We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is NO way this is a four star hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Assisi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Assisi
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We travel extensively and should have known from the price that the hotel was overrating itself. The property is more like a Holiday Inn in need of updating. The room was cramped and there was a supposed to be a view, instead we looked out at the driveway. We arrived after checkin time and still had to wait for over a half hour. The property shows real signs of wear. The floor numbers in the elevator were scratched off and the hotel made no attempt to even temporarily identify the floors much less correct the vandalism. At best, the breakfast was mediocre. We usually stay in four or five star hotels and occasionally a three star. Its a real stretch to call this even a three star hotel. I am very disappointed that Booking shows this as a four star property and am rethinking my use of Booking.com.

Room Tip: Easy, don't book the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Direttore at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your comments. We always work hard to provide a good service to all our guests so we are sorry to know that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. If our reception staff had known that you were not comfortable with the assigned room, they would have offered you a Deluxe room that probably would have better suited your needs. It seems that you did not experience our restaurant for dinner, our indoor swimming pool and our spa: what a pity! you would have now a different opinion of our hotel services and we hope to welcome you again to let you experience them all! Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is small and cozy. Lobby is spacious and very thematic to the place of Assisi.

The service is a bit slow though. When we had dinner, it took awhile for the food to arrive. Worse I had to stand up and get the utensils so I could start my dinner. Same with the breakfast buffet.

The rooms are small and cozy. They are clean and bed is comfortable

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pinky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Direttore at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments that are very important to us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, noticed the peculiar Assisan style of our lobby and the high level of cleanliness in our rooms.
We are sorry for the inconvenients that you experienced in our restaurant, we will report your suggestions to our staff in order to improve the quality of this important service. We understand though, with pleasure, that the food fully met your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Assisi!
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The hotel is minutes from Assisi and easy to get there by car.

It has a nice covered parking.

The room was clean, spacious and well prepared with a nice view to the garden. The gardens are green and calm and it was very nice to walk by after breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HpMatias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful comment, we're happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Grand Hotel Assisi and we hope to welcome you again. Our warmest regards, arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Set Among the Hillside of Assisi just a 5 minute drive from the lower Level of the Basilica of Saint Francis, This Hotel is set among the Hills in the Town and just beside it are olive trees and large wood trees with sweeping views of the Valley below which are postcard perfect as you can sense the Umbrian Landscape which for me is a magnificent area. The Grand Hotel Assisi has 6 floors and has 155 rooms and suites. Other facilities of it include a spa and sauna facilities, an indoor heated swimming pool, conference rooms, wonderful manicured gardens with views of the Valleys of Umbria (rustic!) 4 restaurants (Giotto restaurant and its patio of which the buffet breakfast is held,The Ristorantino, The Raffaello restaurant and the panoramic roof garden).

It was a pity that we only stayed here for 1 night (sigh). A Night here in a Classic Twin Room (which is small at 19 Square Meters and is the european standard for a hotel room) cost 140 Euros a day including buffet breakfast and a free shuttle bus to and from assisi (from 9:00 am to 8:00 pm everyday at 20 minute intervals) and free car parking for hotel guests (which we don't need as we were on a tour bus).

check in time is 3:00 pm and check out is 12:00 pm

the rooms are small but cozy and the design is umbrian with wooden parquet floors, amenities here include digital LED TV with Satellite Channels, minibar,a mini Fridge, telephone with direct external dialing, in room digital safe, free wi-fi everywhere in the hotel, hairdryer, bathroom amenities (except toothbrush and toothpaste, A Standard in Europe), Complimentary Breakfast Buffet at Giotto Restaurant from 6:30 am to 10:00 am, Complimentary Shuttle bus to and from Assisi.

cons: no ironing board and Like in Most hotels in Europe, there is no complimentary bottle water here

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Direttore at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much indeed for your detailed review, we hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Assisi!
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent tour of italy... from the moment we arrived everything was a problem. ... we wanted to go for a swim! Yes sir swimming is free, but you have to pay three Euro for a swimming cap & 1 Euro for a towel... but sir swimming is free!!! Wifi is also free, but you just have to give access to your Facebook or Google account, but sir it is free!! Staff are rude & whilst the Hotel is located in a nice area in some nice grounds.... i wont be back & would suggest you look for somewhere else!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelAssisi, Direttore at Grand Hotel Assisi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our location.
We confirm that our indoor heated swimming-pool and Wi-Fi internet connection are services offered free of charge. Hotel policies, in terms of hygiene standards, are shown in our pool: slippers and swimming caps are required. Probably you did not notice them. We have these items available for sale for all guests that might travel with out them in order to let them enjoy our indoor heated swimming-pool.
Guests can access to our Wi-Fi through their social accounts or logging in with a simple e-mail address, that makes it very easy.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
6.6 km away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
690 reviews
1.4 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#6 of 72 in Assisi
790 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 72 in Assisi
375 reviews
5.2 km away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 72 in Assisi
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Assisi

Address: Via G. Renzi, 2, 06081, Assisi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel dei Congressi Assisi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range: RM415 - RM560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Assisi 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Umbria, Grand Hotel Assisi welcomes you in one of the most fascinating cities of Italy, a symbol of history, art and religion for the whole world. Easily accessible, Grand Hotel Assisi dominates from Mount Subasio all the beautiful Umbrian valley, with a single glance that ranges from Assisi to Perugia and Foligno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing