We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Adler Cavalieri(Florence)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 58% below average rates

The price you found is 58% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$457/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lombardi Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Roma(Florence)
US$245
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Guest House Bel Duomo(Florence)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$104
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

c-hotels Club(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
C-Hotels Ambasciatori(Florence)
US$95
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Plus Florence(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Orto De Medici(Florence)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$252
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$348
US$333
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
43
60
34
22
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
60
34
22
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Ok we understand this place is 'budget' and we are both in our twenties and no stranger to doing it rough BUT... this place is the only place we have left a bad review for on our entire 7 week trip through Europe.

Rooms are small and pokey with no air con and very little room (Florence is very very hot in summer and we are from Australia so no stranger to hot climate). The beds need to be thrown out they are extremely worn and you can feel the springs. The bathroom is also terrible. The toilet is literary underneath the shower and you cannot use the sink without standing in the shower. Walls in the rooms also have mould growing up them.

Through out our stay in Italy we have come to realize that most rooms are small (ESP. Bathroom) but this takes the cake.

Breakfast is a heap of packaged crap that looks like it has been sitting there for a while. And they have a notice in the room that says they cannot serve 'fresh' food due to law but seriously you could at least offer milk and basic cereal in the reception in the morning... Which pretty much every other place we have stayed I'm Italy has offered at least (same price range in the other cities).

By far the worst element of the place is the service. In particular the reception which is only open from 9am until 1pm!!!!!! That's just four hours....

We arrived at 2pm via train and did not see ANYONE except a cleaner for the entire four days!!! And we were up and about around 8am - 9am each day.

Finally our towels did not get changed once our whole stay and just got hung back up dirty...

Position is good but in hindsight we would have much rather stayed a little further from the Domo at a place that was not so impractical and at least had a reception open more than four hours a day....

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidjames2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Affittacamere P... D, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

I'm really sorry that you have found so horrible our B & B.
Maybe it was better you asked me to cancel the reservation and I would be glad to give you
back the amount already paid ... and you would have been able to find a room a little less horrible nearby!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This place is a case of you get what you pay for. You can see why it is cheap.

Firstly, this is not a proper b&b. The breakfast is pitiful - its just some packaged dodgy looking croissants and cakes, and it is left in your room after cleaning each morning. There was a note in the rooms 'apologising' for the breakfast which explained that Italian b&b's are only allowed to serve packaged food. This is a poor excuse, as I've had much better breakfasts in other Italian b&b's, including both packaged and un-packaged food.

The service is non-existant. We arrived at about 2pm to find the place abandoned. We got inside using an electronic code. There was no-one to speak to about local sights, information, tours etc. There were a couple of brochures in the reception area, but we couldn't even find a map. We didn't have any contact with staff until we checked out, after having stayed four nights, as we left before reception opened at 9am.

The room itself was very basic. It was very hot when we stayed, and the rooms do not have air conditioning, only heating. There was a pedestal fan in the room, but this provided little relief from the heat. The absence of air conditioning also attracts mosquitoes. I woke up each morning covered in bites. Also, there is a lot of noise coming from outside, which means that you cannot leave the window open. I would definitely not recommend staying here in summer.

The room was adequately cleaned, but not well maintained. The bedside lamp did not work, the edging around the shower was broken, and the bathroom walls were mouldy. The lack of a shower curtain also meant that water went everywhere.

Overall it wasn't quite the hotel from hello, but it was an unpleasant place to stay. Definitely spend a few extra euros to stay somewhere better, even if it's a bit further from the city centre. A decent hostel would offer a better experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmaa4506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

the b&b di piazza del duomo is quite nice and recently restored. Respect of many others place in the center of town in the same range of prices it is nice because the bathrooms are new and so the floors etc. The owner and the cleaning lady are very gentle.
The flaws are
a) noises coming from the streets (I used ear plugs to sleep...);
b) some rooms (the single and twins) have a size not really airy (around 2 meters per 4), which made me feel a little bit like sleeping in a corridor...
c) the beds are not very comfortable;

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucalc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I must begin by expressing how very helpful and gracious Sabrina is. She promptly answered my many emails and made our museum reservations without hesitation. She was there to greet us when we arrived and made us feel very welcome. I booked with her directly to ensure that we would be staying in the room with the view of the Duomo. The balcony opens right up onto the Piazza del Duomo in the center of Florence. We stood outside for hours watching people stroll by and marveling at the church. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, just as pictured. The B&B is quite small and we felt as if we had the place to ourselves. The experience was unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AM0_ITALIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I have stayed in many places in Florence over the last 10 years. Each has its own advantages and disadvantages. Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo has been the best value for money so far. The next time I am in Florence I will stay there. The location is great! You could not get any closer to the Duomo. Howver, as a consequence of being on the corner of two streets, there is a bit of street noise - nothing a pair of good ear plugs can't fix. Make sure to pack them and you will get a good night sleeep in a clean comfortable bed!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews