We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, spacious terrace”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Repubblica Terrace

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tslthree
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect Location with Beautiful Views but Noisy”
Reviewed 8 February 2018 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Apartments Florence Repubblica Terrace (via dei Brunelleschi, 1) for the month of October 2017. This was our 3rd trip to Florence, which is one of our most favorite cities in the world.

This one bedroom apartment is very convenient to all of the beautiful sites and museums of Florence, including dozens of restaurants (and gelato shops). It is on the top floor of the building (5th floor there - 6th floor in the US). You have to take one flight of stairs and then there is an elevator to the 5th floor (or stairs if you want to walk). The building has other apartments on various floors and on the 5th floor has a tailor shop, The American Language Center (Istituto Americano) and another apartment.

The apartment is spacious for two people with a comfortable sized bedroom, living room, and kitchen and dining area. We didn’t do any cooking but there seemed to be an adequate supply of pots and pans, and dishes if you wanted to cook.

As nice as the apartment is, the bedding and linens were sub-standard. The bed had a small, thin mattress pad that only covered the middle of the bed - you could feel the borders of the pad under the sheet. The linens were less than what you’d expect, even in an institutional setting. The towels were very thin and rough textured and one of them actually had large holes in it

The apartment was clean when we arrived, with the exception of the bathroom. The shower did not appear clean (significant film on the door), and the floor was not clean. We cleaned both and left them looking much better than what we had when we arrived. There was also a badly soiled throw rug in the kitchen.

The real gem for the apartment, other than location, is the large patio. From the patio, you can catch a glimpse of Giotto’s bell tower and the Duomo to your right, Santa Maria Novella bell tower to your left, and the Medici Chapel dome in front of you. The patio has a comfortable love seat and two chairs as well as a retractable awning. You can enter the patio from the bedroom or the living room.

Even though the location was convenient and we loved the patio, we would not stay here on our next trip to Florence. The apartment is too noisy.

The electric shutters are great for darkness at night but they do not help significantly with sound. There are the usual city noises and we used a white noise app on our phone every night to help with this. The Hard Rock Café, at ground level of the building, had a live band one night a week which we could hear into early morning hours. A restaurant on the nearby Piazza della Repubblica also had bands that we could hear in the apartment on some nights.

But the biggest problem was the early morning noise at the American Language Center, located next door to the apartment. While there was no disruptive noise from customers of the Center during the day (teaches English and college prep courses), there was early morning (sometimes before 6am) noise from what we assume was a cleaning crew. The sliding (or actually screeching) of chairs across the wood floors made it impossible to sleep. Also, a least one high-heel wearing person would walk down the hall adjacent to our bedroom no later than 7am every work day, creating enough noise to end any further sleep that might have persisted through the chair-screeching.

We rented the apartment from Apartments Florence. All communications with them went smoothly prior to our arrival. Our couple of interactions with their staff while we were in Florence also went smoothly and the staff were very helpful and polite. EXCEPT for our check-in on arrival - despite advance notification of our arrival time and contact immediately on arrival in Florence, the staff person assigned to check us in kept us waiting for over an hour. Even with repeated calls to the office, we were kept waiting with our luggage at the building entrance on the street. Needless to say, after a long day of travel, standing on the street in front of this building for an hour with our luggage was not how we expected to start our month in Florence. And to make matters worse, the staff person was unapologetic about his delay and made us feel like we had created too much trouble with “our impatience.”

In summary, we thoroughly enjoyed our month in Florence and will go again because it is so beautiful and romantic. And, while we won’t stay at the Repubblica Terrace apartment, we would again use Apartments Florence to book a long-term stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious terrace”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Bright & spacious & clean 1 bedroom, 5th floor apartment with lift, AC, and large terrace from which you can see San Lorenzo dome. Excellent location steps away from piazza della repubblica. Good water pressure. Had washer/dryer combo but we didn't use it as we were only there 2 nights. Would stay here again. Please note they require safety deposit to be paid by credit card upon arrival, instead of cash.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBH1950
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment for an extended stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Repubblica Terrace for 2 months, mid-April to mid-June. Perfect central location! The apartment is a good size, and the rooms are spacious compared to others we have seen. Great kitchen, fully equipped for cooking, with full sized fridge with large freezer, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher. Nice bathroom with a decent sized shower. Large bedroom with desk and walk in closet, but bed is very firm. Terrific large terrace, nicely furnished, with an awning for some shade. Great for an afternoon Aperitivo ! Apartments Florence was easy to deal with, professional, and prompt on all queries, both before renting and while staying there. Overall: EXCELLENT

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, terrace with stunning views!”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great central location, just off Piazza Della Republicca. The terrace space was incredible for relaxing at the end of the day or a coffee in the morning. It;s on the 5th floor so catches a nice breeze in the afternoon. Great views over the rooftops and out to the mountains, and also the Duomo and Campanile! The apartment has electric shutters that block out a lot of sound and light for a restful nights sleep. Most comfortable bed i've ever slept on too! Would definitely stay here again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlbchgo
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Reppublica Terrace”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The apartment was a perfect fit for us on our extended stay in Florence! The location couldn't have been better for restaurants, local attractions, as easy walk to train and shopping. The outside terrace was perfect for reading and relaxing with a beautiful view of the city!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$123
/
Night
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing