We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best pizza in Siena”
Review of il pomodorino

il pomodorino
Ranked #243 of 523 Restaurants in Siena
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We ate here twice during a recent trip to Siena. It was recommended by the owner of the apartment we were staying in, thank you! Our starters consisted of a selection of bruschetta's (be warned its a huge potion!) and rolled up courgette with cheese (yum). An extensive pizza menu takes time to consider - I can recommend the pizza bianca with mushrooms and truffle oil. No room for pudding here. A decent bottle of wine (our first choice was unavailable however the waitress recommended a really lovely alternative), water and a couple of coffees was reasonably priced given the excellent location overlooking the cathedral. Granted we weren't in a rush as we were enjoying a relaxing holiday but the service is seriously slooooooooow - so keep that in mind. Not sure why it was so slow as both times we were in it wasn't particularly busy. A small price to pay for seriously good pizza perhaps. Incidently, we ate outside however the inside diningrooms looked lovely - would be worth returning for dinner!

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank purpletravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2015

We tried the pizza and salad, it was simple meal and everyting was good, Its in a nice place with half decent views.

i probably would go back

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2015

This place has a wonderful view of Siena and Duomo and is well worth sitting outside if you are very patient. The service here is horrendous!!! It takes forever to get your drinks, food and we had to ask for the bill twice. We even witnessed two tables get up and leave. The server outside had the worst attitude of the entire trip. Anytime the phone rang he huffed and anytime someone walked up he rolled his eyes. He even made a rude comment when we said the mozzarella ball was the largest we've had...his response was "Well you are in Italy". With that being said, they have a great beer selection and the pizza was very tasty. I will admit this was the only place that we left no tip...not even one Euro. If you are the owner of the restaurant and care about reviews....you could get 5 stars if your service was better.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank rachellemb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

Had pizza with loads of prosciutto, rocket and parmesan. Quite tasty. The service was a bit absent. But ok place with a great view to the doumo.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank JanTFossland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Sent here by our B&B who billed it as having the best pizza we will have ever had, run by a family who moved to Siena from Naples. Good, but not even close to the best we have ever had. Not even the best we had on this two week trip in Italy. It was good, but what was best about the dinner was sitting outside and and having a nice view of Siena. Service was not very friendly or responsive, and some patrons at an adjacent table were smoking which also detracted from the experience. It was good, but probably better places to go in Siena. It was more expensive than other similar pizza we had, and overall seemed like a poor value.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ReemZayde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed il pomodorino also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to il pomodorino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.