We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - but with limitations.”
Review of Sporting Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sporting Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Gubbio
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Although this hotel advertises itself with 4 Stars, there is no doubt that two of those stars have faded with time and this is no more than a 2 Star hotel. As previous reviewers have outlined, the fixtures and fittings are generally worn and jaded, but it is important to stress that we found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and is certainly good value for money. Our main problem was that the ancient air conditioning hardly worked and our room was a tad muggy. Another guest told us that their aircon was very good - so I guess it depends on luck, although it shouldn't, and a good service is probably in order.


Although facilities are limited, the shining lights here are the staff who provide 5 Star service. They are polite, cheerful and cannot do enough to help. They were all superb during our stay.

The location of the hotel is ideal, being in a relatively quiet area that is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the old town, and it also benefits from having its own car park. There is also a pleasant garden area in which to lounge and sunbathe.

Round about the hotel are several useful features, such as a snack bar across the road, a small bar "tabbacci" round the corner, several takeaway pizza places and a supermarket. All of these are no more than 5 minutes away.

Perhaps the facility most people would miss in the hotel is a swimming pool, and to redress this the hotel makes arrangements to shuttle guests to a nearby hotel where there is a pool. We didn't avail ourselves of this arrangement as there is a public swimming pool across the road from the hotel. And if the thought of a public pool might not seem an attractive proposition, let me assure you that this is a large and very modern pool with abundant clean and attractive areas in which to sunbathe.

Although we were on a half-board basis we didn't use the restaurant, preferring to wander through the old town in the evening, where there are lots of really good little bars, cafes and restaurants. As such, we cannot comment on the food. Neither can we comment on the hotel bars, which consist of a very small bar in reception, and a larger "American" bar situated in the dining room. Quite simply, I just don't like hotel bars and always prefer to find real pubs.

We did have breakfast in the hotel and it was fine with the usual array of bread, ham, cheese etc augmented by scrambled and boiled eggs. There were also various cakes, pastries, cereals and yoghurts and it was all quite acceptable although boringly predictable after a few days. And here is where the hotel could and should make more of an effort.

I appreciate that costings may be tight, but might I suggest a few easy improvements regarding breakfast:

In an area famed for its salamis, prosciutto etc - you should not serve cheap, processed ham slices. Similarly, ditch the cheap hot dog sausages - they are awful. And does anyone eat those beans?

In an area famed for its bread - why only serve cheap, sliced supermarket bread? Get some crusty bread and panini as well.

And in an area famed for its fresh fruits - are tinned peach slices and prunes really the best that you can offer your guests? Surely the chef could rustle up a fresh fruit salad - it isn't difficult or expensive.

Despite its breakfast limitations, the bottom line re this hotel is the simple fact that if we were returning to Gubbio (and hopefully we will, as it is a truly lovely town) then we would happily use this hotel again. We enjoyed our visit, it is great value and has a nice feel to it.

Room Tip: Check the air conditioning when you are shown your room. If the room is hot - the air con is rubbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We went as part of a Travelzoo deal and wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel decor and rooms are a little tired but I understand that it is to undergo a refurbished under the new management. Very friendly and helpful staff, good food and a cookery lesson that was good fun.
The hotel is a 10 minute flat walk from town. The town is lovely. Good bars and restaurants and in May, not flooded by tourists!
Would I go again? Definitely.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lgowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in (and we stay in a lot for work and leisure). I agree with some of the comments in that the staff were helpful (the manageress less so - she won't believe your complaint and certainly won't offer any support to try to rectify the situation).

On arrival we were welcomed and shown to our room. Yes it was tired and the bathroom could have done with a good dose of bleach. The air con was so old it hardly changed the temperature of your room, leaving it muggy (thankfully it is not the height of summer); the sockets blow at every external electric appliance and the bed is so uncomfortable - but it was a base and only for 5 nights.

The food.... We were on half board... I came to envy the guests who only had to tolerate breakfast: we were offered a three course dinner, we weren't overly hungry on the first evening so we ordered the main - chicken for the other half and fish for me: absolutely disgusting! The waiter realising that we weren't eating offered to get us some cheese and ham instead (clearly used to unsatisfied diners). Breakfast was even worst! Fresh juice that was full of chemicals, bland cakes and sausage, scrambled eggs (eggs were ok) and congealed beans.

Given the issues with the room and food we informed reception and Broadway travel who arranged our holiday. And said we would give it one more try that day.

The manageress was dismissive at best saying that other guests were more than happy when asked - that isn't what other guests were saying but they were mostly not on HB and tolerated the rooms.

Dinner the second evening was even worst! Mushroom risotto - the most disgusting risotto I have ever had the misfortune to ever eat and made a decision not to have dinner again.

In the morning we booked into the Hotel Gattapone in the town and what a delight - for a three star also it was by far superior in the cleanliness and the breakfast! A disastrous holiday recovered!

The sporting hotel manageress refused to give us a refund on the remaining evenings that we weren't staying as the booking was non refundable! I will be making an official complaint when I get home but for now - we are finally enjoying Gubbio.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Henniker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Just got back from a lovely romantic city break to this hotel. We stayed 5 nights and it was worth it, the staff can't do enough for you the hotel does need a revamp but as we were leaving the manager informed us the hotel was getting
improved very shortly. Please hire a car! we got a car in our deal arriving at Rome and driving with a sat nav and it all went well, you will be able to get around much easier and the road trip to Assisi is truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marinaledwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Clean hotel, just been taken over. being gradually renovated .Hotel staff were wonderful. All work hard from manager down. Food excellent. We had a cookery lesson during our stay which was fun. Short walk to town which contained bars and restaurants. Fascinating town full of history lots of places for free. good walk up to top where there is a basilica, hotel and wonderful views. Cable car for those wanting to experience more views. Great 5 day break.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
570 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#5 of 23 in Gubbio
514 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
591 reviews
1.0 km away
Beniamino Ubaldi
Beniamino Ubaldi
#21 of 23 in Gubbio
291 reviews
13.1 km away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporting Hotel

Address: Via del Bottagnone | Zona Stadio, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range: RM207 - RM460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sporting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Hotel Gubbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing