We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money & super location”
Review of Motel One Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel One Basel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This is an unusually good value for money hotel for Switzerland, plus super location right in the heart of the city. All is in walking distance or reachable by tram. Rooms are spacious, clean and bright. Hotel has been built in 2015, so it is fairly new.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiederkehr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppr0bst, Manager at Motel One Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Great News! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely
Your Host of Motel One Basel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

While Basel offers numerous rooms immediately near the train station I strongly recommend you walk (or take a tram) a little farther to Motel One. The breakfast was substantial and the location was ideal. Great restaurants and bars nearby. Room had an exciting decor.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank rxrteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppr0bst, Manager at Motel One Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Indeed you will find us in the middle of the town. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely
Your Host of Motel One Basel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Our two nights stay at the hotel was a pleasant one. Room was a bit small and so was the bathroom (not too sure if this is a typical size in Europe). Room was very very basic...there was the bed (which was very very comfortable), tv, small closet with an electronic safebox inside. We didnt know that they turned off the ac when the weather is chilly in autumn and because there was no telephone in the room, had to take the elevators down to check with reception. We had to have our windows opened throughout the night but the noise from the streets did not bother us. Its just adds to an interesting experience.

Apart from that, the hotel and room was very clean. Its location was fabulous. Less than ten minutes walk was the Basel main train station. Cafes and restaurants surrounded the hotel so you are spoiled for choices. And the shops are literally at the doorstep of the hotel. The ladies at the Reception were polite and always friendly.

I would probably stay here again if I'm looking for a modern, no frills place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laenie_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Thanks for two great nights in Basel prior to a river cruise. Hotel is A trendy new hotel in a location near shopping and restaurants. They have a very good breakfast each morning. Hotel is a chain and is bargain. They have many other locations in Germany and Northern Europe.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel! I wasn't expecting much as we normally stay at The Passage an have been happy with them, however they were fully booked an I stumbled across this hotel. At CHF118 I wasn't expecting a lot but as it was for 1 night only I thought why not. We loved this hotel from the time you walk in the staff are super friendly! Hotel is super young An chique in its decor. The rooms size is not too small either, the bathroom a tad bit small for 2 people. Other than that we had a peaceful nights sleep An will use this as our base in Basel going forth! It's central easy to get around An real value for your money!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ferocious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
950 reviews
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#9 of 52 in Basel
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Basel

Address: Barfuessergasse 16, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: RM489 - RM810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Basel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Motel One Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing