We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique atmosphere and caring staff”
Review of Hotel Burchianti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Burchianti
Ranked #175 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am still in Florence - it was had to pick up the place to stay and I travel on relatively low budget normally trying to find a reasonably priced and pleasant hotel close to the venue of the event I am going to. Burchianti has an excellent central location, it is walking distance from S Maria Novella train station, on the other hand the surroundings seem quiet. My room does not have a great view from the windows - actually they are quite high - but the room itself has unique atmosphere. The building is old and the rooms are spacious with very high ceilings with original frescoes. The furniture is also historical. It is something I personally like - as a quick trip back into the past but with the amenities we are now used to.

Room Tip: Probably there are rooms with a view - but I have not checked that, although my windows faced a wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

rooms, entering hall, and the corridor are very very pretty, Florence style, which is romantic-elegant-classic style. anyway- it was different from other places in Tuscany we stayed at.
They were playing Opera music during breakfast - this was very classic-elegant experience for us.. :).
the garage right next to the place, was very helpful because of the parking prohibitions on the streets.
we stayed there on March, so we could afford not to book it in advance, and we had also late check in discount. still the place wasn't empty, so in the season, it might be hard to get a place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayeletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Florence was packed, so I had to stay somewhere new - a delightful hotel at a reasonable price in an historic palace. Excellent location in via del Giglio - peaceful, but only a step from the station and the church of San Lorenzo, and its market; around the corner from Palazzo Medici and just a few yards from the Duomo and Baptistery at the heart of Florence.
The owners were absolutely charming. They gave me a warm welcome and were available for any assistance, offering advice and the odd coffee. I felt at home, but with my privacy. My room was also perfect for me. Small, overlooking the internal courtyard, with a nice little shower room and a useful desk. Breakfast was fine, and better than is often offered in family-run hotels here.
The only issue was that getting the internet and texting was not reliable, so as I was here for work, it was frustrating at times when it I couldn't get a signal. Otherwise this was a wonderful place to stay and now my favourite in Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arttrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Excellent location--very near train station, located on a quiet back street. You can walk to absolutely everything. The proprietors Mario and Sr. Rela make you feel like you are guests in their home. Mario speaks excellent english and will give you wonderful advice for restaurants and how to get the best deals on attractions and shopping. Unique property and history of the building. Fell asleep gazing at the frescoes and felt transported back to another time, just delightful. Only advice to hotel would be to upgrade the mattresses, otherwise, it is perfect.

Room Tip: We had a large room with a double bed plus two singles/daybeds. Extremely high ceilings with origin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BagPackedWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I booked this little hotel for the frescoes and was not disappointed! We arrived by train and it was very close to the station on a little side street. Thanks to other reviews I knew to just look for the address and buzzer to be let in. The owner was courtly and helpful and our room for 3 of us was huge with 20 feet ceilings and the promised frescoes. Despite the age of the building our bathroom was large and modern and the tub was welcoming after our climb to the Piazzale Michaelangelo. More of a B & B than hotel, the European style breakfast was served in the reception/sitting area with the owner and his son (who looks like a young Dylan McDermott) manning the Cappuccino machine. We enjoyed our 3 night stay here very much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#58 of 411 in Florence
905 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Guicciardini
Palazzo Guicciardini
#157 of 411 in Florence
179 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#117 of 411 in Florence
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,870 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Lungarno Vespucci 50
Lungarno Vespucci 50
#152 of 411 in Florence
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burchianti

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: RM422 - RM1,158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing