We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite when in Tuscany”
Review of Casa Ambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ambra
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We visited Italy for our third time this fall and could not wait to stay here again. We were excited to have my husband's sister and brother-in-law with us on this trip. We stayed in the Via Benedetti apartment. It was more than enough room for the 4 of us and we loved having access to a full kitchen and washing machine. All the spaces in Casa Ambra are clean, comfortable and cheerful. Everything you could need is within walking distance. We must admit having access to parking (for a small daily fee) was a real treat since since we did several day trips from Cortona during our stay. Ambra and Sara have become our dear friends and we adore their whole family. They are gracious, welcoming and truly special people with big hearts. We never feel like strangers in this wonderful city of Cortona and we thank both Ambra and Sara for making it feel like a second home. We intend to return soon!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TerrieF98199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016

I stayed in the apartment Piazza Passerini for nearly two months while teaching in Cortona - the apartment could not be more perfect. The apt would easily accommodate three (I was alone but had visitors during my time and can attest that both beds are comfortable). The apartment has a well appointed kitchen for cooking in, a bathroom and laundry room, an ample sized dining room / living room, and two beautiful bedrooms. The wifi is good - always enough to get on FB and check emails, I could easily stream daily news programs, streaming tv/movies was at times slow but doable, there is also a tv in the living area. View of the center of town and the valley beyond is fantastic. The "secret" little potted garden at the top of the entrance is lovely. The location is ideal - shopping, restaurants, grocery store - all "right around the corner". Beautiful natural light in the bedrooms - lighting and lamps throughout... I have been here in the heat of summer and while there is no AC the breeze coming in through the windows keeps the apartment cool.

Sara, Ambra's daughter, is incredibly helpful and kind, she speaks nearly flawless English, quick to make reservations at local restaurants, helpful with information about the area, all around perfect host. Ambra and the rest of her family are equally joyful - always with a smile and always welcoming.

I cannot say enough - it is a perfect place to stay in Cortona for a long or short stay!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemassoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Coordinated renting apartment for our daughter. Couldn't be more helpful! Thank you Ambra. Lovely people. Worked with us to accommodate small pet and negotiated adjustable rate for longer stay. What more can I say? Makes travel to Italy comfortable for all.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank MassoniArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We were visiting Cortona for a wedding, and stayed for a week at Casa Ambra. Sara helped us plan our stay and was an excellent resource while we were in Cortona. She speaks English very well, which was a help to us, as we (unfortunately) don't speak Italian. Our room was recently renovated, with a modern bathroom, in an older style building. It was clean and comfortable, with quality antique-style furniture and those classic Italian shutters on the windows to let in the fresh air and sun. Breakfast was prepared by Ambra, who delighted us with homemade cakes and pastries, along with a spread of other Italian staples.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Piazza Passerini apartment for a week in April and thoroughly enjoyed Cortona and the accommodation. We were very pleased with the advice and assistance from Ambra and Sara both prior to our trip and during our stay. We had the privacy of our own apartment with the convenience of emailing them or popping across to their beautiful B and B to book taxis and restaurants. The apartment was very comfortable and a good size for a couple. The bedroom was spacious and had lovely afternoon light from windows on two sides. The kitchen was well equipped and it was all very clean. The location is excellent with all conveniences a very short walk away including many great restaurants. We will long remember our stay in this beautiful hill town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0 km away
La Corte di Ambra B&B
La Corte di Ambra B&B
#4 of 43 in Cortona
92 reviews
4 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
669 reviews
5.8 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
94 reviews
12.6 km away
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
#1 of 2 in Mercatale
18 reviews
1.8 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ambra

Address: Via Benedetti 14, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Price Range: RM314 - RM1,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ambra is located in the heart of the historical center, ideal location to experience the reality of Cortona living the peaceful lifestyle of the small Etruscan town. The structure, recently fully renovated maintaining the classic style of Tuscan homes with rafters and tile flooring, is composed by three apartments, of different typologies ,finely furnished and complete with all amenities to ensure guests a pleasant stay. You will be enveloped by a picturesque atmosphere and friendliness. Each apartment has been given the name of the area in which it overlooks. Croce del Travaglio (2 pax): is ideal for short stays and for couples who want privacy. It consists of kitchen, bedroom and bathroom with shower. Piazza Passerini (3+1 pax): more suitable for long stays with family or for couples who do not want to give up a romantic atmosphere in front of a warm fireplace while enjoying a good Tuscan wine. It consists of kitchen, living room with view on the homonymous square, double bedroom overlooking the Piazza della Repubblica, single room and bathroom. Apartment with panoramic view. Via Benedetti (5 pax): is structured on two levels. The first level consists of a spacious living room, adjacent to the kitchen; the second level consists of 2 double bedrooms, one large and can take advantage of another single bed and a half, and bathroom. Meets all the requirements and is equipped with every comfort. A beautiful charming apartment with panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing