We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cozy”
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Ranked #4 of 110 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1994 Osteria del Teatro welcomes you with politeness and professionalism, offering typical Tuscan cuisine with a selection of tasty dishes. It is a restaurant in Cortona, Italy, charming and genuine, owned by Emiliano Rossi, experienced and friendly chef. For a good lunch in Cortona or a romantic dinner visit our restaurant to discover the exquisite Cortona cooking pleasures! Our restaurant trattoria in Cortona allows you to enjoy tasty and sought-after dishes from Cortona in a unique setting: a 6th century building totally renovated and restored to original splendor. Three different settings welcome you in an elegant and very exclusive atmosphere: the first room reclaiming the typical features of the ancient inns of Tuscany, the second is characterized by a cozy contest, the third is enriched by precious frescoes which make your dinner or your lunch in Cortona intimate and romantic
Reviewed 13 August 2018

The steak dishes with truffle and with the pickled prune with wine pairing are excellent, very cozy ambience with the wine shelves, service was very good, order the wine by the glass, totally worth it. had family of 6, Gluten free options available here.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 2,553 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Nice restaurant with great service and with fabulous Italian food and wine!
We will be back next time we visit Cortona.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 737stefanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was nice and easy to find! Food was good. It was a little hot inside with no AC. They still took us in even though we didn't have reservations.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank bucketlistchaserOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

If only first impressions were carried through the entire meal we would have been thrilled. The wine list is impressive. The variety of homemade pasta was fantastic as was my zucchini flower appetizer. But the three of us who ordered steak were so disappointed. The filet was not tender and the sauce added nothing. My husband’s steak Florentine was the biggest disappointment and the biggest waste of money. Even with a hefty steak knife it was almost impossible for him to cut. With all the great opportunities for great dining in Cortona, I would bring pull the curtain down on Osteria Del Teatro. Such a disappointment.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank libertylady076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely outdoor entrance was cool even in the mid day for lunch . We ate the boar and the other truffles and typical Tuscan dishes all were wonderful . Well deserving of all of its excellent reviews . I hurried but attentive service

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank karentoddmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing