We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Petroia
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We were two couples touring Umbria. We stayed at the Castello for two nights. It was originally built as part of the defenses of Gubbio 1000 yrs ago then came into the possession of various owners who lived there over the many years. The Duke of Urbino, made famous in a portrait by Piero della Francesca was supposedly born there illegitimately! The place is way atop a mountain ridge deep in the Umbrian countryside. It's gorgeous and isolated. The accommodations are top notch (we did not stay in the tower). The rooms were airy and although traditional outfitted with all modern conveniences. The staff were great-Leonardo, Lucia-very pleasant, thoughtful. We had dinner twice there and the meals were superb, the service top notch. The views from the rooms and the breakfast room are stunning. If you are planning a trip anywhere near the area a stay here is well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We booked a truffle hunt and truffle dinner experience with Castello di Petroia for our guests here at Casa Vialba. The truffle hunt was not so great since we are experiencing a drought here in Umbria but the dinner was to die for! I have lived here in Umbria for 19 years and have therefore had countless memorable dinners but I will remember this dinner more than any other. Everything was perfect: the setting, the service and the food. The gnocchi with truffle was out of this world, the pork filet was cooked to perfection.
I highly recommend this truffle experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We were referred to the location by la coccanga owners and I have to say thank you.
The old castle is a huge beautiful hotel and restaurant we were welcomed so nice and warmly by the staff and the atmosphere is taking you back in time as if you are at the ninth century.
The chefs cooking and the service was excellent we enjoyed our food and the desserts were wonderful.
Thank you for your wonderful experience with lots of thanks.
Yoram

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Yoramla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

To stay in an 11th century tower. 14th century castle. How much more needs to be said?
Location is exquisite. The beauty is rich, deep in history. The countryside is stunning.
We stayed in the tower- be prepared for the steepest spiral staircase down the the bottom bathroom. Center level is a toilet. Upper is the bed- I would wake with stunning sunrise views, stunning. The top of the tower is just incredible. You see all of the Umbrian valley.
There is no wifi in the tower.
Friends took the room in the main building- very comfortable, well appointed.
Food was excellent, prepared by Michelin star chef. Ambiance was unforgettable.
If you go in late Sept, be sure to visit during the Gubbio festival- there is a candle lit dinner with sword fighting demonstration- unforgettable.
Breakfast was amazing- great cheeses meats etc. the cappuccino was excellent.
Service was excellent from the front to the servers, wait staff, everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SBN_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent five nights here Sept. 2017. Trust the reviews, this place is magical. Not at all hard to find even at night with GPS (we used both Waze and Google Maps). Majestic castle, we got a very good room downstairs (number 31) with two levels (would have been difficult for anyone with mobility problems), gorgeous view and comfortable fixtures. Very large room and bath, no complaints (save nitpick below). Service is five star but familiar. Lucia B at front desk, Isabella at breakfast and Paolo seemingly everywhere provided seamless top service, down to a chilled bottle of wine on the outside terrace one afternoon. Always smiling and willing. We ate at the hotel restaurant 4 out of 5 nights, it was that good. Prices very reasonable for the quality of food. Nit picks: soap in room too small and does not did up. Daily specials in restaurant were the same for the whole stay. Out of our favorite wine one night and following day, alternative was good. No laundry facility in hotel, no dryer - laundry in Gubbio was great and not costly.
Bottom line: stay here, we would easily go back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
13.8 km away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
18.4 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
870 reviews
13.4 km away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 24 in Gubbio
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
11.2 km away
Hotel Villa Montegranelli
13.4 km away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 24 in Gubbio
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Petroia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Petroia

Address: Localita Petroia, 06020, Gubbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gubbio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range: RM 764 - RM 1,198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Petroia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway through the ancient road that links Gubbio to Perugia, stands on the horizon the severe and majestic Petroia Castle. A path through woods and meadows leads to a huge gate, beyond which Petroia opens in all its beauty.The origins of the Castle of Petroia are to be found between the IX and X century, on the 7th June 1422 was born in Petroia Federico da Montefeltro, the most famous Duke of Urbino. The Castle of Petroia is composed of medieval buildings enclosed within the Castle's walls. The three buildings that make up the Castle welcome guests in spacious rooms: The ancient and authentic rooms are carefully furnished to create an elegant setting and a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castello di Petroia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Petroia Gubbio
Castello Di Petroia Hotel Gubbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing