We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Sole del Sodo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sabrina(Cortona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Italia(Cortona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Marsili(Cortona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
125
35
10
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
35
10
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastb bsmall kitchenettethe ownercold cutstrain stationglass of winebase to explorepastriesolive grovescommon areashill townclaudiacheeseflorencetripsapartment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We "loved" this place!!! When the rental car fell through, Claudia went out of her way to arrange for a car to be delivered to Il Sole del Sodo for us. Wonderful breakfast buffet, and the dinner we had there was the BEST we had in Italy. Kudos to Claudia!!!! The pool area was a great place to relax with a glass of wine after a long day of touring - very quiet and relaxing. If we travel to Italy again, we will definitely stay here!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dgoodermote57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pampolo, Proprietario at Il Sole del Sodo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello and thank you so much for staying at il sole del sodo and spend so many nice words about us !
I hope to see you another time here
all the best to you two
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

This beautiful B&B is on the out skirts of the lovely hill town of Cortona. You enter through decorative iron gates leading into a beautiful paved court yard with a fantastic mix of seating arrangements, flowers and plants. Claudia, the owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. Our young family were staying in one of the small kind of outbuilding apartments to this stunning old property. The way to our Appartement was like walking down a small private cobbled road with a canopy of plants and flowers. Which lead to 3 apartments and the lovely pool and decked area over looking the olive groves and the view of the countryside beyond. Our Appartement was simply and tastefully decorated retaining the character of the property. Due to wet weather in the morning, we had breakfast in lovely characterful breakfast room. Which served a lovely Traditional Tuscan breakfast on fab crockery.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank HolidayRoadShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pampolo, Proprietario at Il Sole del Sodo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello And thank you for your nice comment about il sole del sodo
I really apprecited when people enjoied their time here and undestand the energy of my place .
Hope to meet you in the near future
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Nothing short of amazing. This review is a little over due but here it goes......

The food was awesome, it was a great having some home cooking while we were on our vacation. I also liked interacting with others who were staying at the bed and breakfast.

The scenery was beautiful and we loved cooling off by the pool for a little bit. So many photo opportunities around the grounds and next to the sunflower field. I hope to return one day.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pampolo, Proprietario at Il Sole del Sodo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello MArk ,
I m glad you like our food ,whenever you feel please come back and we will prepare you another great home cooking dinner !
Kind regards
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent six nights at Il Sole del Sodo during our two week italian road trip this summer, and we were truly satisfied with absolutely everything. Our host Claudia was very friendly and helpful, the food was amazing (dinner was cheap!) and we really couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Even though we had one of the smaller rooms with no seating area, this was not a problem as we enjoyed sitting in the beautiful front yard or by the pool. After spending a week in Milan and Venice, this truly was the perfect place to take a break from the busy cities and typical tourist traps - and yet it was not a long drive to Florence or other cities, so sightseeing was still an option. As an afterthought, I guess breakfast could have had some healthier options, but when you get such a delicious choice of freshly baked pies and pastries (as well as fruits and bread) you really can't complain. I really recommend trying the blackberry pie, it quickly became a favorite of mine. We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirstine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

The host Claudia was very helpful and made recommendation where to visit in Cortona as well as other places like Montelpulciano, Pienza and Montelcino.
Although the B&B is located outside the city, the place was quiet and comfortable, you can also see the sunset outside the balcony. The breakfast was good as well.
A nice one to stay rather than having some places situated in the city if you looked for a relaxed one.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank teresa chelsea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews