We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/08
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All'Antica Mattonata(Assisi)(Great Value!)
US$64
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Assisium Agriturismo(Santa Maria degli Angeli)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Francesco in Assisi(Santa Maria degli Angeli)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$70
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cladan(Santa Maria degli Angeli)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Case Brizi(Assisi)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
US$403
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B All'Ombra di San Damiano(Assisi)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
139
115
14
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
115
14
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan pietrothe busrooms are cleanperfect locationexcellent breakfastair conditioningbasilica of stwi fitownconvenienceromefrancisluggagekey
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2008

This is a splendid small hotel, located a useful few yards from the bus and taxi stops and an internet cafe but this doesn't prevent guests enjoying a peaceful outdoor breakfast on the other side of the building from all the bustle. The Basilica di San Francesco is a couple of minutes' walk away. Signor Berti made us very welcome. Yellow walls in reception and our room raised our spirits instantly after our train journey from Naples. Our room was a good size for a family room with double and single beds(for our 12 year old daughter). The shower was spotlessly clean, worked well and we had all we needed in the bathroom. Air conditioning was blissful as our Naples home doesn't include it! One of the nicest aspects of the hotel was its link to the nearby Da Cecco restaurant, where Signor Berti's son is the very talented chef. We dined there on our first evening and it was so good (aircon too) that we booked for 9 for lunch the next day with friends staying in Trevi. We were not disappointed. Fresh produce prepared with panache and some excellent wine to accompany it. We heard staff speak several languages but this is not a boring tourist restaurant but absolutely a family affair where service and the quality of the food are of great importance. The connection to this eatery, the excellent location, the helpfulness of the Berti family add up to a super hotel and we plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cresseils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

OK for 2 nights and for the price (although on booking I was told it would be €80pn (double, B&B) but was actually charged €83pn).

This was the first hotel I booked for our week of driving between cities we didn't know and I think I didn't do as much research on hotels here as elsewhere - I just went on price, location and good reviews on Tripadvisor.

The room (22) and bathroom both quite small and dark with old-fashioned & slightly dingy furnishings & bedroom carpet - but looked better when I switched off the overhead light & opened the shutters (I don't know why the owner shows it looking its most depressing). Also quite noisy with the window open as it was street level (1st floor but hotel front courtyard is below street level) and on a corner which groups of fellow tourists gathered on. I went back down to reception and asked if they had another room free on a higher floor and/or without carpet but they had no other room free.

On the plus side the aircon was good, breakfast was quite nice, the owners were pleasant enough and we did not have the hot water problems experiencec by others. It was, as others have said, right next to a city gate; although it still took us a while to find it and the parking usually available just outside the gate was not available due to building work so our car had to be parked about a 15 minute walk away downhill. Also as others have said, it's handy for the Basilica but a long walk uphill to anywhere else - if we revisit Assisi (and we would) we'd make more effort to find out about the bus.

We ate one dinner at the related restaurant Da Cecco and it was quite good.

We might stay at the Hotel Berti again but only if I couldn't find something else in a convenient location, modestly priced and with nicer rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline_venezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We arrived in Assisi by train from Rome and took a cab from the town up to the village. Hotel Berti is perfectly located just inside the San Pietro Gate. It has a beauifully shaded stone courtyard and Franco welcomed us with a delicious cappuccino and a friendly smile. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed, air conditioning, private bath. There was a delicious breakfast including pastries, yogurt and fruit served in the courtyard. Espresso, cappuccino and other beverages are available all day. A skeleton key is used to enter the room which added to the medieval charm of the Assisi experience. Hotel Berti is quaint in a fabulous Umbrian setting. If you are looking for peaceful, charming accommodations Hotel Berti is perfect for you. If you are more inclined to extravagance and self-indulgent services or a party atmosphere, Hotel Berti will disappoint. But good luck finding that anywhere is Assisi. It's just too well-preserved for that kind of tourism.

From just across the street, we took the local bus up the winding narrow roads to the top of the Assisi village and then wandered all the way back down through charming street scenes and spectacular landscapes with excellent artisan shopping along the way. Our final stop was the Basilica San Francesco which is spectacular in size and beauty.

Hotel Berti has a sister restaurant De Cecco just one block away. The food was absolutely delicious and the ambiance is Umbrian country.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Great location, the hotel is actually part of the city's walls. The manager was welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was served on the patio, and the cappuccino was delicious! The room was small, but clean and more than adequate, especially considering the price and location. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

This hotel is a good choice for a visit to Assisi. If your plans are just to visit the cathedral, it is absolutely perfectly located. The hotel is situated a few meters inside the city walls from the Porta San Pietro (where the bus leaves you off from the train station). The breakfast was typical italian - coffee, juice, meats, croissants - but somehow just a little bit nicer. The bed was firm, the shower was decent. The area was a little noisy during the day but fine in the evening. No internet in the hotel, but a very short walk up the road was an internet point/cafe where internet was 4.50 an hour, somewhat pricey for Italy. However, if you are willing to make the trek and you have your own computer, there is a bar in the San Rufino area with free wireless...but it is a TREK, all uphill, and much worse of a climb than it appears on the map. Seriously.

As others have mentioned, everything else is uphill in the town, besides San Francesco. But, wouldn't you rather make the trek up without your luggage? It was absolutely worth it to see the rest of the town, but this is not a place for those who are physically impaired. Oh, and beware if you come to Assisi in July - many restaurants are closed.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theoperadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews