We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Ranked #105 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely old hotel with lots of charm. Checking in and out went quickly with courteous and professional staff. The rooms were cozy, and the bed was very comfortable. The bath was spotless and modern, but they really should have bath mats in the shower as it is very slippery. The view from the restaurant was beautiful, completely surrounded by Windows. The food was average for a breakfast buffet. But the best part about this hotel is its location. If you are traveling by train, you just have to walk across the street. It was nice saving the taxi fare for a change. We had the best pizza across the street, and the were many other restaurants within walking distance. With all of this going around the hotel, the room was very quiet and restful.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jbushee2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaglioniHotelmanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ciao jbushee2017
What beautiful words! Thanks so much for your staying here. I hope the memory of this holiday will last forever in your mind…and we will be here waiting for you with open arms! See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Beautiful hotel. Only minutes walk from the train station and major attractions. I booked a room with the garden patio. Even thought it's on the 1st floor, it is very quiet and the room is comfortable. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend to anyone who comes to visit Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaglioniHotelmanager, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Lai N
we all are happy for your nice words but mostly knowing you had a great time at the Grand Hotel Baglioni.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here early October for our honeymoon and had a junior suite. Whilst the room was rather dark (but appreciate that this is quite a classic Italian style esp in an older hotel), it was very clean and the complimentary water and soft drinks were welcome. Even though the room looks dark when you first enter, as soon as you open the windows and shutters, it makes a huge difference to how the room feels. Bathroom lovely and great shower, lots of space in closet and living room, the only issue with the room was that the bed was quite hard and uncomfortable. Didn’t have huge interaction with staff but housekeeping always polite and acknowledged you, reception helped with queries and the bell boys always helpful. The biggest disappointment was the restaurant. The views across the city were outstanding but the food was well below average, to the point were we had breakfast out several days despite paying for it as part out of hotel package. The choice of breakfast wasn’t great, bacon and scrambled eggs watery and greasy, coffee luke warm and pastries hard and dry. We also ate in the restaurant one evening as had a complimentary 3 course meal included in our room. Service wasn’t great, I asked waitress a question which she didn’t know answer to so she just walked away and didn’t attempt to find out, I had to find another member of staff myself later to find the answer. Starter was ok but not fantastic. Main we both ordered steak, mine medium, my husbands rare but both turned up almost blue to the point we couldn’t eat it. The accompaniments with the steak were very odd and random - roast potatoes, white beans, courgette, artichoke - it just didn’t go. We later had steak in a restaurant on Piazza Repubblica and got the famous Florentine T bone and it was outstanding, and a lot cheaper than what the hotel charged. We were so disappointed with our first 2 courses that we left without dessert even though it was free. Had we paid for this dinner, I would’ve sent it back as was so poor.
The bar was nice and to sit out on the roof terrace with the views across the city was lovely. Sadly we were there when there quite a lot of conferences happening and found the bar extremely busy and loud on a couple of nights and we couldn’t get a comfortable seat as all reserved. Such a shame as it was a lovely bar. Also disappointed to see that guests were allowed to smoke on the roof bar as to get to the bar to get served I had to walk through some large clouds of cigarette smoke which was very unpleasant. I would suggest if the roof bar is booked out for groups then the downstairs bar should’ve been open for guests as an alternative for some quiet space.
Would absolutely stay at hotel again but would sadly avoid the restaurant next time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lou0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaglioniHotelmanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Lou0704
thank you for your feedback and for the positive score! Your review anyway is very precise in many points and will help us to understand what we have to improve.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The room had at least a 100 ants that we saw. They were in the shower, vanity, desk top almost every where. My husband found one in the bed! After showing a video of the ants scurrying around the bathroom threshold, the front desk attendant opened a door right were he was standing and handed me a can of bug spray!! Rude and unapologetic. Terrible experience that rattled us for a couple of days. It is unconceivable that the hotel staff did not know this room was infested but they still assigned to us. Disgusting experience for this expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBSulek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaglioniHotelmanager, Direttore at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear DBSulek,
I clearly remember this unfortunate but unexpected nuisance you had to experience at the beginning of August.
I am so sorry you did not felt we cared about it as we did all we could in good faith : we changed your room into another Executive, we offered you a bottle wine made in our property in Chianti and we called the pest right away to get rid of the insects from the whole area.
As you may have seen yourself, since the beginning of august you are the only guest who had this bad experience so I hope you will believe me it was just an unexpected but still comprehensible and unique accident.
However we are already gone through your comment with all the staff involved in your assistance and you can be sure if any mistake was made it will never happen again.
If you feel you can give me more details about what went wrong with our staff, you can contact me any time.
I hope you will accept again my most sincere apologies and I thank you for your precious feedback.


Best Regards

A. Remaschi
a.remaschi@caratteretoscano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

A beautiful old world hotel very close to the train station. Shopping, sightseeing and food are very close at hand. Minutes from the Grand market, upscale shopping and the beautiful sights.
The negative: the only one here has been the front desk staff. Having interacted with three different men at different times, it appears rudeness is part of the culture here. They make snide remarks that if you question they smile and pass it off. Very passive aggressive.
Otherwise, a wonderful visit and a lovely, well appointed room.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Missy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaglioniHotelmanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Missy S
I am happy to read that you were pleased with the Hotel style the room and the location, on the other hand reading your comment on our staff really hurts, as it is not the usual feedback we are getting, and the politness of every staff member has always been well pointed by to so many previous guest.
Thank you for your precious contribution and I am sending you my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 409 in Florence
1,700 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#55 of 409 in Florence
1,443 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 409 in Florence
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,862 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#71 of 409 in Florence
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Dell'Unita' Italiana 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Business Hotel in Florence
#103 Family Hotel in Florence
#142 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: RM598 - RM1,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing