We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word! Spectacular!”
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My husband and I stayed at Villa di Piazzano's sister hotel in Rome, Barocco Hotel, in 2011 and again in September 2017. When arranging for our stay in Rome, we read about Villa di Piazzano on Barocco Hotel's website and decided it was the place for us to visit while in Tuscany and we are so grateful that we did. It is just beautiful, from the villa to the grounds and the surrounding area. The owners and staff cannot do enough for you and make you feel right at home! The breakfast is wonderful as well as the restaurant for dinner. We will definitely return and spend more time at this beautiful villa as there is so much to do and see nearby. The village of Cortona was also beautiful and we were so happy that the villa arranged and offered a tour to their guests! Thank you for making our trip to Tuscano so memorable!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Restored hunting lodge from the 1400s. Medici crest in the decor. Interesting story about the restoration. Interesting garden,pool in idyllic countryside close to hill town Cortona. Generous breakfast comes with the room. Attentive staff.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We spent the first part of our holiday in Tuscany/Umbria to the south of Lake Trasimeno and then moved on to the north of the lake to stay just outside Cortona at this really lovely hotel, right on the border between Tuscany and Umbria.

It is a very old Tuscan villa which, over recent years, has been painstakingly and lovingly restored, modernised and adapted, and turned into a beautiful hotel. It is a family business, and although the family members no longer permanently live on site, they are around most days to keep an eye on things, and to share their pleasure in their creation with friends and repeat guests.

We chose this hotel partly for the opportunity to take walks in the countryside from the door, and partly because of its beautiful location in a sheltered valley, surrounded by fields and trees. It is a very peaceful place as the hotel is reached by a very minor road, off the main road, and by made-up tracks through a long avenue of trees.

The villa has rooms and suites in the main building, but there are additional rooms and suites in the surrounding outbuildings, originally store rooms, stables, barns etc., which have been converted into en-suite bedrooms. We had elected for a Junior Garden Suite, and we were very pleased with our ground floor room which had a small, very sheltered garden, with a lawn and a terraced sitting area with chairs and a table.

We walked into our suite to find a lovely vase of flowers on a side table (the flowers lasted the duration of our six-night stay), a hamper of local fruits and chocolates, sparkling water, and a welcome note from the owners.

The room itself was very generously-sized, with comfortable chairs and a table, as well as a good-sized wardrobe: the furniture was very stylish and of excellent quality. In addition to the mini bar and fridge there was ample provision of bottles of local wine (at an extra charge), glasses, cups and saucers - and a Nespresso machine with plenty of coffee pods. We had no problem obtaining some hot milk, as required, for the coffee.

The en-suite facilities were very good, spacious and immaculate.

Air-conditioning was very efficient, and wifi was good. A further detail I particularly noted was that at least one of the electric wall sockets gave the opportunity to use one's own electric plugs - in our case the square pin plugs used in the UK - in addition to adaptors. Very thoughtful.

The first evening of our stay we attended a wine tasting in the cellar of the hotel. We had a most enjoyable session (chargeable) benefitting from the experience and knowledge of the visiting sommelier, giving us tastes of Brunello di Montalcino, Chianti, and Montepulciano; wines local to the region.

The meals at the Villa were delicious. Most of the dishes were created with locally sourced produce, and there was plenty in the way of locally grown vegetables and fruit, home baked breads, as well as salads, meats and cheeses. Breakfasts were a feast - with cakes and pastries as well as selections of meats and cheeses, fresh fruits, juices, and yoghurts.

The standard of service was excellent. The staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. They were quick to get to know us, and where we liked to sit, and they looked after us very well.

Although in a valley, which was very peaceful and sheltered, one side of the Villa had a very open aspect, downhilll and towards the west, which gave us fabulous sunsets, and views across to Cortona, just a few miles away.

The Villa Piazzano is only a few minutes by car to Cortona; it is not too far to drive east to Gubbio, and further north to Michelangelo's birthplace; to the west there is Florence and Siena, so it is perfectly located for a peaceful rural holiday combined with sight-seeing of some of the greatest Tuscan and Umbrian towns and cultural treasures.

It was one of the very nicest places we have stayed in in Italy - over many years - and we look forward to returning for a second visit.

Room Tip: Our Junior Garden Suite was Fiore d'Angelo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This lovely Inn outside of Cortona was our favorite during our recent trip to Italy. My husband and I were treated so warmly. The room was lovely and the entire staff was terrific. I had been in touch with the Inn before our arrival, and they were always so helpful. Lorella was terrific. She escorted us to our beautiful room where we found a welcome basket filled with fresh fruit and special treats. After a long drive the evening we arrived, the staff at the Inn really made us feel at home. The property was also beautiful and well maintained. Their restaurant was closed the evening we arrived, but the kitchen provided us with a beautiful assortment of cheeses and meats. Stefano was our waiter that first evening and he was terrific, but all of the wait staff was wonderful during our stay. We were there only for three days, but if we return to Tuscany again, this is the place for us. I am recommending this place to all our friends and family. Very special place. We loved it!

Room Tip: Lovely room. Quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We had a great experience. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The amenities were luxurious. We were recommended to the Villa by the DelCastillo family. We will certainly go back again. Perhaps next time we will stay during the summer in order to enjoy the pool.
Thank you everyone.
The Dennis Famiky.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jicker2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
5.3 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
833 reviews
1.7 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
668 reviews
4 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
94 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
416 reviews
8 km away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#9 of 24 in Cortona
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: RM994 - RM1,850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing