We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Marsili(Cortona)
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$260
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Relais Villa Baldelli(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolce Maria(Cortona)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cortona Suite(Cortona)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B Gabri(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Chilenne B&B(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$128
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Relais La Corte dei Papi(La Dogana)(Great Value!)
US$626
US$460
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
5
15
20
19
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
15
20
19
27
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This little convent is perfectly situated just outside the city's walls and down a couple blocks below the main square. I wanted to save a few Euros -- and did -- as my wife and I paid a mere 60 Euros for one night -- as inexpensive as a room can be in Italy. It was clean and safe but also cavernous and Spartan, giving it an institutional feel, which I knew in advance but really didn't like (you even get a skeleton key). The bathroom was larger than rooms at some hotels. The location is relatively easy to find and free parking makes the experience of arriving there so much better. The view of the plains below -- essentially the Tuscan/Umbria border -- from the grounds (but not our room) is fabulous and one of the trademarks of Cortona. The staff is nice, but English is limited. Although we skipped breakfast, the smell of freshly baked bread fills the halls in the morning. I expected to be pleased with the bargain but have to admit that the memory of the room leaves me a little cold. In retrospect, I wish I would have sprung for a nicer room -- perhaps with a view -- that would have underscored a very nice one-day visit to Cortona. Still, for the budget traveler, this remains a difficult deal to beat.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CheyeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We drove for about 10 minutes before we could find this convent hotel -- go further down the hill from the town and there it was. But, if you want a "cool" experience (both literally and figuratively) stay here. Our room was cold but the extra wool blankets in the armoire were there to help. It was easy to see how the nuns once roamed this property. The bells in the corridors were just waiting to be rung for morning vespers. The communal breakfast tables were also cool. The best part was the large outdoor terrace overlooking the entire valley. We wrote postcards and sipped some wine (our own) while enjoying breathtaking scenery. The front office staff were a bit terse but efficient. The WiFi didn't work well at all, despite paying a price for it. One of the most quiet hotels -- beds also comfy. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MASL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Had to run away.
Totally non caring staff. the place is a hostel.it should be clear on their website.
too bad, the view is stunning and Cortona is a lovely place to stay.

Be back to Cortona ..not to Casa Betania of course.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lory g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent a total of five nights over seven at Casa Betania, (there were six of us in three rooms). We all loved this hotel, the rooms were a little unusual which we all found adorable. They were spotlessly clean which was first and foremost in our minds. The staff went beyond the call of duty for us, helping to organise transport to and from the train station. The huge terrace with breathtaking views of Cortona make this a must stay location for anyone interested in painting or photography. We stayed here during a heatwave which made sleeping a little difficult for our Celtic genetics but a drop in temperature (it was +35C everyday) would have sorted that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaDeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Casa Betania is a great value in an expensive tourist spot. The view from the terrace is wonderful, and the location is close to the center of the city. That said, we endured several *very* hot nights, and a fan would have been HUGELY appreciated. There's no air circulation and its pretty impossible to sleep when its 95+ degrees. We left our windows open and found ourselves gnawed relentlessly by bugs and have the welts to prove it. So its a toss up; do you pay more for A/C and buglessness or go cheap and get a good view but barely any sleep?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gks9022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews