We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Delicious!”

Ristorante Buca Mario
Ranked #300 of 3,084 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$86
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santa Maria Novella
Reviewed 14 August 2018

I have been to Buca Mario before and it was one of the best meals of our trip, so when we came back on a family vacation (15) people, I knew I had to take everyone there! We were in Florence for 7 days and almost everyone agreed this was the best dinner of the trip. The food is outstanding, the ambiance of the restaurant is cozy Italian and the staff is attentive, helpful and fun. Buca Mario is an experience everyone should have while in Florence! The Lasagne della Casa is something very special. It is rich and divine. Such a lovely night out in Florence!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrsmertins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 3,599 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018

Lovely setting with incredibly attentive, masterful waiters. The Chianti Classico wine was wonderful and decanted - which is as it should be (lovely touch)
We had been told about the Steak Florentine so simply had to try it, word of warning though, the steak for two is absolutely huge!! You definitely don't need a starter (which we thankfully didn't order - but would have loved to) Sadly we weren't really a fan of the steak, purely because it was too big and too blue for our tastes. I had read that this is how it is prepared and that it would offend if you asked for it to be cooked a bit more, so we tried our best to appreciate this traditional steak.
It was a memorable evening, the staff are absolutely amazing and we still enjoyed the evening very much, even if the steak wasn't to our liking....so glad we tried it.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fionabL2802ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Very unique setting with fantastic food. Our waiter was amazing!! The Florentine steak was wonderful along with their pasta dishes.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We are so thankful that our hotel recommended this restaurant. The staff gave us a very friendly welcome as soon as we arrived and it only got better from there! The service was very warm and helpful and the food outstanding. My friend wanted to try bistecca alla fiorentina and thankfully I was able to try some...it was delicious! Next time I will order my own! Many thanks to the staff for a great and memorable evening!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TLang212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We dined with friends after a busy day in Florence
The staff were all happy & friendly, the food superb and a great selection of wine with a helpful sommelier.
The atmosphere was warm & friendly
Dessert trolley is a must

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank andrealW3654BI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Buca Mario also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Buca Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing