We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #193 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel has black mold everywhere!!!! It made the entire group on our trip sick and hospitalized 3 people in the group. Their solution to the black mold.... wipe it off and paint over it!!!! Aweful, do not stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Clients and Readers of Tripadvisor,
We’re really sorry for this comment, but it's the first time we receive such a critique. We also asked for further details on the issue, but we got no response. We do not think at all that there is mold everywhere, or we are all blind! In any case we expect clarification regarding the room number and names of customers, in order to have a real acknowledgment of the problems highlighted. Otherwise we leave open the judgment to Readers of Tripadvisor.

Cordially,
Alessio Maggi, Web Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    698
    501
    177
    110
See reviews for
425
662
60
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We found the rooms very nice, fresh and new with all amenities working very well. We had no noise at all in the room and a nice view over some rooftops. The bathroom really spacious. We ended up having breakfast outside though as we wanted something small but authentic and good quality and Florence is fullof such places. The staff were ok, but just ok, as they would not try to speak english or french much if they could avoid it and would not go out of their way easily for anything,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Clients and Readers of Tripadvisor,
we thank you very much of your positive feedback and of your indications about our staff.
We usually receive compliments about their cordiality, but we’ll check immediately this missunderstanding.
We inform you may ask our Booking Office for a regular customer discount code, to take advantage of the promotional rates on our website.
Sincerely,
Alessio Maggi, Web Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, Essex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Hotel was in perfect location, rooms on the 6th floor hAd just been renuvated and were very good. Very clean, pleasant staff and breakfast ok. Only negative part was the plastic cups in your room and no glasses provided. When we asked for some glasses for our wine we had brought we were told only plastic cups allowed. This was also the same for he juice and water at breakfast. Doesn't really give the right finishing touch considering how nice the rooms are.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Clients and Readers of Tripadvisor,
We thank you for your comment on our Hotel, especially your appreciation of our rooms. The rooms you occupied, on the 6th floor, are panoramic and suggestive.
Hoping you’ll choose Grand Hotel Mediterraneo in the future, we inform you may ask our Booking Office for a regular customer discount code, to take advantage of the promotional rates on our website.

Sincerely,

Alessio Maggi; Web Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I visited the hotel during their renovation works at the facade but this did not influence at all my staying. The hotel is well located approx. 15 minutes walk from Piazza della Signora, the heart of Florence. Front rooms enjoy the view on the river Arno and the scenery of Piazza Michelangelo and San Miniato. Also for business travelers the hotel is good since it has a parking facility (though it is expensive). Rooms are recently refurbished. The negative side, at least in the room I had, was the size of the bathroom: I could hardly move in that tiny space.

Room Tip: Front side room have nice view but are more noisy due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto63Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Clients and Readers of Tripadvisor,
We thank you for your comment on Grand Hotel Mediterraneo.
We’re pleased that you’ve been positively affected by our Hotel.
In reference to the cost of the garage, we take the opportunity to define our rates that vary depending on the day of stay: the standard rate is 20.00 € for day, for person; we also have special offers of 18.00 € for day for stays of 2 nights and 15.00€ for day with a minimum stay of 3 nights.
We inform you may ask our Booking Office for a regular customer discount code, to take advantage of the promotional rates on our website.

Sincerely,

Alessio Maggi; Web Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The location of this hotel is great: overlooking the river and within walking distance of the centre of the city, but the food is not so great. What horrified me most of all was the plastic beakers used to serve juice in for breakfast - and the coffee was horrible. I was there for four nights for a conference, and on arrival I realised that I had misplaced my laptop (I left it at the security carousel at the airport) but the desk staff were not, at first, neither sympathetic nor helpful and were not really interested, but merely (and reluctantly) found a telephone number for the airport. The conference we attended was also in the hotel, and the food provided at lunch was very ordinary, to say the least. They offer conference facilities, yet there was no iron available so no choice but to use their expensive laundry facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, with a view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerionT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#95 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#206 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#101 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#215 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#129 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#143 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Lungarno Del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): RM421 - RM1,234
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing