We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room-Service OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo al Torrione 2
Ranked #34 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2007

The rooms at the Palazzo al Torrione are quite lovely really. The bathroom was one of the most spacious we had during our trip. The water pressure was nice too.
However, as mentioned in the previous review, Francesco freaked us out a bit. We had trouble too finding the right gate, and needless to say, he was a bit impatient/irritable with us the rest of the time. Seems like he has a lot on his plate with working at the Tabacchi as well, so that could be the explanation. The lady who runs the inn though is downright jovial though.
Overall, it is a nice place to stay with good rooms for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ARbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2007

The Palazzo al Torrione 2 is a self-catering hotel (meaning there's no reception and you let yourself in and out) in San Gimignano, overlooking the city walls. We were lucky to get a balcony; note, however, that it overlooks a very busy road and so is noisy but is very pleasant otherwise. The room and bath were beautiful and had everything we needed. My only real complain is with our arrival. We were told to call the owners when we arrived which we did; however, we were at the wrong gate. After much confusion, we found the right gate and the owner's son got in our car and directed us into the walls of the city.

From that point, he was very impatient with us while also giving incomprehensible directions. The more confused we got, the more angry and loud he got. After his berating us and making us feel stupid, I kept my cool and then met the owner, who was a very nice and charming woman. Because of her charm, I calmed down and everything was fine after that. I didn't quite understand why he acted that way since it wasn't a language issue (my boyfriend speaks Italian fluently) and I'm not hard of hearing or a bad driver. My advice to the readers is to insist that the owner not send her son to greet guests (and in fact, I'm going to write to her telling her this). It really put a terrible start on our stay there but luckily the charm of the owner and of Tuscany helped to ease things over.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Friendodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Non ci sono preferenze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Enrico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALAZZOALTORRIONE, Proprietario at Palazzo al Torrione 2, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silpa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALAZZOALTORRIONE, Proprietario at Palazzo al Torrione 2, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nuria3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALAZZOALTORRIONE, Proprietario at Palazzo al Torrione 2, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 km away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
778 reviews
2.2 km away
Podere Montese
Podere Montese
#29 of 67 in San Gimignano
116 reviews
0.4 km away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Buonaccorsi
0.0 km away
Palazzo al Torrione
Palazzo al Torrione
#16 of 67 in San Gimignano
248 reviews
0.0 km away
Il Nido di Anna
Il Nido di Anna
#12 of 67 in San Gimignano
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo al Torrione 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo al Torrione 2

Address: Via Berignano 80, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: RM395 - RM545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Palazzo al Torrione 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing