We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Assisi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Assisi
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Reviewed 18 December 2016

This hotel was our 3rd overnight stay in Italy on our Trafalgar tour. The hotel is a lovely hotel with wonderful views over the town of Assisi. The gardens are brilliant and charming giving a real country feel. Our meals were very nice and hotel staff were very attentive.
Our group moved out onto a lovely open verandah for a welcome drink overlooking the gardens and town of Assisi.
The rooms were well appointed even though a little small but everything that was needed was available. Beds very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room overlooking town of Assisi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larna35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your kind review. We’re happy you’ve enjoyed your time here at Grand Hotel dei Congressi Assisi and we hope that you will come back soon for another relaxing staying in our beautiful region. Our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is well located high on a hill ,about 1km from Assisi.
It has a Spa with an indoor heated swimming pool and a garage.
The service at reception ( checking in and out )and at the breakfast room was excellent.It is a good place to stay for visiting Assisi as it is quiet and peaceful and within reasonable walking distance from the town .The hotel however provides a shuttle service to the town if you prefer not to walk . Personally, I feel that it would have been better for the shuttle to be provided free of charge rather than for euro 1.50 each way per person as the "goodwill" created by a complimentary shuttle service is certainly considerably more than the small charge levied.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 123song
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear guest,
thank you very much for spending your time in reviewing our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your staying here at Grand Hotel dei Congressi Assisi and we hope you will come back soon to our hotel. The price of 1,50 is the cost of the ticket of the public line bus from the hotel to the centre of Assisi that you can buy at the reception or downtown.
Looking forward to see you again, we send you very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The Grand Hotel is a little way out of the town of Assisi. Quite a modern hotel, but geared towards tour buses. Was quite hard to find anyone who wanted to serve at the bar..and then he went "missing in action". We ate at the hotel because it was too much trouble to go back into Assisi. Quite good and the breakfast was also quite good. Overall was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pinehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion. The hotel welcomes many guests from all over the world and it is possible to meet many people in the hall, at the bar and in the common area particularly during the periods of great affluence. We will take note of your comments in order to provide a more comfortable staying for our guests. Hoping to welcome you again in the future, we send you very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The best feature of the hotel is the wonderful views over the town. It also offers delightful gardens. The location is poor for all of the sights so a car is essential if you are not on a tour, which I was. The decor is rather dated and the beds rather hard. The buffet breakfast and evening meals were good. Overall, it is a good hotel and provided an enjoyable stat for a few nights.

Room Tip: The hotel is low rise so any room overlooking the gardens and away from the dining room, which can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Elaine,
thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the quality of the food,the gardens and the beautiful views. The hotel is located a few minutes from the historical centre of Assisi, in a panoramic position over the valley. There's a bus stop just outside the main entrance of the hotel, and the public line arrives straight in Piazza del Comune, heart of the town, in about 10 minutes. We will take note of all your comments and we would be happy to welcome you again to check the improvements we are bringing to the venue. Looking forward to hear from you, we send you best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We recently returned from a trip to Europe and stayed here one night. The views are spectacular, but that was all I found on the positive side. The place needs updating badly. There was an old small television in the corner. The bedspreads were from the 60's, which is when I imagine they were purchased. No kleenex, which another contributor noted and the walls were very thin. I heard chairs being pushed around, voices from the adjoining rooms, we even had a dead spider in the tub.

The dining room is in the basement and when they state that breakfast/dinner is at XXXX time, that's it. They will not open their doors a nanosecond earlier. It wasn't the end of the world for one night, maybe we would have enjoyed it more had we more time to explore around the hotel, but this was a quick stop and this was our experience.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CeenIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your comments about the hotel, we always seek to understand how to improve the quality of our hospitality. It is important for us to respect opening and closing times, to guarantee the same level of choice to each guest; according to our experience, exceptions risk to make the service irregular and uncomfortable. We are already operating scheduled maintenance in the rooms, so we hope that you would like to come back to check the improvement we are bringing. Looking forward to see you soon, we send you best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
1.4 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
6.6 km away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#5 of 72 in Assisi
791 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Cenacolo
Hotel Cenacolo
#4 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
670 reviews
5.2 km away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#6 of 72 in Assisi
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Assisi

Address: Via G. Renzi, 2, 06081, Assisi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel dei Congressi Assisi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range: RM 419 - RM 578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Assisi 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Umbria, Grand Hotel Assisi welcomes you in one of the most fascinating cities of Italy, a symbol of history, art and religion for the whole world. Easily accessible, Grand Hotel Assisi dominates from Mount Subasio all the beautiful Umbrian valley, with a single glance that ranges from Assisi to Perugia and Foligno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing