We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2010

This hotel had wonderful welcoming staff, a beautiful breakfast room, and was very close to the center of town. It was a little difficult to find as it is down a narrow corridor, so just get directions and pay attention to what the entrance looks like! The only small downside of this hotel was the room. It was clean, but quite small with lumpy beds and everything was Salmon Colored! My sister and I also joked that you could go to the bathroom and shower at the same time (due to the small size of the bathroom). Our view out our window was of a brick wall. However, if you don't plan on spending much time in your room (you are in Italy go explore!!) this hotel is wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2010

We arrived in Cortona right after an unexpected snowstorm with the narrow streets of the hill town filled with snow. When we finally located the hotel after walking through the snow covered streets from the public parking lot at the outskirts of the town, we were met with one of the assistants at the hotel. This assistant actually accompanied us back to the car and guided us throught streets that had already been cleared back to the hotel so we could unload our luggage. This level of service continued throughout our stay with the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. The hotel was newly renovated and the rooms were large and nicely decorated. This is not a full service hotel (no restaurant, room service, spa or fitness center), but was entirely adequate for our needs and was conveniently located the central square in the town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MemphisTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Hotel Italia is about 10 meters from the main piazza in Cortona and walking distance to everything else in town. It was difficult to reach by car, mainly because Cortona's streets are tiny and steep. Cortona itself is absolutely worth the visit! We opted to stay in Cortona and not Camucia, which I highly recommend.

The hotel was nice. It appeared to be one of the nicest in town, although we didn't investigate once we got there. The rooms were very quiet, comfortable, and clean. However, the rooms were basic with limited decor and an outdated bathroom. What the room lacked, the breakfast room made up for. The views of Tuscany from the breakfast room were breathtaking. The hotel itself was in a beautiful old building that was generally well kept.

The staff was friendly and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. La Grotta. If you go to Cortona, eat at La Grotta. It was so good we went back for a second night. Possibly the best pasta and wine we had in Italy. The breakfast at the hotel was nice. Parking is free, but it is located outside of the city walls and result in about a 100 meter hike straight up hill. However, anywhere you stay in town results in a hike. We used the internet in the lobby. It was 2 Euro for 30 minutes.

I would recommend Cortona, La Grotta (restaurant), and Hotel Italia. However, if you have difficulty walking or with steep climbs, maybe this small, charming, walled hill town isn't for you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmlmls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

I recently stayed in Cortona for over two weeks while I studied Italian and Hotel Italia was my "home." It couldnt' have been better. Angela, Lorenzo, Patrizia, and Rosanna made my stay delightful! They were friendly, helpful, and warm . Patrizia and Rosanna make breakfast welcoming, and the view in the breakfast room is worth geting up for! The entire hotel is immaculately clean, well located and I highly recommend Hotel Italia. I hope to return again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DonnaKarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego P, Manager at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Italia and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we appreciate!
We hope to welcome you again the soonest,
Best Regards from the Team of Hotel Italia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Very nice hotel in the heart of Cortona. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room is quiet, clean and charming. The breakfast...very goog and an unforgettable view! You shouldn't miss Cortona while in Tuscany and Hotel Italia is a great option while in there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cquad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego P, Manager at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Italia and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we appreciate!
We hope to welcome you again the soonest,
Best Regards from the Team of Hotel Italia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#15 of 24 in Cortona
404 reviews
0 km away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
416 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
775 reviews
4.1 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
669 reviews
1.1 km away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: RM314 - RM572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing