We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
176
124
15
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
124
15
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas market great location fab hotel old town recommendable hotel balcony room firm bed nice design fantastic stay nice lobby bars and restaurants train station clean and comfortable rooms excellent coffee room was a bit small highly recommend this hotel place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

While Basel offers numerous rooms immediately near the train station I strongly recommend you walk (or take a tram) a little farther to Motel One. The breakfast was substantial and the location was ideal. Great restaurants and bars nearby. Room had an exciting decor.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank rxrteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppr0bst, Manager at Motel One Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Indeed you will find us in the middle of the town. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely
Your Host of Motel One Basel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Our two nights stay at the hotel was a pleasant one. Room was a bit small and so was the bathroom (not too sure if this is a typical size in Europe). Room was very very basic...there was the bed (which was very very comfortable), tv, small closet with an electronic safebox inside. We didnt know that they turned off the ac when the weather is chilly in autumn and because there was no telephone in the room, had to take the elevators down to check with reception. We had to have our windows opened throughout the night but the noise from the streets did not bother us. Its just adds to an interesting experience.

Apart from that, the hotel and room was very clean. Its location was fabulous. Less than ten minutes walk was the Basel main train station. Cafes and restaurants surrounded the hotel so you are spoiled for choices. And the shops are literally at the doorstep of the hotel. The ladies at the Reception were polite and always friendly.

I would probably stay here again if I'm looking for a modern, no frills place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laenie_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppr0bst, Manager at Motel One Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Thanks for two great nights in Basel prior to a river cruise. Hotel is A trendy new hotel in a location near shopping and restaurants. They have a very good breakfast each morning. Hotel is a chain and is bargain. They have many other locations in Germany and Northern Europe.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppr0bst, Manager at Motel One Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel! I wasn't expecting much as we normally stay at The Passage an have been happy with them, however they were fully booked an I stumbled across this hotel. At CHF118 I wasn't expecting a lot but as it was for 1 night only I thought why not. We loved this hotel from the time you walk in the staff are super friendly! Hotel is super young An chique in its decor. The rooms size is not too small either, the bathroom a tad bit small for 2 people. Other than that we had a peaceful nights sleep An will use this as our base in Basel going forth! It's central easy to get around An real value for your money!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ferocious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppr0bst, Manager at Motel One Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Super nice* We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and took a river cruise from Amsterdam to Basel. We decided to spend the day in Basel before going to Florence Italy. We decided to book with Motel One in Basel. When we arrived in Basel in the morning. We call the Motel to see if we could leave our luggage and come back to check in later. We spoke to Saskia Pais. She inform us that would be fine. When we arrived at the Motel at 10:30am she informed us that our room was ready. We were surprised. Saskia Pais went out of her way to tell us about the city and where to go and eat. She also explained how the transportation around the city work. I travel for a living for the last thirty one year. This was the first time a staff have gone so far out of their way to make sure we were satisfied and comfortable. We also noticed that the rest of the staff was nice to everyone around us. The room was very clear and the hotel was very quiet. If we are ever in Basel again this will be the hotel we will stay at. We would like to thank the staff for making our stay a remembering one.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank daveeU6431QP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppr0bst, Manager at Motel One Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Thank you to for the lovely feedback concerning our service level. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews