We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$328
US$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$339
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Vicoletto(Taormina)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Andromaco Palace Hotel(Taormina)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B Villa Valentina Taormina(Taormina)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$554
US$519
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$770/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
61
71
55
38
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
71
55
38
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool area is perfecthotel restaurantmount etnathe busreasonable ratesroom with sea viewwould stay here againspectacular viewsan upgradeevery morningvery nice hotelcastelmolahill
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice has air conditioner in the room. View just amazing. Staff helpfull and very friendly. Breakfast 7.50 per person, plenty of choice. Coffee machine makes very tasty coffee. Thank You, we loved our stay!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank kutosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The views are amazing!!!
The hotel itself is very outdated. It's located about 5-10 mins away from downtown Taormina up the hill. And it's really high!!! I have never seen anything like this! It feels like you are looking from the airplane, so high!! We just stayed there 1 night. Service is good, but the night person only spoke Italian, so it was a little hard to communicate as we didn't know how to turn on the air conditioner.

Big minus - the temperature was close to 40 C during the day, thankfully we had an early flight and left the hotel, but every day the hotel turns off the air conditioner during the day. So if you are staying in during hot summer days, you'll be very very hot!!

Breakfast was horrible. Coffee machine broke and the only girl who worked during breakfast could not do anything. She was kind of rude too. All they had was serial, white bread, cheese and deli meat. So if you are gluten intolerant and vegan - you can only have coffee.

Taxi ride to Taormina is 15 euros. But coming back was an issue. Apparently there are only 2 taxi spots in Taormina, and for some reason, at one location there were no taxis, the phone numbers listed for taxis didn't pick up the phone, so we waited for 40 mins and finally just got locals to give us a ride up the mountain.

I wouldn't stay at Sole Castello again. It's very outdated, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Yana0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Pros:
This hotel has quite a view, rooms are spacious,clean and the staff is educated and helpful, but there's a big but or however at the end of these positive comments.

Overall Hotel review:
Before heading to our room we talked with a guy who seems like he's the senior manager there. He told us that while we didn't book a room with a view, he will give us a room with a view at the back.
We thanked him as it sounded like something positive at the time, little did we know the rooms at the back turn into hell once the sun rises especially in summer.

The air conditioner is switched off most of the time, and when they decide to switch it on it's rather ineffective. We had trouble sleeping and were "forced" out of our room early everyday due to the extreme temperatures in the room.

The breakfast is quite average, and most of the tray units are broken which is a pity as the breakfast area has quite a view, especially the pool area.

Dinner is very poor, quite a limited selection and items are not replaced once finished. So make sure you have dinner early at a restaurant so you won't be forced to dine there because of transport issues.

Location:
This hotel is very far from the centre of taormina and buses are not that frequent as one might think.
One can opt to go down the famous 700 stairs, which might be doable for some, however if you do, do plan to get a bus back as the way back up is excruciatingly painful.

Conclusion:
Location: it is what it is, and they can't really do anything about it.
Breakfast and Dinner: It's very disappointing considering it's in Sicily which is known for their tasty Mediterranean dishes.
AC issue: You can't really expect guests to relax and enjoy their stay if the temperature in their room is unbearable.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rule3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

beatiful view and kind staff at reception.
but breakfast was terrible. many broken cocked eggs, empty bread badket, no yogurt and cheese. when asking personal about these items their response on very restless way. to go to down town it was not esy. it needs to go all most 700 steps( a prigilm through old church) .steps

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sima V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel has superb view on Etna and whole Taormina. As we were there just one day after G7 summit, the only guests were carabinieri. Afterwards there were only few people and we practically had our private swimming pool. The general menager was very nice, super helpful, answered all our questions and gave us free breakfast and the room with sea view! The rooms were clean. The only minus was lack of hotel restaurant (only breakfast, no dinner or lunch), but we were there before the proper season starts (which is on 1st June) and the manager told us they had to fire the cook and find a new one. When going to Taormina I will definitely book this hotel for second time!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dominika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Direttore at Sole Castello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Miss Dominika,
On behalf of my staff i will thank you for your kind review, The general manager is an expression of his staff, wondefull staff means good manager, for youe next holiday in Sole Castello Hotel you will also find the new kitchen and our new buffet in the pool. thank you again.
sincerely
G.Crimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews