We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
11
22
61
37
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
22
61
37
41
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

If you are interested to a place that you just want to sleep then it is just OK. The rooms are not so good and the cleaning is not the strong point of the establishment. Try to negotiate price without breakfast which definetally is not 3 star nor intercontinental. I paid 85€ and I regret that the breakfast was included. On the positive side it is one of the cheapest in Syracus and very close to the train station.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank petersT1288MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The hotel is about 5 minutes walking distance from the railway station and 20 minutes to reach Piazza Del Duomo. It takes about 30m minutes to walk to the Parco Archeologico Neapolis.

There are busses if you do not wish to walk.

The hotel is modern and there is a lift. The room we had was large wit a large double bed with firm mattress, 2 bed side tables with lamps, a desk, 2 chairs, a wardrobe, fridge and a very small TV (not a problem).

The bathroom is fine with shower, wc, bidet, sink, mirror and hair dryer.

Both room and bathroom are clean.

The various receptionists were friendly and helpful. One speaks good English, another one a little but the third one not a word of English but made the effort to speak slowly in Italian and to understand my abysmal Italian.

On the whole the hotel is quiet but Saturday night there is a discothèque across the road but it’s not a problem with the shutters and window closed.

Breakfast is on the 4th floor where you enjoy good views.

Food is presented as a buffet where there is a nice choice of fruit, cakes, cheese, eggs, cereals …etc…

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Noel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Whilst this hotel might have a three star rating it definitely is not,

We came to this hotel from the Best Western hotel in Catania, a three star hotel that truly did fit the International rating of three stars.

The room in hotel Centrale was BASIC and very small. The red bed spread had a cigarette burn in it.

The bath towels stank of bleach and appeared to have been washed in a concentrated bleach solution which whilst repulsive from a smell point of view they could be a major problem for any one with a dermatological condition.

The only WiFi was in the lobby where when I went to sit to use the internet.

Here I had to endure the receptionists sitting in the office adjacent to the reception chain smoke for the whole time I was working on the computer in the lobby. This created a public health risk to myself and anyone else who might have been in the area at the time.

Effectively I was subjected to passively inhaling her cigarette smoke.

From my perspective this made the whole area wreak of offensive cigarette smoke.

I would have thought that such behaviour would have been banned in hotels Italy.

Obviously and sadly the female receptionist has a very serious nicotine addiction.

As a medical researcher working in the medical faculty of a prestigous university in Australia this is a major public health issue and the hotel should take immediate action to ban this staff's behaviour in this public area.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We wanted somewhere close to the train station, and this certainly filled that requirement. The reception area was up to standard, and the breakfast room has some superb views over the bay. The room was what you would expect from a 3-star. The main problem I had was the paper-thin walls, so that the comings-and-goings of surrounding rooms was plain to hear. Not recommended for an extended stay (i.e. more than one night)

Room tip: Ask for room away from the street
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaltaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

Don't be deceived by the modern and clean reception area the rooms are not very clean and the shower doors were incredibly difficult to close because they were so old.

To add to our experience on our arrival there were no reception staff to let us into our room and no apology when they eventually showed up. Not what you want after long and hot trip to the hotel.

The street outside the hotel is very noisy late at night and my partner was bitten by insects all over during the night.

The breakfast was appalling with the milk being left in the sunlight to warm up and all of the food dry and stale.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews