We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Tuscany at it's best. A small hotel, immaculate clean, srrounded by vineyards and olive trees.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Casale del Cotone
Ranked #8 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2017

We had a large corner room ,upstairs with view over the picture beautiful Tuscany land scape. The bathroom was large with great water pressure. (unusual for Europe).
Plenty of parking. We had the luck that during our 3 nights stay, Alessandro cooked a 5 course meal with all the local wine you wanted. What a meal!!! At a price that made me feel almost embarrassed.Alessandro makes you feel at home and treats you like a family member. This stay was the highlight of our vacation in Tuscany. We hope to go back there.

Room Tip: Only saw the rooms on our floor and they all looked good ,but ours was a corner unit and therefor b...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Il Casale del Cotone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

We spent 5 nights at this beautiful place. The views wherever you looked were amazing. We had an apartment on ground floor at the back of villa so Wifi was no good. Bathroom was perfect, bed was too firm for me but that is a personal opinion! There is plenty of parking, the pool looks lovely but we didn't use it! Close to the old town and central to a lot of the little towns worth visiting! The owner sometimes cooks evening meals at a reasonable cost, we were lucky enough to be there for one of the evenings, perfect!!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Robyn2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We visited Alessandro at the end of March to organise our wedding in San Gimignano. We are all staying with him for the wedding as we stayed with him 2 years ago with our car club. We love the hotel, Alessandro is the most gracious host and very kind and helpful. We could not fault it and on our last visit it was immaculately presented.

We love the area, we love the hotel and it didn't disappoint after our 2 year break. We are already planning to have our first anniversary here in 2018.

Alessandro is an excellent chef and he always looks after us all and especially with my gluten free (celiacs) and lactose intolerant (dairy) and the food is divine. Lots of choice for breakfast and caters for food allergies/intolerance.

We are looking forward to staying with Alessandro and his fabulous team soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and unique
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lindylouXK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

When we arrived, the manager Alessandro Martelli gave us a very warm welcome.
The rooms are just very beautiful and very clean.
in the evening Alessandro made a delicious Toscan diner with very nice wines.
Also the breakfast was very good and various, not what you expect to get in Italy.
it 's also very nice to walk with a very kind dog named Balou in the beautiful vineyards.
It is also nice to walk to San Gimignano with a breathtaking view when you walk from casale del cotone towards San Gimignano. When you need some information about the regio, Alessandro would explain evertything to you with some handy tips.
It' s the second time that we stayed here and we will return next summer because it 's pure magic staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex201611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed there 3 nights, our room was an apart on the ground floor. It was very spacious with a nice bathroom and a wonderful sitting area outside. The breakfast was Ok with excellent coffee.
The hotels is well located not far from San Gimignano, but should be avoided, if you don't have a car. The setting was very nice, just missed a view towards San Gimignano and its towers or landscape. Despite the perfect location on top of a hill the scenery was limited due to plants and trees.
Alessandro was a great host and service was all over good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the extra building are away from the main structure, car would be needed to drive to pool o...
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerkanErgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.9 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,241 reviews
2.7 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
1.1 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
625 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
661 reviews
0.7 km away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casale del Cotone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casale del Cotone

Address: Localita Cellole Il Cotone 59, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: RM508 - RM693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casale del Cotone 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouses are located no more than 2,5 km from the medieval town of San Gimignano in the district of Siena. The "Casale del Cotone" as well the "Rocca degli Olivi" are surrounded by 70 acres of vinyards and olive trees. They were erected in the 17th century at the bottom of the hill where is located the ancient Roman church "Pieve di Cellole" which inspired Giacomo Puccini to compose the opera "Suor Angelica". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Il Casale del Cotone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casale Del Cotone Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing