We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Croce di Malta Hotel
Ranked #168 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This was our home base for our tour group during a tour of Tuscany. The rooms were pleasant and clean and the beds were comfortable. We could easily walk to shops and to the funicular. The dinners were average but the food was plentiful. The breakfasts were above average and the yogurt bread was delicious. We mistakenly thought the advertised pools were swimming pools but they are not. However the indoor one is a very relaxing spa pool. You have to make a reservation to use it and there is an additional fee unless you also book a spa treatment. The front desk staff was not particularly welcoming or helpful. Fortunately our tour guide buffered that one drawback for us.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PoePoeNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

This was the third stop we made on our tour in Europe, our travel agency Gate 1 Travel setup us in this hotel the second week in October. This was my wife’s and my favorite hotel on our journey hands down. When we checked in again our agency booked us in the smallest room with no view of anything in a twin bed. I explained to the young lady at the front desk this was our 10 Year Anniversary and Agency again put us in the wrong accommodations, she was Amazing and moved up to a wonderful room with a nice large bed and a great view of the court yard with a nice patio. This room was nice and spacious, and finally had a restroom that had a shower large enough that you could stand up in, the bed was perfect, the bedding and pillows were perfect, everything was perfect. The room was a bit warm, so I asked the young lady at the front desk if something could be done, and she immediately turned on the air so we could have a great nights rest. It was wonderful to finally be somewhere where the room and environment was PERFECT! The breakfast was fabulous, the in the evening there is a rooftop bar / seating area where we watched the sunset and relaxed. We were so happy with the location, in walking distance to the train station and all the local tourist attractions. If you are looking for a nice hotel in Florence, Italy look no further.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I booked to stay 5 nights at this hotel in October 2017, we cancelled due to change of plans. The hotel did a pre authorisation on our credit card and part of the conditions were no fees to cancel.
We contacted the hotel and they canceled with no issues and would refund the pre authorisation security deposit. We were told this would be refunded in one week.
It’s been now 22 days and we are still waiting for the refund to process.
I have contacted the hotel and no response. This is really poor service considering we didn’t stay at the hotel.
Please be warned about this. Bank advised hotels will now take 31 days to refund but, the hotel can process quicker providing they send all relevant details to the bank.
Regards Tanya

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco B, Direttore at Croce di Malta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Madam,
we are very sorry about this inconvenience we are sure now you got already the refund through your bank and let us explain that usually we ask preauthorization for the first night for reservation during busy period or for long stay, in case of cancellation of course we don't keep the money.
Please consider that the holding time of money in case of a preauthorization changes depending on the Bank or Credit Card Companies.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly ifor further information
Kind regards
Silvia M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and, for the price/location it was great. My first impression of the room was that it felt like I was staying in my nonna's attic, but it was comfortable, clean, and had everything we needed. Breakfast was very generous and you can walk to all major sites. I would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BSCone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Maybe 8 minutes' walk from the SMN train station, under 10 to the Duomo, under 8 to the Arno, around 15 to the Uffizi or Old Bridge. Around a half hour to the Leonardo Piazella to watch the sunset. This is a very convenient location, great base to wander around central Florence, day or night.
Wifi was ok. Rooms not overlarge. Breakfast was OK. Cold cuts, no hot meats but did have hot scrambled eggs. I have had better, but it wasn't terrible.
Not sure the rating. It seemed like a 3, maybe 3 and a half star European hotel.
Unfortunately, didn't have an opportunity to visit the rooftop. Oddly, it closed early, at 8pm, and they wouldn't allow you to visit on your own after that.
There is a terrible step to watch out for on the way to breakfast. Two of our party tripped over it, somewhat dramatically. It really should be replaced with a ramp.
Interestingly, of our three rooms, none of the air conditioning worked. A chat at the front desk revealed that it is turned off by early October, because guests think it's too cold (?). They switched he air conditioning back on for us for the three rooms, at our request, and thereafter it worked fine.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Travel_Synopsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#88 of 410 in Florence
536 reviews
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#22 of 410 in Florence
275 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 410 in Florence
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#70 of 410 in Florence
1,681 reviews
Park Palace Hotel
#154 of 410 in Florence
335 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#110 of 410 in Florence
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croce di Malta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croce di Malta Hotel

Address: Via della Scala 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: RM432 - RM1,422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Croce di Malta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Croce di Malta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croce Di Malta Florence
Hotel Croce Di Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing