We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem in Palermo”
other travellers have booked this property
Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Balcony
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room and Kitchen
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Hallways
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Palermo, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Joan V
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gem in Palermo”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The apartment is newly renovated and sparkling clean. Well located jiust mintues from Via Roma in a real neigborhood so you get the feel of Palermo. Chiara was a chaming host who waited for us as our luggage was lost and we did not arrive until nearly midnight. She thoughtfully greeted us with some wonderful local pastries. The apartment is spacious as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious
Liked least: No microwave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Dear guests,
your words are so heartwarming. I'd like to thank you for your sincere feedback. It has been a pleasure hosting the three of you.
You have been wonderful guests and you will always be my most welcome guests if you want to come back one day.

Best,
Chiara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta D
Bangor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in heart of Palermo”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

XIRBA is stylish, comfortable and sqeaky-clean 2 bedroom apartment. It is exactly as described in the Air B&B description. The apartment building itself has been beautifully renovated. XIRBA is in the heart of La Kalsa, a vibrant neighborhood in the heart of Palermo's historic center. It is within easy walking-distance of all major sites and abut a 10 minute walk from the Central train and inter-city bus station. Restaurants and cafes are nearby. There is also a Carrefour supermarket within 5 minutes walk. Chiara is incredibly helpful in orienting us to the apartment and the neighborhood. She provided a lot of information about what to see and how to get there. She is always available by phone. Her English is impeccable. Definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
My dear Guests, what a super-nice feedback!
Thanks for your kind words on my place and on the beautiful area around it. That will help future travelers to make their choice.
I look forward to host you at my property again, and once more, thank you for your positive comments.

All the best,
Chiara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well presented and equipped quiet apartment in historic centre”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had 4 nights in Palermo, enjoyed the apartment immensely, 2 good sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, everything modern and bright and good location for visiting Palermo's tourist sites on foot. Felt safe here even late at night, and there is a big Carrefour store nearby for all your needs! Chiara gave us lots of advice about things to see and places to eat. Highly recommended , only one small criticism and that is that only room for two on the lovely sunny balcony. Overall is a fantastic place !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the historic centre of Palermo
Liked least: Balcony was small , only room for two people
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Dear guests,
glad to hear that your experience of Xirba was that good. I really thank you for your nice words.
If you ever come back to Palermo in the next future, it would be a pleasure to host you at my place again and - hopefully - let all of you relax on a larger sunny balcony!

Chiara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol w
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation, coveniently situated”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a most friendly reception on arrival and given lots of information re sightseeing and restaurants. The apartment is extremely well appointed and spacious with all the sights within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review and for choosing my apartment. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again at my place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
15hellyke...
County Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1st Class Accomodation”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

ideal location, excellent standard accomodation, immaculately presented, has everything you could want and more, owner Chiara met us on arrival and answered every possible question, she also had a lovely sweet surprise waiting for us.
I travelled with my husband and another couple, we loved it!!!! Two large bedrooms two bathrooms, Fully equipped kitchen, plus all the extras, very comfortable beds, loads of hot water, everything worked. We could not fault the apartment at all, our balcony overlooked the garden of rightiousness, which has orange trees growing which provided a beautiful scent of orange blossem everytime we opened the balcony doors.
we were in walking distance of all the attractions and still closeenough to come home for lunch. we then walked to some fabulous restaurants as per Chiara guide.
Wonderful place, apartment, food and interesting to spend a few days.... loved it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: graffitti
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Dear Helen,
I would like to thank you for such a fantastic review of your stay at my place! Your candid feedback will only motivate me to do even better.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return in the near future.
All the very best,
Chiara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing