We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place near St. Francis basilica”
Review of Hotel Berti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berti
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Hotel Berti is a cosy & neat place only 200 metres from St. Francis basilica. The location is ideal for exploring medieval charm of Assisi. Those travelling by car will also appreciate the proximity of tourist parking which is in 300 metres distance. The parking does not belong to the property and costs 10 euro per day but given the scarcity of parking places in Assisi it is good that there is a place to park a car not far from the hotel.
The only disadvantage I am able to name is the size of the rooms - they are a bit too small but the relation of price to quality is still among the best we encountered in Italy during our 2 weeks' trip throughout the country.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ania850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2008

This is a splendid small hotel, located a useful few yards from the bus and taxi stops and an internet cafe but this doesn't prevent guests enjoying a peaceful outdoor breakfast on the other side of the building from all the bustle. The Basilica di San Francesco is a couple of minutes' walk away. Signor Berti made us very welcome. Yellow walls in reception and our room raised our spirits instantly after our train journey from Naples. Our room was a good size for a family room with double and single beds(for our 12 year old daughter). The shower was spotlessly clean, worked well and we had all we needed in the bathroom. Air conditioning was blissful as our Naples home doesn't include it! One of the nicest aspects of the hotel was its link to the nearby Da Cecco restaurant, where Signor Berti's son is the very talented chef. We dined there on our first evening and it was so good (aircon too) that we booked for 9 for lunch the next day with friends staying in Trevi. We were not disappointed. Fresh produce prepared with panache and some excellent wine to accompany it. We heard staff speak several languages but this is not a boring tourist restaurant but absolutely a family affair where service and the quality of the food are of great importance. The connection to this eatery, the excellent location, the helpfulness of the Berti family add up to a super hotel and we plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cresseils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

OK for 2 nights and for the price (although on booking I was told it would be €80pn (double, B&B) but was actually charged €83pn).

This was the first hotel I booked for our week of driving between cities we didn't know and I think I didn't do as much research on hotels here as elsewhere - I just went on price, location and good reviews on Tripadvisor.

The room (22) and bathroom both quite small and dark with old-fashioned & slightly dingy furnishings & bedroom carpet - but looked better when I switched off the overhead light & opened the shutters (I don't know why the owner shows it looking its most depressing). Also quite noisy with the window open as it was street level (1st floor but hotel front courtyard is below street level) and on a corner which groups of fellow tourists gathered on. I went back down to reception and asked if they had another room free on a higher floor and/or without carpet but they had no other room free.

On the plus side the aircon was good, breakfast was quite nice, the owners were pleasant enough and we did not have the hot water problems experiencec by others. It was, as others have said, right next to a city gate; although it still took us a while to find it and the parking usually available just outside the gate was not available due to building work so our car had to be parked about a 15 minute walk away downhill. Also as others have said, it's handy for the Basilica but a long walk uphill to anywhere else - if we revisit Assisi (and we would) we'd make more effort to find out about the bus.

We ate one dinner at the related restaurant Da Cecco and it was quite good.

We might stay at the Hotel Berti again but only if I couldn't find something else in a convenient location, modestly priced and with nicer rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline_venezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We arrived in Assisi by train from Rome and took a cab from the town up to the village. Hotel Berti is perfectly located just inside the San Pietro Gate. It has a beauifully shaded stone courtyard and Franco welcomed us with a delicious cappuccino and a friendly smile. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed, air conditioning, private bath. There was a delicious breakfast including pastries, yogurt and fruit served in the courtyard. Espresso, cappuccino and other beverages are available all day. A skeleton key is used to enter the room which added to the medieval charm of the Assisi experience. Hotel Berti is quaint in a fabulous Umbrian setting. If you are looking for peaceful, charming accommodations Hotel Berti is perfect for you. If you are more inclined to extravagance and self-indulgent services or a party atmosphere, Hotel Berti will disappoint. But good luck finding that anywhere is Assisi. It's just too well-preserved for that kind of tourism.

From just across the street, we took the local bus up the winding narrow roads to the top of the Assisi village and then wandered all the way back down through charming street scenes and spectacular landscapes with excellent artisan shopping along the way. Our final stop was the Basilica San Francesco which is spectacular in size and beauty.

Hotel Berti has a sister restaurant De Cecco just one block away. The food was absolutely delicious and the ambiance is Umbrian country.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Great location, the hotel is actually part of the city's walls. The manager was welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was served on the patio, and the cappuccino was delicious! The room was small, but clean and more than adequate, especially considering the price and location. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#29 of 71 in Assisi
309 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 71 in Assisi
374 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#9 of 71 in Assisi
780 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#7 of 71 in Assisi
579 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Dei Priori
Hotel Dei Priori
#23 of 71 in Assisi
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berti

Address: Piazza San Pietro 24, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range: RM275 - RM482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berti 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our little hotel is located at only 200 mt. from St. Francis church. All bedrooms with private bath, direct telephone, TV color with international channels by sat., heating/air conditioning, hairdryers, lift. A convenient parking, at 50 mt, allows you to visit Assisi on foot. In summer you can consume your breakfast in the garden in front of the hotel. In our restaurant "Da Cecco" there are special dishes to offer our guests a chance to taste Umbria's traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing