately, because in the very vast majority of cases that leads to complete resolution.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property on the occasion of a later stay in Palermo and in the meanwhile we send you our very kindest regards,

Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2022 via mobile

Stayed at The Plaza Opera during a tour of Sicily. Comfortable clean rooms with hospitality trays and usual amenities. Very centrally located for sightseeing. Breakfast continental in style but perfectly adequate. The only breakfast problem here was trying to get milk for the coffee as the waitress didn't seem to quite understand and she was also very busy.
Would recommend the restaurant for evening meal, very good food and wines and no more expensive than anywhere else.
A point for the Brits, Italians don't take milk in their drinks so there isn't any on the hospitality tray!!!!!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank suehowe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Dear suehowe14
thank you very much for choosing our property for your recent stay and sharing this very good review.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have found our rooms to be clean, comfortable and well furnished. We are also happy to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast, which includes both Italian and international style, with eggs and bacon to be made fresh on order, cheese and cold cuts and a very nice selection of fresh fruit and vegetables.
We are also very happy that you have enjoyed your dinner at the Osservatorio restaurant, which as you highlight has an excellent price-quality ratio and an absolutely stunning location!
Thank you for your advice on milk: as a matter of fact, it is available at breakfast to be added to any drink, but thank you for suggesting to add on the hospitality tray.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our property on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo and in the meanwhile we send you our very kindest regards!
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews