We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
30
21
10
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
21
10
7
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Had five days relaxing here and self catered throughout. Our suite was well enough appointed to allow us to cook what we planned - maybe could have done with some more crockery and glassware though. We had super private terrace at rear just yards from shared swimming pool. Gardens were well kept and a pleasure to wander in. Reception was efficient and friendly and catered for all our needs. But opening hours were a bit too variable. It would have been simple to ask visitors when they intended to arrive and have someone there to welcome them rather than be greeted after a (long) journey with a mobile number to ring. The external signage and the guest handbook could do with a rewrite to make them more welcoming and informative but that is a detail. There is a warm welcome from Adriana who speaks excellent English and for whom nothing is a problem. We will be back for more soon

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BobbyGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We selected Residence Il Casale for its location and great price. We were not disappointed. This was the ideal location to explore nearby Cortona or any of the several wonderful hilltop towns in Tuscany and Umbria.

Our host Vittorio was personable and very helpful. Our room consisted of a living area with couches and dining table, a kitchenette with stove, small refrigerator and sink, and a master bedroom downstairs, and extra bedroom upstairs with twin beds. This converted farm residence has about a half dozen units, each well furnished.

The property is beautifully landscaped and is very quiet. The exception would be the gentle and melodic ringing of a nearby church bell. The swimming pool was unheated and a bit to chilly for us, except for a quick and refreshing dip. A laundry room is available, and we were able to do all our laundry for a low price. Hanging racks are available to dry your clothes outside your room. WI-Fi internet is available, but it was not very reliable.

The sister property, Villa Baldelli, is just a few hundred yards walk and provides an elegant option for dinner.

Overall, we had a relaxing and very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The units nearer the main building have slightly better internet reception.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a charming and lovely property. Our apartment was lovely and tastefully furnished. It was spotlessly clean.

The gardens are lovely. I simply cant understand why another reviewer complained about the grass.. its a hot country and the gardens are maintained in a rustic style. I especially admired the owners tomato and courgette patch!

The pool is wonderful and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

The location close to beautiful Cortona is good. We used the train station locally (10 mins drive) to go to Florence but you can also go to Rome. The staff provided a timetable.

There is a good local supermarket 5 mins drive away.

Overall very good and highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Il Casale is a a collection of villas and apartments spread around some lovely gardens. Lots of shade, good sized pool but few other facilities. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and is great for relaxing. We took a toddler and parents should be aware that the 2 bed villas have open, wooden stair cases which our daughter took a tumble on. Wifi is patchy, laundry costs extra as does borrowing things like a hairdryer (not included). Also no beach towels provided. Reception is closed is closed frequently also. I think it's a great place to stay if you are planning to take a lot of day trips, but a bit spartan as a main holiday location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerCortona, Direttore at Residence Il Casale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We are quite disappointed in reading this review, since our Residence is confused with an hotel yet again. Il Casale is not an hotel and it hasn't the same features of an hotel. Il Casale is a countryside self-catering apartment complex. Mostly all of our competitors (that doesn't mean hotels, of course) doesn't even offer a Reception, whereas our office is open 7-8 hrs a day. Then, not all of the apartments are 2-floor: unfortunately when the guest made the booking, this was the last family apartment available... you can ask many other guests that went to Il Casale during this summer: everytime we can move families with little children to a one-floor apartment, we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed with my two kids, 14 and 10, for 6 days in July 2013. My guess is that il casale has fallen on hard times: there is a space that used to be a bar/café, but is now sort of a storage place; the flowers in the planters are in bloom and watered, but the grass on the rest of the grounds is dead and weedy. The pool is very nice and kept up well. Our 'apartment' was clean and charming, but there was absolutely NOTHING in the way of supplies: not even salt and pepper. Besides the dishes, utensils, and pots/pans, the only thing supplied was some coffee filters. They charged 5 euro to use the washing machine and I had to keep running back there to try to get my wash in before someone else did. They provide towels, but unless you stay for a week you have to pay 2 euro each for fresh ones. In order to get the 'free' wifi, we had to stand outside close to the reception area. The people who worked in reception were nice and helpful, but it wasn't open all the time. All in all, it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauri_jst12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerCortona, Manager at Residence Il Casale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,
concerning your review, I feel disappointed from what you wrote: maybe you were not enough aware of what a Residence is.
First of all, you can easily read more recent reviews. We are not used to ask our guests for good reviews, even if they are happy with their stay here. That's why all the review you can find on our page are sincere and spontaneous; then you must know that most of our guests come from Northern Europe, where Tripadvisor is not so widespread, as a matter of fact.
When you say that our place has fallen on hard times, you are wrong. The "bar" sign you saw belongs to the very first year of opening of our Residence, but that room has never been used as a bar, since our apartments have their own kitchen and it would have been unnecessary.
As per your opinion upon our garden, I confirm that our care for the gardening is really high, having a full-time gardener to take care of it.
At the entrance of the laundry room you find a sign with the rate for any service (cleaning powder included), and I honestly cannot understand why you did have to run, since usually we give just one key at a time... maybe you met the maids, since they have their own washing machine there, but they were for sure not interested in your clothes!
In every apartment and at the Reception you can read the infos about our Residence, which clearly remember that we usually change for free all of the linens and towels only at the end of a one-week stay. For shorter period, we ask for a little extra.
Our property is a Residence, that means that we would be able to avoid any receptioning service: we offer a 7-hours service daily for meeting our of all guests needs. Maybe you were looking for an Hotel, everybody knows that a Residence is different from this point of view. I can say the same things for what you wrote about the supplies! We've got many supermarkets round the Residence in which you can buy the things you need, but it's normal that we offer just pans, cutlery, dishes and all you need for cooking... not pasta or other things!
IMHO, you made a wrong choice in choosing a Residence... maybe an Hotel would have suited your needs.
Kind regards,

Vittorio Accioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews