We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
66
73
57
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
73
57
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool area is perfecthotel restaurantmount etnathe busreasonable ratesroom with sea viewwould stay here againspectacular viewsan upgradeevery morningvery nice hotelcastelmolahill
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Just back from a lovely holiday in Hotel Sole Castello, Taormina. I couldn't fault it in any way. The staff were extremely friendly and professional, going out of their way to make our stay perfect. The hotel has the best views of Taormina and Mount Etna and although it's a long walk down, it's a beautiful walk with stunning views. There is an option of a bus but I preferred the walk. The hotel has an old fashioned glamour and it was kept immaculately clean. Swimming pool and terrace just perfect. Will be back!

Room Tip: Room with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

One of the best views from a hotel I have ever seen. The pool area is perfect With a view over the city and Mount Etna. The rooms were ok but the beds were not the most comfortable. Only wifi at the pool area and front desk. Long but charming walk to taormina city (but you can take the local bus). Overall a Great place to visit and the hotel is good for those that dont mind the walk.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Sole Castello, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Dear Mr Jon S,
we are happy that you enjoyed staying in our hotel. Thank you for the nice review, for us it is very important the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards
Marcella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Awesome views!! A little bit far away from town but very quiet and nice place. We used to walk down stairs to town and go up by bus. Bus ticket is cheap, about 2 euro. The little bus is cheaper, 1 euro. You have to go up to Castelmola village, I loved it so much that I want to move there!!!

Our holiday didn't start well because when we arrived to the hotel, they didn't have our reservation so we had to wait our room. It would have been nice if waiting would be taken notice in some way, but no......

Hotel has very nice and clean pool. Staff is great. Breakfast is simply but good. It was lovely to eat in terrace. Hotel rooms are clean but old.. Do not expect luxury.

Room Tip: Room with balcony is must! Awesome views!
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Sole Castello, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Dear Nadja J,
Thank you for your good review.
We are sorry the wait when you arrived, but we are very happy that you had a nice holiday.
Best regards.
Marcella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

The pluses were the pool and the views. It was hot and the pool was wonderful and we could have sat here all night enjoying the view - BUT THEY SHUT THE POOL FOR USE AT 6:30 PM! Che?? The room was stifling hot - the air-con wasn't working they said - and they couldn't have cared less. Breakfast was good. The room would have been OK but for the air-con although I didn't think it even rated 3-stars for cleanliness.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PamAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We stayed here for a week in May 2012 it was ok to begin with.
The breakfast is just sad forget eggs etc.. They will tell you and I quote " at the moment the kitchen is closed" yes the view is beautiful but so many others hotel have beautiful views in Taormina.
If you choose to walk down to corso umberto you will almost have to climb the way back.
And imagine in the heat all those steps and in a steep hill that goes up up up.
Well if you are not to picky with the breakfast and can do with just sad bread and coffe maybe you want to stay here.
Lots of walking, sad breakfast, ok room and rude staff in the reception then Sole Castello is the place for you.
The staff in the reception were ok the first days but the last two days just rude.
Will never come here again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AileenandStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews