We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will stay again next time!”
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #78 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very hommy feeling hotel. The stuff were very helpful, friendly and helpful. Very clear and comfortable, large rooms, lovely breakie buffet, very reasonable rate. Superb location, just about 7 mins walk to Duomo, the leather market just around the corner, the main train station about 10 mins walk. You could just walk to anywhere from the hotel. If we go back Florence again, definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for your review, we look forward to accomodate. Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 433 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

What this hotel lacks in ambiance and decor it makes up for in service and cleanliness. The woman at the front desk was very hospitable upon check-in. She spoke English and provided us with a map of Florence and highlighted all the best sights in the area. We ended up using that map quite a bit, since it was a big help. Our room smelled like a hotel room, but other than that it was fine. We had a/c and a sizable bathroom that was always clean. Wi-fi was easy to setup on our netbook and it was free. Breakfasts were your typical hard-boiled eggs, pastries, cereals, coffee, and juice. The hotel was about a 7-10 minute walk from the train station and a 2 minute walk from the Duomo. The entrance had us a bit confused because you actually walk into a corridor and from there must walk up a few flights of stairs or take the elevator to the 2nd floor where the hotel actually is. Do not confuse the Hotel Colomba with the Hotel dei Macchiaioli (ranked #9), which shares the same address and location but that's where the likeness ends. I only wished that the Hotel Colomba had more Italian charm and felt less like a Holiday Inn. Considering how much artistry was born in Florence, I was hoping for a hotel that fit the bill. If I were ever to go back, I'd probably try and find something that has a bit more Florence flair. As for the location, I'd probably try and pick a spot south of the Duomo so that it's a bit more equidistant to all the good spots. Florence is easily walkable and this hotel wasn't so far north that we felt uncomfortable walking by ourselves at 11pm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyGoLuckyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for your review, we look forward to accomodate. Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We are a group of 4 (2 couples) and stumbled across Hotel Colomba through a travel article in a local Australian newspaper in early 2011. Whilst the review was complementary, the added bonus for us was it's Australian connection being Rosanna.

Having visited Florence some 15 years ago and knowing the logistics, I was keen to find a hotel close to the Duomo (which is in the heart of Florence). Hotel Colombo certainly ticked that box.

The hotel's entrance is not easily recognisable at first - as other reviewers point out, If you've just arrived from the train station and on foot, you tend to be looking for a Hotel lobby from the main street. Instead what you find is a doorway and ground entrance with a sign pointing to a lift. That being said, once you make it to the second floor (where the hotel is situated) you are warmly greeted and any concerns you have instantly disappear. Of course, if you've jumped in a taxi you won't have this problem as the cabs all know Hotel Colomba.

Hotel Colombo is a family run business. They offer quiet, clean, affordable, friendly accomodation in a central location...and they deliver on all aspects without fault. There is a respectful curfew in place so a) so they can go to bed, and b) as added security to all guests. This is not a place for late night party animals ...which is perfect in my eyes.

Rosanna (owner) and Sabine are fabulous. As we were travelling in September (high season), they both guided and helped us plan our days and in some cases booked and secured reservations into museums to avoid us having to queue for hours.

We had initially booked for 3 nights - before embarking on a week in Tuscany. The plan was to return back to Florence and simply 'wing' our last night. Having enjoyed our stay with Rosanna and Sabine so much, we decided to return back to Hotel Colomba for our last night and avail ourselves again to their friendly hospitality for the last time.

I have no hesitations in recommending Hotel Colomba to respectful travellers....(party animals, stay away, this is not a place for you). Should I ever be lucky enough to return to Florence, I will be booking my stay with Hotel Colomba.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jabusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for your review, we look forward to accomodate. Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed for two nights in January 2012 with my husband and teen daughter. Our second stay at Hotel Colomba (our first was back in summer 2007) was as good as the first time. Great location, spacious bedroom, super clean and quiet. Our hosts were great as always and I will keep recommending this place over and over again. If you are on a budget, don't miss this gem in the middle of the action in Florence.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Frilo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for your review, we look forward to accomodate. Hotel Colomba Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

...to what others have said. A great place to stay:
central location
friendly and hospitable family run business
spacious rooms (we had 3x single beds)
quiet (apart from a humming noise, which probably came from the other hotel above)
decent breakfast (the only thing we missed was 'real' juice, without sugar).

If we go back to Florence, we would surely stay here again! We spent 4 nights here as a family of 4 (2 young kids) and though I am quite a picky person in terms of hotels, this place is really great, unlike the equally highly rated hotel we stayed at in Pisa, which in reality was only average).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doistujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#87 of 410 in Florence
414 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#56 of 410 in Florence
883 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#66 of 410 in Florence
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#122 of 410 in Florence
795 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#70 of 410 in Florence
1,039 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#65 of 410 in Florence
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#74 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: RM304 - RM897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing