We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Villa Baldelli(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Marsili(Cortona)
US$145
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casale L'Antico Carro(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Loggio(Cignano)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Gabri(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolce Maria(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Relais La Corte dei Papi(La Dogana)(Great Value!)
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
144
152
93
36
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
152
93
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall balconythe breakfast areafree public parkingremember his nameview locationpedestrian areawonderful viewgladly stay here againdefinitely return to this hotelbreakfast stafffour starbest location in townone night stayvisiting cortonaexpensive hotelgreat towntrain station
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Having married at Cortona twenty-one years ago, this short, two day visit was a trip down memory lane. As we looked for somewhere to stay overnight it seemed that the Hotel San Luca chose us rather than us choosing it. It was ideal as a centre for our return, set as it is at the end (or beginning) of the commercial part of this impressive and beautiful old hill town. Check-in was faultless and our room down (yes down) on the fourth floor, although compact, was comfortable and with a stunning view from the shuttered windows. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff and the night spent at this lovely hotel was followed by a wholesome buffet breakfast set out in the dining room which too had amazing views across the hinterland. As we had travelled to Cortona from Gubbio by public transport we were anxious to return to the nearby railway station on time and in comfort and this was so efoortlessly organised by the hotel and we left in a local taxi, regretting that we could not spend more time in 'our' town.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alanroberts619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Greeted on arrival by friendly staff, and throughout our stay the staff could not have been more helpful and courteous.

This hotel overlooks the valley below towards Camucia, and is located at the start of a walking street into the village where vehicles are limited.

Wifi was excellent, the continental breakfast (included in room price) should not receive any complaints, more than enough to fill your stomach, tables promptly cleaned and ready for next guests by breakfast staff.

The restaurant is run independently, we did not have lunch or dinner there so cannot comment.

Our room was clean, well presented and serviced each day.

24hour reception, key safe in our room.

Well done to all.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Hotel San Luca was a great pick in terms of its location just a few minutes walk from Piazza della Repubblica. Breakfast with panoramic views was another good thing. The hotel is quite dated, but well-kept. Our guest room was nothing special, but comfortable enough for one night stay. Free public parking is available one street down the hill; you can use escalators to go up and down.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RHxpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

The view from our deluxe room was spectacular. The room was nice and air conditioned but it was not good air conditioning. The breakfast was nice and would be 100% better if we were given glasses instead of plastic cups.

We had a drink at the hotel before going out for dinner and the waiter was rude when we said we weren't ordering dinner.

Great location and the parking was free and not too difficult considering the part of town it's in.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank SarahfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Myself and my partner stayed at The Hotel San Luca at the beginning of August and were not disappointed. The area itself is of an untouched and rustic Italian village and really is very, very beautiful.

The hotel is situated right on the piazza. The second you arrive outside the hotel you will be greeted by what I can honestly call ' the most spectacular and breath-taking view of Cortona'.

The reception staff were very nice. Our room was lovely and clean. We were very lucky to have been blessed with a room that had yet another spectacular view of Cortona. We were very much delighted. The air conditioning is great. It saved us massively as we stayed during the 'Lucifer Heatwave'.

Facilities all very contemporary with aspects of historical art hanging on the walls.

The elevators were very, very small. We found them quite old fashioned and almost claustrophobic. So if you don't like small spaces, avoid them or ask to be roomed on a lower floor. They were very rickety and we didn't feel like they were the safest! We had no problems with them though.

Unfortunately the only bad thing I would have to say about the hotel is the breakfast provided. The pastries and juices feel very much supermarket bought. There are so many glorious restaurants and cafes owned by local owners though, that I would recommend not having breakfast at the hotel and exploring the village and trying the various cappuccinos, and 'caffe;. The pastries are a whole lot better in other cafes no more than 2-5 min walks from the hotel.

Overall we had a lovely stay at this hotel and would definitely stay here again. It's affordable, clean and the staff are lovely. But the view is by far the selling point.

Room Tip: Don't have breakfast here, go and explore and eat at the cafes in the area. Local and authentic!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordanCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews