We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Location - Staff..not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of De Lanzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Lanzi
Ranked #259 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Location - Staff..not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel was pretty difficult to find. We found the street, but the numbers are all out of order, so we pretty much knocked on every door on the street asking for this hotel. In the night however, you can probably see it quite easily from the tacky neon lit sign. When we walked in, I was pretty disappointed from what I saw from the photos, but sheets and bathroom were clean, which were most important. The decor was just very dated.
The location is wonderful. From the breakfast room, you can see a small sliver of the Duomo, which is great when you want to take a mid-day shower. Breakfast was included, and it was pretty good, with coffees, teas, fruit, pastries, salami and cheeses, yogourt, etc
One thing to note though is that the staff is completely useless. We asked for directions to a restaurant, and the young man pointed us in the complete wrong direction... we asked the hotel to book advanced tickets to Uffizi and they couldn't, and didn't follow up on it, so we had no idea whether it was booked or not. Only the morning staff (the manager) handled things, so if you asked anyone else, they weren't able to help. We asked to change the room because the air conditioning wasn't strong enough and was told to ask the manager the next morning, we asked about the Chianti wine tours, and they didn't know the price, etc
Overall, we think this hotel was pretty reasonable, it was good value. If they had free internet access I would be tempted to give it a 4-star considering its price but the lack of internet and service did prove to be a little inconvenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTravelBugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    183
    139
    39
    43
See reviews for
82
194
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My mother and I had reservations at De Lanzi, and were surprised with the offer of upgrading to their nearby apartment, for the same rate. The staff helped us walk our bags the couple of blocks to the newly refurnished apartment. It was very clean, newly redone, with huge shuttered windows that opened right onto the Piazza della Repubblica . . . and (I'm not kidding) as we arrived a woman was singing opera right below our window. We loved our stay there and would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel43552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

De Lanzi is brilliantly located near major attractions and is across the road from GROM, an amazing gelati shop! The hotel rooms and breakfast are basic but comfortable, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here with elderly family members. My first impression was not positive as parts of it looked rather in need of renovation, and my single room was so small I could touch both walls at the same time. However, it was clean, and the location was very convenient. My bathroom had been recently renovated and was a reasonable size. The breakfast was fine for a day or two but dull after that. The coffee was disappointing; we look forward to having really good coffee while in Italy, but this came from a machine. The staff were generally helpful. It was a good choice for us in the end because its location meant that we did not have far to walk to many of the sights and could easily return between activities . The bells of Giotto's tower woke us up early in the morning, which was fine for us as we wanted to get an early start, and it is a much nicer way to wake up than an alarm. I would recommend it for young people, the elderly or others who don't have much money to spend, but would not recommend it for those who really want to enjoy the time they spend at the hotel or want to feel a little pampered while on holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Very convenient location. Directly across the street from GROM (the BEST gelato you will ever taste). Walking distance to all attractions. The front desk staff are the gems in the crown that is hotel De Lanzi. They are incredibly helpful. They will make reservations for you at all of the museums (a must if you wish to avoid long lines). Breakfast is included with your room. It is nothing spectacular but it is free (which can't be said for most hotels) and was a pleasant way to start the morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europetravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#182 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#202 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#207 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#282 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#190 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#331 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanzi

Property: De Lanzi
Address: Via Dell'Oche 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price range (per night): RM333 - RM856
Hotel Class:3 star — De Lanzi 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanzi Florence
De Lanzi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing