We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner, but that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A&A - Armonia e Accoglienza
Ranked #201 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2014

The owner tries his best, but doesn't stay there during the day to help. Doesn't speak too much English either. The rooms are basic but nice. Getting in and out with luggage is a bit of a challenge in the tiny lift. Also, difficult to find, with no parking space.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ranjangoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for two nights. Initially, it was a bit of a trek to reach. It took us 20 minutes on the bus from S.M. Novella Train Station (a bit of traffic around midday), but it got easier and faster at other times of the day. Once we arrived, we had to ring up the place as there was no big signage, but our host Franco (who did not speak much English) was there to meet us and guide us in. Luckily though, one of our group spoke Italian, so we managed really well. There might have been a lot more miming involved if no one spoke Italian, but he was so good-natured that it was all lovely. We alternated between taking the bus and a taxi (~€13-15) to get into town and back. It is definitely too far to walk.

The rooms were very spacious, but the beds and pillows were a tad uncomfortable (being quite nitpicking). The walls are a bit thin, so from time to time you could hear people in the other rooms, but it was not a big problem. The bathrooms were clean and plenty of towels were provided. He even bought us some new shower gel from the supermarket nearby.

Breakfast in the morning was allotted in 30-minute time slots and was cooked up by Franco as all 6 of us gathered in his kitchen and fitted around his dining table. Fresh pastries, breads and cakes, fruits and yoghurts were available in large quantities. He took pride in making each cup of coffee for us.

All in all, a wonderful stay and a charming B&B experience. Do not expect hotel levels of service/mod cons, but you will be taken cared of nicely here. A tad far from the city centre (and the area has nothing pretty to boast about at all) but the price compensates for that nicely. If you're looking for a place to eat that's cheap and nearby, pop over to Movida on the Via Francesco Baracca.

Wifi is available for free and works well in every room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefmignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in this very comfortable B&B for 2 nights in July and were very pleased with our choice. The apartment was comfortable, quiet and well equipped and the hosts made extra effort to make us welcome. Breakfast prepared by Franco was a bonus. The first bus trip from the station/old city was a bit of a challenge but after that it was a very convenient bus ride with frequent buses. This reasonably priced B&B suited us very well and we would recommend

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avoca063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife chose this B & B for the location near the center, with the parking, and because the photos show beautiful rooms.
The reality is better than we thought, the room even more beautiful than in photos.
We had the Green Room, nicely furnished, with en suite bathroom with all amenities and with a nice shower with powerful jets.
The room was large and clean, had access to a sunny terrace, looking in the rear of the building and was extremely quiet.
The bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept on.
I liked the fast connection wi-fi, which has worked very well everywhere, it's very important for me.
But the most important thing is the extraordinary hospitality of the owners, who welcomed us with a nice smile and a cool drink and made us feel like guests in a friend's house.
The owner, Franco, served us every morning a rich breakfast buffet with everything you could want and he has prepared frothy cappuccino, the best I've ever tasted.
His advice on how to organize the visit, where are the most beautiful views to make beautiful and unique photos, where to eat typical Florentine dishes, and its reservations to avoid the queues, were key to a better appreciation of Florence.
It 'a really good B & B, five stars, the best place we stayed, we hope to come back here and recommend it to everyone.
Norton and Evelyn

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I were very disappointed in this B&B although it was our first experience with this type of property. The bed was very uncomfortable, the room was stuffy and noise from the "Busy" street down below, kept us up all night.

The elevator was so small only one person and luggage could fit. The B&B is on the 6th floor of an apartment building and is not close to any of the sightseeing. It is not just a 15 minute walk to the city central, more like 1 hour and we are hikers from Colorado.

We did find the owner, Franko very helpful and kind but the room was a fright~!

Sorry for the poor review for such a nice host but thought travelers should know what to expect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSinLittleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filly99, Proprietario at A&A - Armonia e Accoglienza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

I read with amazement and could not believe my eyes ... I had to reread several times this nonsense and I was shocked and I thought: there are guys really very strange !
I'm still quiet and serene because I know that false statements can not change the reality of our beautiful and esteemed by all Bed and Breakfast.
However, for the sake of truth, I would like to point out that some claims of this guest are patently false, others do not correspond to objective truth and are unsubstantiated.
Within the merits and describe the details.
The couple of friends with whom they were traveling, have booked two double rooms, perhaps the person who wrote the comment did not agree to stay with friends in a B & B but wanted a hotel !
In fact, the guest writes:" it was our first experience with this type of property "
The reservation was only one night, passing, in order to catch a flight the next morning: they needed to free parking for cars and the proximity to the airport of Florence.
We have also chosen because they felt comfortable our place out of the restricted traffic zone, on the road that leads from the center to the airport; we are at 3.5 km from Central Station, 4.1 kilometers from the Cathedral and 2 km from the airport (before booking would be good look at the maps on our personal website, written in 5 languages).
Who ever said that we are at a distance of a 15-minute walk from the city center ?
Almost in front of us, 50 m, there is a bus that connects the Cathedral, at the center of the city, and return in twenty minutes . The bus runs from h.5 am to h. 24.30 on weekdays there is a bus every 10 minutes.
The building is fairly modern and our elevator has a capacity of 3 people, (I can send you the photo of the plate of the lift), not as the commentator says, to one person !
In Florence you're lucky to have the lift, in this city so wonderfully small, special, everything is smaller in size ... there aren’t large areas of Colorado!
Our apartment was completely renovated about 5 years ago, I have all the documents and the and permissions, with six months of construction work has been renewed for all floors, the walls, the windows, the doors, the bathrooms, the plumbing and air conditioning systems with high quality materials (eg. the main door has a coded electronic lock, and each guest is given a pass number).
Each couple had a double room, with dimensions in accordance with building regulations, with large en suite complete bathroom, 2.80 square meters. The person who wrote it had the room the Romantic Room, with large, en suite bath with fine old rose ceramics, with sink, toilet, bidet, shower with glass walls, with towels, soaps, shampoos, hair dryer, as seen from the pictures posted on our website and on Tripadvisor.
Each room of our B & B is equipped with air conditioning, TV, small fridge, electronic safe box, courtesy tray with kettle with the need to make tea and coffee, security locks like Yale and high speed internet connection ADSL wi-fi.
(There seems to offer little to be a family B & B ? What is missing ? What else should I put in the room?)
The bed and the bedside of the Romantic Room are painted wood, finely decorated in color ivory and pink and have been purchased new, 5 years ago, the bed is normal size, the mattresses are cm. 160 x 200, are new, purchased a few months ago, and I have all the invoices that prove these purchases.
In the room in question have entered an antique wardrobe, Florentine style, to have a more romantic "old fashion" (see photo of the cabinet).
The blanket is fine damask and there are decorative cushions fabric of silk and gold thread (as you can see in the photos). On arrival in the early afternoon, all four guests appreciated their rooms and they have been pleased with the rooms and structure.
Indeed, even the next morning, before leaving, the couple who has booked, has lavished thanks and has written a holograph, positive opinion on our guestbook. (I can provide a photocopy).
All four guests have expressed a desire to have dinner at a nice restaurant and we have provided all the features and prices of some great restaurants and we have given the indications on the map of the city that we give to all guests. They were very pleased with the wonderful dinner at one of the best restaurants recommended and have also written on our Guestbook.
At their request, my husband phoned the airport to ask about opening hours and he booked for the couple who wrote this comment, the taxi for the next morning at 5 o'clock.
The other couple, the next morning has been able to enjoy the breakfast served in room, with a rich buffet with pastries and warm croissants, yogurts, cereals, butter, honey, chocolate cream and jam portion, fruit juices, fresh fruit and coffee, cappuccino, chocolate, tea made by us according to the expressed wishes of the guests. These guests thanked us heartily and have written on the Guestbook words of appreciation and expressed the desire to come back to us, then they left by car.
The person who commented, was celebrating the wedding anniversary and perhaps did not sleep for other reasons, perhaps for the thrill of being in this unique city, to the delight of the wonderful evening and for the beautiful and gourmet dinner or perhaps the concern not to wake up on time, at about 4 am, and losing the taxi and the aircraft !
It seems strange that these guests do not know that the tradition of the B & B is to welcome guests in a private house with his family, perhaps taking advantage of only one bathroom for everyone !
They have been with us a short time, a few hours in the afternoon and a few hours the night having to leave, they could not take advantage of our hospitality and full breakfast and then ... you let it get muddy!
He feels even invested with a mission: to inform readers of what to expect staying with us !
While everyone in our guestbook on our site, and also on Tripadvisor gave positive comments !

The B & B is run by me and my husband with joy, no children, or employees, or animals that may cause even the slightest disturbance to guests.
We offer warm hospitality and "coddle" our guests with generous and genuine enthusiasm.
Our guests complimented us, and they have certified in writing, a trim level and of hospitality above the majority of B & B.
If he wanted a 5 star hotel under the Cathedral with parking, why they have not gone there ?
(certainly would have had to pay 10 times more ! )
It is not acceptable, nor legitimate, nor morally correct for anyone making disparaging statements about our structure and the correctness of our work, without taking evidence.
We continue to be happy owners of our B & B, knowing that, as the Italian proverb says, " lies have short legs, that is, do not go far !”, and if readers want to know the truth ... please, look at the photos, visit our official website and especially come in beautiful Florence to enjoy our hospitality !
We wait for you.
Fiorella “A&A Bed and Breakfast”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
1 km away
A Beautiful Florence
A Beautiful Florence
#502 of 661 in Florence
105 reviews
4.3 km away
Piccolo Principe B&B
Piccolo Principe B&B
#50 of 661 in Florence
315 reviews
1.5 km away
B&B Marianna
B&B Marianna
#343 of 661 in Florence
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Le Ginestre B&B de Charme
Le Ginestre B&B de Charme
#297 of 661 in Florence
74 reviews
5.8 km away
B&B Il Tabernacolo
B&B Il Tabernacolo
#325 of 661 in Florence
7 reviews
24 km away
B&B I Chivi
B&B I Chivi
#296 of 661 in Florence
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&A - Armonia e Accoglienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&A - Armonia e Accoglienza

Address: Via Nicola Tagliaferri 40, 50127, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: RM 231 - RM 477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the historic centre of Florence, elegant rooms in Florentine style, with en-suite bathroom, conditioned air, tv, Internet wi-fi. Free parking and garage. Every comfort, breakfast, service of first quality, cordial and warm hospitality with maximum discretion. The guests receive the set of keys for maximum independence and freedom. You will be in sure, residential zone, rich of life and stores. All the rooms are very nice, quiet and bright. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing