We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome and service”
Review of Hotel La Fortezza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Fortezza
Ranked #64 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017

This hotel is about 20 minutes walk from Central Florence in a pleasant area although on quite a busy road. The best thing about it is the service from the staff. They were consistently really friendly, helpful and could not do enough for us. We particularly appreciated the maps showing exactly where to get the buses to and from the main tourist areas - and they also sell the bus tickets. The hotel general areas and rooms are immaculately clean, attractive and spacious. The rooms we had were reasonably well equipped and the beds comfortable. The breakfast offers just about everything you could want, with freshly made coffee available - and the hotel offers excellent value for money. So - just a few things that made this a 4star rather than a 5star rating. Firstly, there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. Secondly, the electric sockets are not ideal. In our room there were no standard round sockets, so we could not use a standard continental adaptor (luckily we were with friends and could use their room). Finally the more popular items at breakfast tended to run out early - on one occasion we arrived at 9:15 (breakfast finishes at 10), we just got the last eggs and ham and there were no croissants or pastries left. If the hotel could fix these small things it would be perfect!

Room Tip: If you want to use any electrical equipment avoid room 221
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mardimarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017

Stayed at La Fortezza mid October for 4 nights. Location is a 15-20 minute walk from the sights. Overall the hotel has a very elegant feel to it.
* small room but well appointed;
* very clean;
* memory foam beds were comfy with nice linen;
* lots TV channels but only 2 English channels playing old re-runs - no English news;
* small fridge;
* good water pressure with lots of hot water;
* WIFI was very slow;
* small safe in room but only large enough for papers/money;
* walls thin bring ear plugs
* wanted to leave window open as quiet area & fresh air but mosquitos were a problem;
* the outstanding part was the breakfast! Lovely variety of good food and excellent attendants ensuring nothing ran out. Outstanding!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissyGryphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

An excelent stay in a comfy hotel. Very warm hospitality of staff. Located in a quiet and peacefull area. Everything was as we expected and the price was very good. Great services. We will surely come back in Florence and we will choose again La Fortezza Hotel. Grazie!
From Romania, with love, Adela S.

Room Tip: The espresso cappuccino at the breakfast is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

POSITIVE:After crappy customer service in Milan it was so refreshing to arrive and experience GREAT customer service. Our room wasnt ready but the waiting lounge is fabulous, they have great internet access, comfortable lounge, toilet, TV and a fridge with many refreshing drinks. Was happy to sit and wait only 20min for our room. Room was tidy and beautiful. Bed was comfortble ans nice shower. About a 15 min walk to central area.
NEGATIVE: Only negative is the air conditioner is automatically switched off in the afternoon so you cannot turn it on. It gets too warm in the room ans stuffy. Was not happy when staff had left our room windows wide open and our room had about 5 mosquitos and i was bitten through the night on the face and had to find them all and kill them and keep our bedroom windowa closed at all times to avoid more mosquitos.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Glorielyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Grazia to EVERYONE at this wonderful hotel! We were thrilled with our room allocation and so very grateful that our request for a bath was honoured!
We had an airconditioned room on the lower ground so it was slightly lacking in light however the rooms on this level all have a lovely terrace!
The beds are super comfy and rooms spotless! Plenty of hanging and storage space plus the added bonus of a free safe and fridge!
Breakfast was perfect, heaps of variety, yoghurt, cereals, pancakes, cheeses, toast, meats, eggs, antipasti, fruit, pastries and cakes!
The quiet location for us was perfect, we love to walk and take in the beautiful sights and enjoy restaurants away from the most central part of a city.
We flew to Pisa so we could do a quick visit before heading to Florence. We used the 5€ luggage storage at Pisa train station and hopped on a bus to visit the leaning tower which is a must! The train and bus system between Pisa and Florence is super easy, cheap and efficient!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFortezzaGuestCare, Front Office at Hotel La Fortezza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Richard,
Thanks for your great review!!!
It fill us with joy that your experience at La Fortezza Hotel has been so satisfying!
I'm glad that you enjoyed the comfort and the cleanliness of your room, our delicious breakfast and the advantages offered by the strategic position of the Hotel :)
The entire Staff hope to host you again very soon!
Kind regards,
Silvia Farina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 411 in Florence
849 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#66 of 411 in Florence
823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,286 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#152 of 411 in Florence
2,086 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortezza

Address: Viale Milton, 95, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range: RM214 - RM816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortezza 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Fortezza in Florence stands in a quiet residential area in an evocative 19th Century building which blends the grace of the classical style with the essential practicality of a contemporary one. Each room has FREE WI-FI and air-conditioning as well as ensuite bathroom with shower or bathtub, LCD TV with foreign channels, mini-fridge, safety deposit box, and telephone. The hotel is just 15 minutes on foot from the Historic Centre of Florence and very close to the Exhibition Centre "Fortezza da Basso". Every morning in the breakfast room we offer a rich buffet of sweet delights, fresh fruits, cold cuts, cheese, eggs and gluten-free products. It's really easy to reach Hotel La Fortezza by car and in the hotel grounds you find a convenient private car park, while if you come by train we are only 10 minutes on foot far from the S.M.N. Central Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fortezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fortezza Florence
La Fortezza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing