We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bosone Palace(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gattapone(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Marco(Gubbio)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
496
82
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
82
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy taletower roomcastle groundstruffle huntwatch towercastle staycentury towertwo nightsawesome staywine tourmodern travellerumbrian countrysidelarge bathroombreakfast roomspiral staircaseamazing hotelwent above and beyond
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 597 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We booked a truffle hunt and truffle dinner experience with Castello di Petroia for our guests here at Casa Vialba. The truffle hunt was not so great since we are experiencing a drought here in Umbria but the dinner was to die for! I have lived here in Umbria for 19 years and have therefore had countless memorable dinners but I will remember this dinner more than any other. Everything was perfect: the setting, the service and the food. The gnocchi with truffle was out of this world, the pork filet was cooked to perfection.
I highly recommend this truffle experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We were referred to the location by la coccanga owners and I have to say thank you.
The old castle is a huge beautiful hotel and restaurant we were welcomed so nice and warmly by the staff and the atmosphere is taking you back in time as if you are at the ninth century.
The chefs cooking and the service was excellent we enjoyed our food and the desserts were wonderful.
Thank you for your wonderful experience with lots of thanks.
Yoram

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Yoramla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

To stay in an 11th century tower. 14th century castle. How much more needs to be said?
Location is exquisite. The beauty is rich, deep in history. The countryside is stunning.
We stayed in the tower- be prepared for the steepest spiral staircase down the the bottom bathroom. Center level is a toilet. Upper is the bed- I would wake with stunning sunrise views, stunning. The top of the tower is just incredible. You see all of the Umbrian valley.
There is no wifi in the tower.
Friends took the room in the main building- very comfortable, well appointed.
Food was excellent, prepared by Michelin star chef. Ambiance was unforgettable.
If you go in late Sept, be sure to visit during the Gubbio festival- there is a candle lit dinner with sword fighting demonstration- unforgettable.
Breakfast was amazing- great cheeses meats etc. the cappuccino was excellent.
Service was excellent from the front to the servers, wait staff, everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SBN_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent five nights here Sept. 2017. Trust the reviews, this place is magical. Not at all hard to find even at night with GPS (we used both Waze and Google Maps). Majestic castle, we got a very good room downstairs (number 31) with two levels (would have been difficult for anyone with mobility problems), gorgeous view and comfortable fixtures. Very large room and bath, no complaints (save nitpick below). Service is five star but familiar. Lucia B at front desk, Isabella at breakfast and Paolo seemingly everywhere provided seamless top service, down to a chilled bottle of wine on the outside terrace one afternoon. Always smiling and willing. We ate at the hotel restaurant 4 out of 5 nights, it was that good. Prices very reasonable for the quality of food. Nit picks: soap in room too small and does not did up. Daily specials in restaurant were the same for the whole stay. Out of our favorite wine one night and following day, alternative was good. No laundry facility in hotel, no dryer - laundry in Gubbio was great and not costly.
Bottom line: stay here, we would easily go back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We are presently staying here. So this is being written live. I am here having a quite moment in our De-lux room. It is very quiet and romantic. My wife booked us in for a short break in between several hectic days travelling through Tuscany. Just what was needed. Peace and a chance to relax and be inspired by the Castello. It is a stunning location as one would expect. There are miles of good walking and a small but adequate swimming pool with views looking out to the hills. Splendid! The staff are very helpful and take time to explain everything. Tonight we are eating here in the restaurant so I will give it a review at some point. However, something tells me we won't be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews