We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome staff!”
Review of Sporting Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sporting Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Gubbio
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We visited Gubbio through a package deal, including car rental, flights and half board. The comments re; the air conditioning are fair, I'm glad it wasn't high season. The shining stars of this hotel are without a doubt the extremely hard working staff running a 52 room hotel with what I counted to be around ten of them. Always a smiling face and a greeting for guests.
Remember when reading reviews the price you pay for your package, and don't have expectations of 5 star accommodation.
We thoroughly enjoyed the food, simple and tasty, in half board this meant three course each evening, with a fourth if you pay a little more.
Explore the town it has much to offer, and don't always believe the Google directions to site such as Gotta Di Cucco.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for 5 nights half board after booking the Travelzoo deal which includes car hire, wine tasting and a cooking class.
The location is fine, about a 10 min walk into Gubbio centre and a couple of large supermarkets within walking distance.
The hotel itself says it's a 4 star. It's not. It's very outdated - poor air con and very old facilities in the room (intercoms etc) that don't work.
We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant just twice despite being half board as the food on offer was very very basic. One night we had a single sausage, a small handful of roast potatoes and a sliced tomato.
Every main meal is served with roast potatoes and a tomato.
Breakfast is much better - continental, standard.
Drinks are cheap - €4 a glass of wine.
Be wary of the the travelzoo deal. The wine tasting is over an hour away from the hotel and you'll have to pay a €30 transfer fee. Our tasting was cancelled as it was too hot.
The cooking class is more of a demo, you get to stir a few things but not much else. We also got to knead and roll a gnocchi mixture already prepped.
Perugia is an €80 taxi away, or a €5 bus ride from the main piazza in Gubbio.
There's no pool at the hotel but a nice terrace to sit on in the evenings. But you're not allowed to eat your own food or have your own drinks. I wouldn't recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Angela1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this hotel, sister hotel to Relais Hotel Monte Castello di Vibio where we stayed for 5 nights.
Our first impressions of the outside made us panic, it looks like a concrete bunker! However we were pleasantly surprised by the rooms which were spacious and clean. Staff were pleasant and friendly. Food although limited for choice was acceptable though not great. Air conditioning in public areas was either turned off or non existent. Not acceptable in 35 plus degree heat! No drinking water was provided in rooms or reception areas. No tea or coffee facilities in rooms either. The hotel has no pool but there is a very nice municipal pool adjacent to it which is very clean and offers drinks and snacks at reasonable prices. Towels are available from hotel reception on request.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Sporting hotel in Gubbio. We were a little sceptical about how the hotel would be based on some of the reviews we had seen before we departed. I would like to make it very clear that we feel the negative reviews are very unfair!! It is true to say the hotel is a little dated and the new management are aware of this and have plans to make improvements. However, there are a number of delights to this hotel. Firstly its location, situated next door to a very pleasant commune swimming pool and a 13 minute drive from the beautiful Agriturismo Faro Rosso swimming pool which is well worth a visit with its beautiful views. The hotel is a short walk from Gubbio centre which is very special. There are a number of locations which can be driven to easily from The Sporting hotel ranging from 45 minutes away to 2 hours. The hotel has good Wifi, although it is dated the hotel is very clean, showers are lovely and powerful with room service every day. But the true stars of this hotel are its staff. Every member of staff we encountered were helpful, friendly and made us feel very welcome during our stay. This ranged from the hotel manager to the reception staff, waitress and cook. I must make special thanks to Artemis who works on reception, she was very informative about the hotel and the local area. A very friendly lady who offered us tea making facilities in our room and really made a special effort to make sure we had everything we needed. Graziella the cook, thank you for the delicious meals you provided for us, we enjoyed everything you cooked for us and we looked forward to each and every meal (my wife is half Italian and she understands Italian food well) we definitely give you 5* for your food. Ambra the waitress was very attentive to us and looked after us extremely well, she always had a smile on her face and made us feel very welcome. Lastly, Francesco (portiere) who works the night shift on reception, he was always very friendly and ensured we had something eat and a coffee before we departed at 5am in the morning. The staff work every hard and they are an asset to the hotel. We would highly recommend the hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank annamuratoresherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We'd read the reviews about how tired the hotel looked, but mostly they exaggerate and actually we were pleasantly surprised. Probably the rooms are where some money needs to be spent in upgrading, but ours was clean and well maintained. The reception area and dining room look very modern and up to date. The building is never going to look attractive as it's a typical 1970's concrete block, but could be improved (probably at great cost!) if the concrete was painted white or a pastel shade to fit in with surrounding buildings.

Breakfast was good with a huge choice (perhaps even too much!), though maybe hot food would be better prepared to order in accordance with guests' needs. I say this as the cooked food was cold, the candles under the serving dishes were not enough to keep it warm!

We were on half board and heard differing comments about the food on offer at dinner time, some good and some not so good, but we were very happy with our evening meal...good quality and well presented and always plentiful.

Other extras as part of our package (through Broadway Travel) included a cookery lesson, which was great fun and a wine-tasting which we didn't do.

A small complaint is that the tour operator clearly stated we would receive a complimentary bottle of prossecco, but we were told (in quite a direct way!) that we could only have a glass. Other guests on the same package as us said the same.

It is important to say that in spite of the above - really only small issues - none of this could detract from the amazing four days we spent there. The really outstanding feature of this hotel is the staff, so friendly and helpful. I'd particularly mention Artemis, a really lovely lady who cannot do enough for you and the young lady in the restaurant, whose name we didn't get (sorry!)....might have been Andrea? She was so attentive.

The town of Gubbio, a short 10 minute walk away is so beautiful, any words of mine could not do it justice. We had a hire car as part of the package but only went to Assisi (worth a visit) as there was more than enough to do in Gubbio for the four days we were there. The Umbrian countryside is stunning, the way of life so laid-back and the people so friendly.

I'm not one to return to a place or hotel I've visited before, but this is one hotel that we intend to return to again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
0.7 km away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
0.9 km away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#5 of 23 in Gubbio
525 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Beniamino Ubaldi
Beniamino Ubaldi
#21 of 23 in Gubbio
291 reviews
1.1 km away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
595 reviews
13.1 km away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporting Hotel

Address: Via del Bottagnone | Zona Stadio, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range: RM221 - RM487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sporting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Hotel Gubbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing