We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
165
53
17
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
53
17
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world shipping company florentine palazzo sightseeing spots turn down service small suite exquisite hotel marble bath older hotel upgraded to a suite magnificent city the hotel's restaurant beautiful lobby designer shops a small boutique hotel main piazza walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I would give this hotel 6 stars if I could.

Its a lovely small hotel, in a converted palazzo. Having now stayed at a few converted palazzos, I have to say this one is truly lovely. Spacious rooms, very comfortable beds, large marble bathrooms, and you don't hear anything from another suite around you. Its in a great location with an easy walk to all the sights.

But the service here has been truly fantastic. And that is aside from the general excellent service you would expect from a hotel like this.

I emailed before we booked to see if they would store our bags for us while we did a 4 day cycle trip around Tuscany -- they said absolutely no problem. So I booked to stay the night before our trip and the night after. When we arrived, I asked if they had a secure place that they could store our bikes (which turned out to be problematic elsewhere, and fair enough) -- again, no problem, they would make this happen for us. Had a lovely first night stay and when we returned four days later, they were waiting for us. Leaped out to help with the items from our panniers. Upgraded us to a suite (which is really lovely). Everyone has been so pleasant and thoughtful and charming. We felt so well taken care of, and so very comfortable. Thank you!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joshe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Public Relations Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Joshe12,

First of all it is a pleasure for us to read your feedback, we are very glad if you enjoyed your stay and if our Hotel met with your expectations.

Everyday, our team is doing her best to satisfy our Hotel guests.

Your kind review about the Helvetia & Bristol will be proudly communicated to our team.

We look forward to welcome you back!
Best regards,
Luana Malloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

The Helvetia and Bristol hotel is very conveniently located to be within walking distance of the majority of attractions including the Duomo, Uffizi, and Basilica Santa Croce. It is not far from Firenze SMN train station and you can walk to and from in about 15 mins. The hotel is great for the shops with luxury and main stream in close proximity.

Check-in and out was quick and easy. The staff seem pleasant enough. The furnishings and fittings are worn but this adds to the look of a 'classic' Florentine hotel. The room is locked by latch key which doesn't feel very secure. Our carpet was stained and looked dirty in places so we used the slippers provided. The bathroom was however v nice with marble everywhere. The shower is hot with good power - an important feature for me and my wife.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Guest Relations Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for having chosen our Hotel during your stay in Florence.

We are glad if you appreciated the professionalism of our team and the exceptional location of the Helvetia & Bristol which is in the city center.

As you mentionned, our Hotel cares about mantaining an original and luxurious Florentine charm. However, renovations are planned for soon, and I totally understand your remark about the carpet.

Please be sure we will do our best to satisfy your expectations in your next trip to Florence!

Sincerely,
Luana Malloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Wonderful small hotel with beautiful lobby, bar and restaurant. The breakfast room is lovely as well. Traveled with one friend and though we are not used to sharing a room, ours was very attractive and spacious enough, with 2 perfect queen size beds. The location is perfect and the staff great. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 245janw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Guest Relations Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! Your feedback is really important for us and we are glad that the Helvetia & Bristol Hotel met with your expectations.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the professionalism of our team and your spacious rooms!


We hope to see you again very soon with us!

Sincerely,
Luana M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Comfortable hotel centrally located if you are in Florence for a few days and want to walk the sites. Had both breakfast and dinner out so cannot comment on the food.
We had an overnight in Florence so chose this because of location, very large and comfortable bed.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 185criss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Public Relations Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,
Luana Malloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Hotel Helvetia & Bristol is a really stunning hotel, and we were very excited to stay here for 3 nights, during our 5th wedding anniversary trip to Italy. We arrived at the hotel before 10am, and were very surprised that our room was ready for us - we figured we'd have to leave our bags and come back in the afternoon - and we also got upgraded to a Superior Suite, which was another great surprise!

Our suite was very spacious, with a nice living room area when you first walked in, and a large separate bedroom with a spacious marble bath. We were in one of the interior rooms, which meant our windows overlooked the inside of the hotel/courtyard and not the city, which meant it was super quiet but also there was nothing to look at.

Our rate also included breakfast, which was served in a sweet little restaurant inside the lobby. The selection was quite minimal, as there were only a few cereals, some cold cuts and cheeses, and a few pastries. You could order eggs from the waiter, but it general it was not the selection I was expecting from such an upscale hotel. Definitely not worth paying for, if it's not included in your room rate.

The thing that still boggles my mind about this hotel is the ironing situation, which as an avid traveler, I have never ever experienced before. One night, prior to going out to dinner and wanting to iron our wrinkled clothes, we called the front desk to ask for an ironing board and Iron, as there were none in the room. We were told they do not have ironing boards!!!!! We literally though they were joking, but they were not. Apparently, its a fire hazard so they do not distribute nor have any. I can understand the concern, but I have stayed in hotels all around the world and is it normal for guests to iron their own clothes. So we asked them how can we get our clothes ironed. They told us there was a fee of 20 euros for them to iron for us, which was absolutely ridiculous - if you are not going to offer me an ironing board to do it myself, then don't charge me for ironing it for me! We told them we'd call back, because we were so stunned. But after realizing that our clothes were not presentable, we decided we really needed the service, so we called back to say that we'd like them to do it and we'd pay the stupid fee. At the point they told us they need advance notice for ironing, as their iron takes an hour to heat up. Again, we were speechless. So no ironing boards, there is a fee, and they need advanced notice. At that point we gave up and just couldn't believe the entire situation.

Overall, Hotel Halvetia was fantastic with its great central location, and classic Italian charm. We enjoyed that it was a small, boutique hotel, and the staff was very nice and helpful overall - well unless you need to iron something!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MNKA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Helvetia & Bristol Firenze - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Guest MNKA17,
thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention your remarks concerning your recent stay at our hotel and we apologize for any disservice suffered by you.
As you have been able to see, the Helvetia & Bristo is furnished with fitted carpets and padded fabric walls. In view of said circumstance and according to our company policy, the iron is not permitted in a hotel bedroom, also in consideration of our guests’ Health & Safety. At the same time we have addressed with the relevant departmental heads the issues you raised, as it is our aim to always deliver a professional service in a timely manner.
The Breakfast selection was recently improved, it will be absolutely our care to verify it's quality.
Once again, thank you for comments and for staying with us.
With best regards.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews