We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sporting Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gattapone(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bosone Palace(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Relais Ducale Hotel(Gubbio)
US$116
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Residenza Le Logge(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$145
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
175
208
97
34
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
208
97
34
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbroadway travelcookery lessongreat fungnocchicar hiredining roomcooking classbeautiful towncookery coursenights half boardwine tastingpanna cottarecommend this hotelthe hotel managerreception staffspecial thankshotel is spotlessly clean
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We went as part of a Travelzoo deal and wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel decor and rooms are a little tired but I understand that it is to undergo a refurbished under the new management. Very friendly and helpful staff, good food and a cookery lesson that was good fun.
The hotel is a 10 minute flat walk from town. The town is lovely. Good bars and restaurants and in May, not flooded by tourists!
Would I go again? Definitely.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lgowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in (and we stay in a lot for work and leisure). I agree with some of the comments in that the staff were helpful (the manageress less so - she won't believe your complaint and certainly won't offer any support to try to rectify the situation).

On arrival we were welcomed and shown to our room. Yes it was tired and the bathroom could have done with a good dose of bleach. The air con was so old it hardly changed the temperature of your room, leaving it muggy (thankfully it is not the height of summer); the sockets blow at every external electric appliance and the bed is so uncomfortable - but it was a base and only for 5 nights.

The food.... We were on half board... I came to envy the guests who only had to tolerate breakfast: we were offered a three course dinner, we weren't overly hungry on the first evening so we ordered the main - chicken for the other half and fish for me: absolutely disgusting! The waiter realising that we weren't eating offered to get us some cheese and ham instead (clearly used to unsatisfied diners). Breakfast was even worst! Fresh juice that was full of chemicals, bland cakes and sausage, scrambled eggs (eggs were ok) and congealed beans.

Given the issues with the room and food we informed reception and Broadway travel who arranged our holiday. And said we would give it one more try that day.

The manageress was dismissive at best saying that other guests were more than happy when asked - that isn't what other guests were saying but they were mostly not on HB and tolerated the rooms.

Dinner the second evening was even worst! Mushroom risotto - the most disgusting risotto I have ever had the misfortune to ever eat and made a decision not to have dinner again.

In the morning we booked into the Hotel Gattapone in the town and what a delight - for a three star also it was by far superior in the cleanliness and the breakfast! A disastrous holiday recovered!

The sporting hotel manageress refused to give us a refund on the remaining evenings that we weren't staying as the booking was non refundable! I will be making an official complaint when I get home but for now - we are finally enjoying Gubbio.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Henniker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Just got back from a lovely romantic city break to this hotel. We stayed 5 nights and it was worth it, the staff can't do enough for you the hotel does need a revamp but as we were leaving the manager informed us the hotel was getting
improved very shortly. Please hire a car! we got a car in our deal arriving at Rome and driving with a sat nav and it all went well, you will be able to get around much easier and the road trip to Assisi is truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marinaledwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Clean hotel, just been taken over. being gradually renovated .Hotel staff were wonderful. All work hard from manager down. Food excellent. We had a cookery lesson during our stay which was fun. Short walk to town which contained bars and restaurants. Fascinating town full of history lots of places for free. good walk up to top where there is a basilica, hotel and wonderful views. Cable car for those wanting to experience more views. Great 5 day break.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Gubbio and the surrounding area is a must visit. We booked through Fleetway and the deal was amazing. The Sporting Hotel is dated but the staff are excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and every request and question was answered without fuss. In fact the staff went out f their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Shout out to Artemis who was so helpful, good fun and attentive (if you ever want to come dig in England let me know!). Tatiana, the new manager, made sure we were happy and helped in any way she could. Massimo makes great coffee! He's a good chap too. Graciana, the chef, gave us a cooking lesson and was lovely. Well done, Sporting, you did brilliantly! Thanks all, Jo (with Rosie) x

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomo137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews